We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #150 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with a Groupon purchase. Everything was fabulous, the service, the cleanliness, the pool area, etc. The manager even took an item off of my lunch bill because it wasn't to my liking! Overall, our stay was excellent!! Thank you for a fabulous get a way!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank GraceTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star rating! Reviews such as yours is what energizes our team. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope your future plans allow you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at the hotel for a few nights. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was really amazing and very welcome after a long day at Universal Studios. The young gentleman at the valet parking was super helpful and went out of his way to assist us with extending our car rental. I would strongly recommend this Hotel for your family stay in Orlando it is much, much better than Disney's All Star Movies resort where we also stayed on our visit to Orlando. Rather stay at this Hotel and make use of the free shuttle to Disney and Universal.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Love your review and reading that you prefer our hotel over the Disney properties! We receive so many great comments about the comfort of our beds so it really was not surprising to read this. The complimentary shuttle is convenient and saves $18 in parking at the attraction as well. Our location cant be beat, convenient to so much. Thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and well maintained. It is close to wet n wild water park, universal studios, convention center, and shops and restaurants. I only gave it 4 stars because there is no reasonably priced breakfast options. Many families come here and the breakfast buffet at $14 each is the cheapest option. Ala carte breakfast of English muffin and coffee $10! Free coffee, A free continental breakfast or more reasonable breakfast pricing would be ideal. All of the staff were friendly and efficient. We stayed in a junior suite so our son could sleep on the sleeper sofa. The arrangement is odd and you basically are facing each other in the room - foot to foot. A curtain divider would have been nice. All in all though it is a nice hotel and worth a stay. Just bring breakfast supplies.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Haswell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Your review is very much appreciated. I am glad that your overall experience was very satisfying. I will meet with our Chef with a goal of having some additional breakfast options. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here in June this year. We got such a warm welcome at reception! The room was lovely and spacious with such comfortable beds. I honestly had the best sleep there. They offer a free shuttle bus to the parks which is so handy, just make sure you on time!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the staff to be friendly. That means a lot to us. I hope you can visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We originally were going to stay at the Hyatt Regency (formerly the Peabody) but changed our minds and decided to stay in this hotel for our first week and the Loews Royal Pacific the second week - you can read my review on that also.

As the Loews was more expensive we decided to use Hotwire for a hotel for the first week and got the Crowne Plaza for just over £300 for a week for the 3 of us (2 Adults & 13yrd old). - Bargain !

We stayed here from the 25th June - 2 July. We arrived late after midnight and when we checked in were told that our double queen room was unavailable and so were upgraded to a junior suite which gave us a little more room. I also showed my Priority Card and was handed a VIP card which entitled me to free Tea/Coffee / WiFi / Newspaper + 10% of all purchases within the hotel - nice little perk.

The room was big and clean, the bed was comfy and we had a pool view. We also had a fridge which was handy. The pull out bed looked a bit springy but my daughter said it was ok but I would have had it changed otherwise. House keeping was frequent and did a good job.

The hotel has a I-Ride Trolley stop outside which is great for going to Sea World or the Premium Outlets - there is also a Trolley stop opposite which takes you to I-Drive (Wet n Wild) or the other Premium Outlets. We purchased a 14 day unlimited ticket from British Airways website prior to travel as this was way cheaper than paying $2 one way trip each time - around £12 for Adult ticket for 14 day unlimited use.

The Airport is about 20mins away and we booked Mears transport to pick us up which cost about £35 which at midnight was one less thing to worry about - taxis cost around $47 in good traffic - at time of writing this there is road works on I-Drive causing big delays so taxis around will be more expensive - this also effected the times for the I-Ride Trolley and you could wait well over 40mins for one - some stops were also unavailable due to the works.

The hotel pool is a good size - not huge but nice for a swim / dip. Towels are provided pool side and there are plenty of loungers / canopys to go around.

We never ate at the restaurant for evening meal but did get breakfast one morning which was ok but a tad expensive so didn't do it again. Get out early and go somewhere else. Staff were friendly when we encountered them.

There is a front desk that offers attraction tickets but this a rep trying to get you to go to a presentation for timeshare so be sure to get all your tickets before you travel - gates prices at Universal & Disney are around the $100 mark !!

Overall this hotel is a good 4* - great location, clean and friendly - use Hotwire or similar for a bargain !

Room Tip: High Floor with Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEEFER11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for such a kind and thorough review. Your comments are very much appreciated and I thank you for giving us a "try" over the other hotels you mentioned. I sincerely hope you allow us to be your hotel of choice when travels bring you back to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here while he was on a business trip and I found it to be terrific. It was very up to date with nice furnishings and very clean. We has access to the premier business area on the top floor where they offered a very nice continental breakfast as well as wine, cheese, and cookies around the dinner hour. The staff was very accommodating and helpful and went out of their way to be friendly.
The pool was large with ample chairs and umbrella tables and close to a nice restaurant from which we ordered a poolside lunch.
It's very close to Universal as well as decent restaurants,markets, and an outlet mall.

Room Tip: Views from the upper floors are beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CandyB117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I appreciate your comments. I hope your husband had some time away from his business trip to enjoy some leisure time with you. Your tips are good ones. The executive level is very popular and many guests find a real value in the additional cost. Also, the views are quite spactacular from the high floors. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked this hotel on Priceline and got a "great deal" compared to their regular rates. On their website it stated that they had a free shuttle to the parks. They do have this shuttle, however they fail to mention that it runs only a few times during the day--they said it was because October was their off season, but Universal was having their Halloween Horror Nights so you would think that the hotel's shuttle would be running but it wasn't. We used the shuttle once, the rest of the time we paid for cabs--beware the hotel has their drivers acting as cabs right out front but they overcharge, you are better off calling your own cab. Next time we will pay the extra money to stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I try to respond to reviews in a very timely basis to address our guests concerns and sorry that you waited until July to comment on your October visit with us. True that the shuttle runs are not continuous but most guests find the current schedule to be adequate. Increasing shuttles will only result in additional costs being passed on to our guests. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 340 in Orlando
4,804 reviews
Hilton Orlando
#55 of 340 in Orlando
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £93 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing