We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Ranked #138 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July. The room was fab, excellent maid and room service. We ate at the pool bar and had the breakfast buffet which was all excellent and fabulous, friendly staff.
The hotel was in an excellent position for universal and complimentary hotel transport to Disney was great.
Tommy who worked in the hotel was a great help when needing info.
We will definitely go back to this hotel on our next trip :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for sharing and especailly for the mention of service providing to your family by Tommy in our Bell Services area. It means quite much to us to read such positive comments from our long staying guests. You can experience quite a bit in two weeks and I'm glad we made the grade for you. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    703
    269
    90
    60
See reviews for
651
618
67
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights for a conference. My family joined me on the last day. Housekeeping was awesome. Left a tip and asked for extra towels and bathroom supplies and they loaded me up! The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable.

I stayed on the executive level and take advantage of the lounge several times. It was very comfortable and enjoyed several cocktails and breakfast.

Pool was very nice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It is great to welcome our guests from my wife's home state of Maryland! I thank you for your comments and appreciate that you shared the details and benefits of our Executive level rooms to our Trip Advisor readers. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope your conference was a successful one. Please visit again when you can relax for the entire trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
551 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are great, but this hotel is not high end enough to be a crowne plaza. Club level lounge is nice but food very average - it's a nice place to stay but don't pay too much for your room and expect a hotel that's holiday inn quality - then you will get what you expect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing. I do appreciate your very kind comments about our staff but at the same time it is disappointing to read that you felt we did not live up to your expectations of the Crowne Plaza brand and the food quality on the executive level was only average. We do certainly aspire to achieve much higher ratings from our guests. I hope you give us another chance when travels bring you back to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in a Junior Executive Suite (2 x Queen beds, view over the pool), which is right at the top of the hotel. There is a lounge with free buffet breakfast, free WIFI (it costs elsewhere in the hotel, except the lobby - which is a shame - I personally believe all hotels should offer all guests free WIFI) and free snacks and free beer/soft drinks in the evening on 5 nights which is just the ticket when you get back to the hotel. They don't do this on Friday or Saturday nights. The lounge is only accessible to those staying on the top floor though.

Rooms were very clean, hotel was very quiet everywhere, there are four lifts (all worked), there's a private pool outside and a gym which stay open 'til quite late. Inside there's a shop, bar and a restaurant. A light meal for a family of four in the bar will knock you back around $80. We didn't try the restaurant.

On the road outside there is an I-Ride trolley bus stop, which goes to SeaWorld, and on the parallel street (International Drive, about 10 mins walk away) is another I-Ride route which has a wider range of destinations, plus that's where most of the Lynx buses stop. It's also got a plethora of bars, grills, restaurants, shops, whatever you need, you'll find it. All the buses are $2 per trip. We took a day at Florida Mall via the Lynx bus #42.

If you're going to Universal there's a free shuttle from outside the hotel - be warned, due to the route it takes (Crowne Plaza is the first stop), it will take about 30 minutes to get to Universal. You can also use this to get to SeaWorld too, by changing at Universal, but to us that seemed a very long-winded way given there's an I-RIDE x bus stop heading straight to SeaWorld less than 10 mins walk away from the hotel.

We spent a day at Wet & Wild, but walked there - it's about a 25 minute walk from the hotel.

We didn't go to Disney, so no idea how you'd get there - that said, it's a long way away from this hotel.

Getting to the hotel: we jumped in a taxi at the airport and booked another one coming back. Took about 25 minutes each time, and cost was around $45.

All in all, a very nice stay, lost only 1 mark because WIFI isn't free everywhere.

Room Tip: If you can, book onto the Executive Level, the kids will love the free food and WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. You made some great observations and I know they will be appreciated. I am hopeful that on your next visit we will earn a 5 star rating from you. Our wifi will be complimentary to all beginning October 1!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 week whilst visiting parks.
Positives - location (close to universal) and not far from Disney. There are a few low key restaurants next door. Also close to all hiways etc. Also, the pool was great and there was always space there to chill. The room was nice and big, air-con worked well and it was always made up very well. We were also given a VIP card which gave us free cup of coffee every morning from a coffee station near the restaurant.

Negatives - Our VIP card came with coffee and nothing else; surely it wouldn't be difficult to add a croissant / muffin?
Also, and to be honest the most serious problem, was that the bath had some scratches in it which left silver / grey marks in it. I was happy to have a shower in the bath but no way would I lay in there as the scratches were gross and I'd never maintain anything like that myself. This needs to be treated as a matter of urgency for health reasons (open scratches attract dirt / bacteria).

Room Tip: Sign up to loyalty club to get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I certainly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. I will definitely look into the tub scratches that you mentioned. We have an ongoing guestroom preventive maintenance program in place and resurfacing tubs is included in this process. I am glad that you found our hotel and convenient location to your liking. When you return we will go above and beyond to achieve a 5 star rating from you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with a Groupon purchase. Everything was fabulous, the service, the cleanliness, the pool area, etc. The manager even took an item off of my lunch bill because it wasn't to my liking! Overall, our stay was excellent!! Thank you for a fabulous get a way!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star rating! Reviews such as yours is what energizes our team. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope your future plans allow you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed at the hotel for a few nights. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was really amazing and very welcome after a long day at Universal Studios. The young gentleman at the valet parking was super helpful and went out of his way to assist us with extending our car rental. I would strongly recommend this Hotel for your family stay in Orlando it is much, much better than Disney's All Star Movies resort where we also stayed on our visit to Orlando. Rather stay at this Hotel and make use of the free shuttle to Disney and Universal.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Love your review and reading that you prefer our hotel over the Disney properties! We receive so many great comments about the comfort of our beds so it really was not surprising to read this. The complimentary shuttle is convenient and saves $18 in parking at the attraction as well. Our location cant be beat, convenient to so much. Thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,427 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and TravelUp so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing