We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #83 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I chose this location because of the convenience for participating in the 70.3 Ironman event at Fort Wilderness. I received a somewhat favorable rate being a repeat visitor to Disney. The Wilderness Villa’s are an extension of the Wilderness Lodge, essentially I found out they are part of Disney’s timeshare program but was able to rent one because of availability. We rented a Queen Studio room, which provided us a fridge (bigger than the standard micro-fridge), microwave, toaster, and coffeemaker. The room itself was non-descript basically about 2/3 the size of a standard Embassy Suite room. It had a sofa and TV and standard bathroom, nothing fancy. The one minor annoying aspect was the placement of the TV inside the console and could only be viewed from the bed and not the sofa. The grounds surrounding the lodge are very nice and cozy; there are two pools, one near the villa which is smaller and quieter then the main pool at the lodge which is only a short walk. There are hiking and biking areas to enjoy, there is a also a non-swimming beach area . One the main perks I enjoy staying on a Disney property is the extended park hours for guest and if you want access for free parking throughout Disney. There are busses that run from the grounds you just need to expect it will take about 45 minutes to arrive to your destination. This is assuming you need to wait the max time of 20 minutes btw busses. If you looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable room this is great but don’t expect any great features in the room.

Room Tip: The one dinner we had at Artist Point the food was
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaxExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    146
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
374
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed for 7 nights in a one bedroom villa, with a slight view of Bay Lake. Room was spacious and clean, and did not disappoint. Loved the pools and relatively quick trips to MK.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My family and I stayed here over president's weekend and the first impression was not the best. We got to the room and it didn’t feel like Disney, it had a musty smell, but air freshener got it away. I found the room dirty and the sheets were stained, we called house keeping and they fixed it. They also didn’t give us pillows are the fold out couch, we called house keepingcame about 3 times the first day. When we went onto our balcony we saw bees and house keeping didn’t do anything! We were annoyed and tried to move to any other resort but they were all booked, but the great things were the pool, except that the geyser was closed ☹, and the walk from villas to the boat was long and annoying also. The pool was warm was nice and the mini café was convenient. Okay resort but will choose differently next time.

Room Tip: Get a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveMickey654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We have been DVC members for nearly 20 years, and usually stay at the Boardwalk Villas. This was a last minute trip, and the Boardwalk and Bay Lake Towers were booked (our first and second choices). So we had to split our trip between the Wildnerness Lodge Villas and the Saratoga Springs Resort. I actually preferred our time at the Saratoga Springs.

The Wildnerness Lodge has a nice pool, although the slide is definately geared more towards smaller children. The lobby is magnificent. The dinner at the Whispering Canyon Cafe was very good and the Roaring Forks Grill had a decent quick service selection and a very good breakfast.

I found the Resort staff to be accomodating. We had a slight problem with "gnats" in our sinks and shower...I reported the problem to the front desk, who immediately contacted a manager. The issue was resolved while we were in the Magic Kingdom that same morning. Other then the gnat issue, the Villas (we stayed in a one bedroom) were clean and spacious, everything we expect from Disney and the DVC.

The biggest disappointment was the slow ferry service to the Magic Kingdom from the Resort. The ferry is shared with the Fort Wilderness Campground, which seemed to have significantly more people then the Lodge using the ferry, so the wait was often very long to leave the Magic Kingdom in the evening (close to 1 hour to get on a ferry one night), and the ferry was often full by the time it reached the Lodge to go to the MK. Luckily, we rented a car, so we ended up using the car to make the 5 minute trip to the Magic Kingdom.

Also, I felt the Villas were a bit remote. When we were in our Villa, I felt very closed off from the rest of the World. But, if that is what you want when in Disney, then this is the hotel for you!! In true Disney style, you feel like you are in the Wilderness! I would not have been surprised if a bear or elk appeared on my patio! It just wasn't for me though.

Overall, I would only stay here again if there was nothing else available and my dates of travel were not flexible.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSR119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Villas at the Wilderness Lodge are Great!! We rented a two bedroom and loved the amount of Space for the six of us; myself and wife, son and daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. It was so nice to have washer and dryer in the room. We didn't use the kitchen to cook, but it was nice to have the space and a large coffee maker. Trnasportaion to the Magic Kingdom was really excellent. The grandchildren loved the beach and swimming pools. Whispering Canyon Cafe is also great. Have the Skillet! We did online check in and it was quick and efficent. The only downside was the long walk to the room. The fitness center where my granddaughter had her first facial was also very good. The Staff was always warm, friendly, and helpful. The best part was that the Villas are very quiet and relaxing after a long day at the parks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

stayed club level. had a view of MK fireworks everynight! The staff was wonderful and the hotel was amazing. Plan to stay there again next trip :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allhandsondecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Have been coming to the villas for the last 12 years or so as a member of DVC. Never had any complaints whatsoever.
Rooms are lovely, pool area lovely (although we use the villa pool rather than the main pool which gets a bit hectic) Location is perfect and is so easy to get out and about in Disney. The only very slight complaint is that they are letting the trees continue to grow higher and higher. This gives a lot of shade by the villa pool so would be a little chilly from time to time, we prefer the sun! Also the trees were right infront of some rooms which would make them a little dark. Overall this is a great place to stay and we're looking forward to going back next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
4.3 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.1 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426 (Formerly Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Boulder Ridge Villas At Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing