We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #79 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge Villas”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. The rooms are huge, but a little damp and musty. The main benefit is this hotel's location. It has easy access to the Magic Kingdom and Disney Fort Wilderness via boat. We enjoyed renting the little boats from the marina and cruising them around the lakes. The hotel has a "kids club" which our son enjoyed while we had an adult dinner at Artist Point.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coop1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    145
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
371
84
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We've been visiting the Wilderness Lodge since it opened in 1995. Throughout the years, we have tried a few of Disney's other resorts, but have always considered the lodge and Fort Wilderness our collective homes away from home. Both of these rustic retreats are nestled amid a backwoods wilderness landscape on the shores of Bay Lake, just a short boat ride from the Magic Kingdom.

On our most recent trip, we decided to try The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge for the very first time. The villas are housed in the red-roofed building just beside the green-roofed lodge. The one-bedroom villa features a kitchen complete with fridge, oven/electric stove top, microwave and even a dishwasher. The cabinets are also fully stocked with dishes, cookware and utensils for your meal-making needs. The unit has one full bathroom with a spacious shower, as well as a separate over-sized whirlpool tub located just off the bedroom. Though we did not need it quite yet, there was even a pack 'n play in the bedroom closet.

The two rooms afforded us plenty of space and allowed us enough privacy to be able to retire at night when we so chose, without having to worry about disturbing each other. The only minor complaint we had about the room (and it's not even a complaint, so much as an observation) is that the layout seemed a bit odd. The angled walls made for some odd corners in the hallway and bathroom areas and seemed to be an unnecessary design choice, but it amounted to more of a curious quirk of the room than anything.

Most the resort's amenities are housed in the main lodge, though there is a smaller, more secluded pool located behind the villas, which guests of either property are free to visit, though we chose to spend our time at the main pool. We stayed during what was supposed to be a less crowded time of year, but with a week full of 90-degree highs it was sometimes a challenge to locate three lounge chairs together, so I would recommend arriving early to the pool if you plan on spending a day in the sun.

During our trip, we ate several of our lunches at Roaring Forks and many of our breakfasts at Whispering Canyon. Each meal was quite good, and I highly recommend the banana bread french toast at Whispering Canyon. We were not on the meal plan, so I can't speak to that. But there is ample opportunity to make use of your credits at the lodge.

In the nearly 20 years we've been visiting the lodge, we've seen some changes and evolutions to the property. It is quite an impressive resort, big yet quaint. We have always felt right at home and, if you're like me and grew up having visited the Fort Wilderness campground, I think you will find that the lodge has a very similar atmosphere. With a baby on the way, we are now looking forward to making our visit a yearly tradition, so that the next generation can experience the magic of Disney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mardukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke pInes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From the time you walk in to the time you leave you feel like your are in a wonderful lodge somewhere else other then Florida. This hotel is all around beautiful. All details were taken care of. From the time you walk through the door to the time you leave. We stay at the high end Disney Hotels all the time and this one is one of my favorites. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We went down several times to the front desk and they always found a way to help us. GREAT JOB!!! Check in was fast and my room was ready that was really nice.

The bell man brought our luggage right away and was also very kind. The room are a little smaller then the other high end resorts but still very nice. The decor is also very pretty. Goes well with the theme. One thing I like about this resort is the size. It is not to large and my room was very easy to get to without walking forever. Some of the other resorts are way large and can take a while to get to your room.

The grounds are great and make for great pictures. They also have a boat that will take you straight to the magic kingdom. Very nice. The only down side is it seems to take longer to get to anything of the other parks by the bus. We went to the water parks and they did not have a bus on the way back that came back to the hotel so we had to go to Epcot first then get on a bus from there. It took over an hour to get back was kind of a pain.

The pool is also very nice the one thing right now is it looks like they are redoing the waterfall which is one of the most beautiful things about the pool. But hopefully when it is finished it will be lovely again.

We ate at Whispering Canyon for breakfast and Linda the waitress was very friendly and helpful. Thanks Linda:) The food was pretty good too. We have also eaten here for dinner and it was yummy too.

Overall great place worth a try. I will stay again. Hope my review helps.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lnponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first stay onsite at Disney so we were extremely excited. The hotel and grounds were gorgeous and well kept, living up to our Disney expectations. We stayed in a disabled-access DVC studio which consisted of a bathroom with shower (no bath), kitchenette, queen sized bed and a small single pull out bed. There was also a wardrobe, sofa, table for two, coffee table and small balcony with two chairs and little table. We were a little disappointed with the decor in the room; it wasn't awful but we had expected higher quality from Disney. One major drawback was the door that connected our studio to the room nextdoor. Unfortunately, it was easy to hear the family in the adjoining room and we were woken up early each day when they awoke before us. Better sound proofing for the door would have been appreciated.

We ate at Roaring Forks on our first day and were, again, rather disappointed. The food was just "okay" and there was no atmosphere. It was like being in a canteen. There were a lot of children running around unsupervised by their parents, so it was pretty noisy! We had made a booking for Whispering Canyon later that evening but decided to cancel as we weren't convinced that it would live up to the cost and our expectations.

The location was fantastic. We were a very short boat ride away from the Magic Kingdom and were able to pop across very easily as boats came along frequently. We also had a lovely stroll down a nature path to Fort Wilderness where we had a delicious meal in Crockett's Tavern, relaxed on the beach and wandered around the stables. We had a great time when we hired the little motorboats (Sea Raycers) and drove all around Bay Lake and Seven Seas Lagoon, dodging the bigger boats and getting up close to the wildlife and other resorts!

Overall, it was a great location but I wouldn't recommend this resort for couples. It seemed fantastic for families as there was plenty to do and lots of other families around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is just incredible!!! You will actually have to remind yourself that you're not off in the wilderness somewhere it is so well-themed! The pool area is fun, with a geyser going off once an hour. Its fun to try and figure out where to stand to get wet from the spray. The quick service restaurant was a bit slow, but all our food was hot and good - not great. We really enjoyed the grounds of this hotel, and on the last day collected some pine cones to make our own Christmas ornaments from - free and Disney authentic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disneymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrero, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Monday May 26 for five nights and it was an amazing stay from start to finish. The bell hop greeted us upon pulling into the resort and a cast member with an ipad was waiting as we entered the lobby to get our name and direct us on our way. Check in was a breeze but we were early so our room wasn't ready until a few hours later. We were then able to explore and enjoy this relaxing resort. Once we entered our room we realized that being a handicapped accessible room, which is what was available during booking, the bathroom door did not lock. I called maintenance who connected me to the front desk and after explaining that we needed a lock on the bathroom door (traveling with two teenage girls and parents) they immediately moved us to a villa right down the hallway. Overall, this resort is unbeatable in terms of location, convenience, amenities, and the opportunity to get much needed respite after the hustle and bustle of the Disney parks. I have read this a number of times and now I've experienced it for myself. When vacationing at the lodge, you have no idea that only five minutes away lies another world entirely. Magic Kingdom is truly magical, but the relaxation of the lodge is magic in itself. One last point, the villas are extremely peaceful and quiet. It had its own lobby area with multiple sitting areas with fireplaces and table games. It had its own quiet pool with short walkways to the water taxi and bus line. Again, I felt a world away from it all, which was much needed after a full day at the parks. I highly recommend this place, I have no complaints, and would stay here again if the pocketbook allows me to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoveTenn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. My two children ages 5 and 7 really enjoyed the perks of staying here: nightly roasting of marshmallows at the campfire and free outside movies on the beach. Our 1 bedroom villa was quiet but seemed a bit outdated. We had requested to be close to transportation...and we were minutes away from the bus transportation. However, the boat ferry (to/from Magic Kingdom and Contemporary Resort) was a bit far. It was difficult to watch the fireworks show due to the tall trees that block the view. The fine dining at Artiste Point was worth the extra $. The Whispering Canyon Cafe is decent food with some laughs (service was a bit slow though). We appreciated the quick service Roaring Forks where we had breakfast and dinner a few times. Not too expensive and the food again was decent.
Our children also enjoyed the pool with its slide. I particularly felt as if we could relax and "escape" into the woods after a tiring day at the parks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426 (Formerly Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Boulder Ridge Villas At Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing