We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall
Ranked #238 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 22 May 2013

After two nights I had gotten eaten alive by bed bugs. The staff sanitized my room, but I stayed with a classmate then checked out. Room was clean, though.The bugs calls for an unpleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Mr. William
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns during your stay at the Howard Johnson. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our property. I personally walked the room with you immediately when the issue was addressed to the front desk. We found no evidence of Bed bugs. We followed up with you during the remainder of your stay and as stated everything was fine. Since you have been checked out of the property we have taken all proper measure to make sure of no further guest complaints. I can assure you that you did not experience bed bugs on this property. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Did not feel safe at this location. Couldn't sleep as we worried all night if the car was going to be there in the morning. Panhandlers on the property looking for spare change. Rooms appeared clean except for the bugs in the first room, however the staff promptly moved us to a new room. The shower didn't drain well, so be prepared to take a shower in standing water. Originally booked through an popular on-line reservation company that has now refused my feedback on this hotel claiming it's against their policies. I'm not quite sure what policy I'm breaking.... I will not trust their ratings for future bookings. Hopefully this site allows honest reviews.

Room Tip: No bugs on the 2nd floor room that night!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for notifying us of your concerns. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations; its important for us know. We regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. We are in our final completion stage of renovation on the property to better serve you in the future. In regards to your safety this property is always well lighted an continuously monitored by staff. If you would have notified the staff of your concerns I am sure the problem would have been taken care of immediately. Your feedback whether positive or negative is a great way for our property to know what is required to meet guest standards. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to satisfy you in the future.


Sincerely,

Shawna Miller
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed in this Howard Johnson last night. Staff was pleasant. That's about the only nice thing I can say about the place. Sounded like they were running a Zumba class upstairs until around 11pm. Only one lamp in the room worked. Mattress was horrible. Not that I could sleep anyway. Between Zumba and, what appeared to be criminal activity outside, it was one of my worst hotel experiences ever. P.S.- if you don't have any form of personal protection (mace, pistol, etc) you may want to invest in some before you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattA932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Please accept my apologies regarding your recent visit to our property. We try to maintain a very nice comfortable convenient hotel. I'm sorry to hear you feel that you needed to have personal security while on the property. Oh course this is not the imagine we are looking to have. We keep our property well lit with several cameras to view entire property. If you would have given the hotel the opportunity to address the issue with the loud guest around you I am sure we would have taken care of the situation immediately. Thank you for letting us know in the areas we needed to improve. Regarding your lamp not working or the bed bedding being uncomfortable these issues have been taken care of. We have uploaded new images of our rooms as of today, I'm sure if you take a look at them you will have a slight understanding of the changes we have made. I would hope one day in the future you would give us another chance to impress you.



Sincerely,

Shawna Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AjalManagement, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Grand Hotel Orlando
#192 of 340 in Orlando
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heart of I-Drive
#293 of 340 in Orlando
825 reviews
Florida Mall
Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall

Address: 9393 S Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32837-8301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £40 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Major Orlando Attractions and Florida MallStay at the recently renovated rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall hotel, near Orlando International Airport, and get more out of your next trip to the Sunshine State. Situated right outside the Florida Mall, our Orlando, Florida hotel is near Disney World, Orange County Convention Center, Universal Studios and SeaWorld.In the morning, prepare for your busy day with free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave and refrigerator. Guest laundry facilities are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Airport Hotel Orlando
Howard Johnson Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing