We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall
Ranked #237 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I would have rated this hotel a four but in th morning when i wanted to take a shower i had to kill a cockroach first for a little privacy , then when i took a towel to dry myself a got some long black hairs from Conchita on me!
Beds were ok and room looked ok.
We had a room at the front and there was a lot of noise from the road.
Breakfast was very basic.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Daanbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Howard Johnson, Sorry for hearing that your stay was not that pleasant We do have a professional exterminators that service property on a routine basis. We appreciate your comments and will work harder to please our guest. Unfortunately, there is not much that can be done regarding outside traffic noise. We hope that you will visit us again soon!


Sincerely,

Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I must say the customer service extended to me by Jessica was wonderful.
While staying at this hotel I experienced the worst hotel stay n history. When I first checked in Jessica extended me a very warm welcome to Orlando....She gave us room 252(?)...The room was supposed to be non smoking, but it stink so bad of cigarettes...Jessica tried her best to accommodate us....She switched our room but then it started to rain profusely...It rained in our room...Once again I complain to Jessica..She said that she would change my room again...I explained to her that I would stay in the room....112...Jessica personally mopped the water off the floor.....Because of Jessica's hospitality we stayed for the duration of our trip. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for visiting us at the Howard Johnson. I am delighted to hear that Jessica went above and beyond to make sure your stay was pleasant as possible. We try to make sure our guest understand our policy of smoking in a non smoking rooms. Unfortunately, it doesn't always work to the best of our ability. We have put together a better cleaning strategy for our housekeeping to make sure our guest will not experience another problem of smoke smell in a non smoking room. Once again please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience.



Sincerely,

Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My trip to orlando was cut short due to one of my babies getting sick. So we decided to get a room at Howard Johnson and that was the right choice. The staff were amazing and help with directions to the nearest phramacy and the rooms was great very clean and comfortable The best part of the one night stay was the breakfast in the morning my kids enjoy that the most.Thanks for everything you guys are great...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson. Happy to hear we met our goal making sure you had a pleasant visit. With our current renovation and staff working towards excellence; we will continue to strive to be the best. Hope to you to see soon.

Sincerely,
Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had booked a room for four nights and had already prepaid our fees.There was a crack in the ceiling above our door that looked very small, however it rained our 2nd day and water literally poured into our room down the door because of the crack. When I went to call the front desk to let them knowm, our phone didn't work. Once they were aware of the issue she said she had two other rooms available. One room the air conditioner didn't work, that is highly unacceptable as well being we were traveling with our 5 month old and Orlando is incredibly hot! The 2nd room was a smoking room that was in the process of being converted to non-smoking and it smelled horrible! She then offered a 3rd room that we stayed in for only ONE night due to the air conditioning not working in there also. We switched rooms for a 3rd time for our 4 day stay. Instead of having a relaxing vacation away from home it was more of a hassle then anything. The last room was great and the tenant that was there everyday working was wonderful and treated us great so that was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Sorry for the inconvenience during your recent visit. We strive to meet our goals making sure our guest have a pleasant visit. Unfortunately, a maintenance issue was not corrected in a timely manner. We have fixed the problem recently and assure that this will not happen again. Please accept our apologies and reimbursement that was credited to you upon at check out. Hope you will give us another chance to please you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms were clean and it was quiet. Leslie was most helpful while I was waiting for a package to come from Fedex I had to wait past the check out time and Leslie offered

helpful suggestions the property is kept immaculately. It is clean outside as it is inside. It seems they are doing some upgrades because the rooms looked like they were recently redone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for visiting us at the Howard Johnson. It was my pleasure to make sure your stay was pleasant. We appreciate your comments and will continue to maintain our property appearance. We will continue to strive for excellence, and hope that all our our guest enjoy their visit to our property. Hope to see you again soon!




Sincerely,
Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It was great once the problem was fix it was a great stay.thanks to the front desk staff. They was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Howard Johnson. Its always a pleasure to receive nice comments regarding our guest stay. I am happy we reached our goal with making sure your stay was pleasant. Hope to see you again soon!




Sincerely,
Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm actually writing this review while I'm sitting at the desk in one of the rooms - June 24th. My boyfriend and I checked in earlier today and we're debating whether we should leave to another hotel or not because we're on a very tight budget. The moment we entered our 'nonsmoking' room we noticed the overwhelming smell of cigarettes. It smells like a casino. There were cigarette ashes on the floor by the bed and behind the nightstand. There's a sign that states if smoking occurs they'll bill a $150 cleaning fee to the account yet they actually put an ashtray on the desk. Are they trying to encourage smoking?? Now, that's not even the disgusting part.. besides the disgusting smell, when we walked in we noticed a huge, dead roach behind the door. The lady from the front desk casually said 'it's a palmetto bug'..... I know what it is. My question is what is it doing in the room if someone was just in here 'cleaning'? I pointed out the ashes to her so that she could not blame us for it later or try to bill us. The lady from house keeping that came to remove the roach and clean up the ashes had a dirty, torn towel full of holes as her mop. Besides all that, the sheets are completely damp and full of someone else's hair. An hour after checking in, while my boyfriend left to get lunch for us, someone knocked really hard on the door, when I opened the curtain to see who it was there was no one there. Someone actually knocked and ran off. I really regret choosing this hotel. Don't make the same mistake.. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisol_Tru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjalManagement, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am sorry that your experience at our location was so awful. Our staff are expected to go above and beyond for all guest needs. Unfortunately, we did not meet our goal with making sure that your stay was outstanding. I appreciate your concerns and thank you for letting me know about your recent visit. All of the issues mentioned will definitely be address. I will make sure that no other guest will have the same experience. I have compensated you for the inconvenience and I hope that in the future you will give us another chance!




Sincerely
Leslie Valentine
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Grand Hotel Orlando
#195 of 340 in Orlando
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heart of I-Drive
#293 of 340 in Orlando
825 reviews
Florida Mall
Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall

Address: 9393 S Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32837-8301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £39 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Major Orlando Attractions and Florida MallStay at the recently renovated rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall hotel, near Orlando International Airport, and get more out of your next trip to the Sunshine State. Situated right outside the Florida Mall, our Orlando, Florida hotel is near Disney World, Orange County Convention Center, Universal Studios and SeaWorld.In the morning, prepare for your busy day with free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave and refrigerator. Guest laundry facilities are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Airport Hotel Orlando
Howard Johnson Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Airport Florida Mall Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing