We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz - never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #24 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I recently stayed a weekend here with my husband who was working the NFL Owners meetings, and I got to tag along. This property was hidden, or so it seemed, away from the craziness of Disney, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Getting there, however, be prepared to encounter some traffic at any time of the day. The Ritz and JW Marriott are both located on the same property, which I found a bit odd, but am not sure why both hotels are right next to each other. The Ritz was your standard...beautiful lobby, excellent check-in service, nice, comfortable room. We had asked for a room with a queen/king sized bed, but were given a room with two double beds, which my husband and I kept joking that they gave us two twin beds to sleep in (they were small). We had a lovely balcony overlooking the golf course, and a little sitting area with a desk and chair. What I love about the Ritz is always the bathroom/shower, and the fact that they give you a refrigerator. Considering there was so much activity at the hotel, it was quiet, relaxing, and we were able to sleep. I visited the spa inside the JW Marriott. I was very impressed with the nice-sized gym that had plenty of machines, each with its' own TV, and they had a studio where they taught beginner's ballet. I was very impressed. The spa was lush and relaxing, and I had a prenatal massage there. I highly suggest taking advantage of it, especially the prenatal massage, as the spa uses Mamma Mio products, and you will be hooked. (The only problem was my masseuse would not stop talking and bossing me around about being pregnant and a mother - what is it with people having to give you their every opinion about having a child?) Anyhow, I'm sure the other services were fabulous, as well. We never left the hotel, and ordered room service the entire time. The food through room service was excellent, and naturally, one should be prepared to pay top dollar for a turkey burger. There is a very small shop located inside the Ritz, and they didn't seem to have much in terms of snacks or drinks, so I made the trek to the larger shop inside the JW, which also included a Starbucks. The lobby bar was very nice, but the service was a bit slow. I didn't get to check out the pool because it rained the entire time, but the grounds seemed to be beautiful and well-groomed, and I'm sure using the pools would have been a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

I have stayed at this Ritz Carlton property three summer vacations in a row and always impressed with the property. The grounds and rooms are amazing and its nice because its away from the hustle and bustle of Disney resorts and not as chaotic as International Drive. Staff is always very friendly and available for help with cars, directions, etc. The location of the hotel is very central to the different attractions yet removed enough from the crowds. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a five star trip. Before I forget, the beds are really comfy too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGeorgeMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton for three nights before attending a conference in the adjacent JW Marriott (a separate review will be posted for that property). I booked a Club Room package where upon staying two nights, the last night was free.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Being Orlando, I was expecting the place to be mobbed with families and kids. It could be because it was off season, but the lobby was very sedate and calm. Check-in was incredibly smooth, and bell service was prompt. There is only valet parking available at this hotel, which I usually find annoying because there can be delays in getting your car, but even the valets did a good job.

The room itself was well located, a tower room with a view over the flat Central Florida landscape and the pool areas. Because I was on a higher floor, I could even see the fireworks at night from the Sea World theme park, which was a plus. Room wasn't particularly spacious, but was comfortable typical to a Ritz. My main complaint is the lack of soundproofing between rooms - I could clearly hear the television from my neighbor's room, and occasionally conversations.

The club itself was fantastic, even if the staff was a bit on the overeager side. The food presentations were all high-quality and generously offered. Staff was very eager to attend to needs. It may be because the week I was there it was somewhat slow, so they focused a lot of attention on the few guests around.

Again, a nice stay at a first rate property. Service was good to excellent, although it could have been because of the low occupancy during the period.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Room is larger than the other Ritz I have stayed in Florida, everything else seem to be the same, the funitures, the amenities in the room, and the layout of the bathroom. Bed was really comfortable and room service was great. They serve breakfast buffet in the morning, again similar selections as the other Ritz in Florida. There weren't that many families staying at this hotel and the hotel is away from everything, so you get a quiet stay. Hotel is pretty big and shares the golf course with JW next door. If you want a little bit of quiet time and enjoy everything else Orlando has to offer, this may be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Ritz Carltons are known worldwide for having top quality service. Many companies try to emulate their customer service policy and incorporate it into their own "best practice" approach. You can see why at the Ritz Carlton Orlando.

Every individual, every system has an attention to detail with the guest in mind. From the concierge to the grounds keepers, you are greeted with a smile and hello.

The rooms are immaculate and beds are comfortable. Food at our corporate sponsored events was good. The grounds are beautiful and the Spa/fitness facilities are top notch.

We especially liked the agreement with the neighboring JW Marriott to use their facilities and pool. The river pool there was fun and relaxing and provided a good amount of opportunity for shade.

This is a great way to do Orlando without being Disney-ized.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the pool. Room was well maintained althougn the amenities could be a little more upscale for this place. Soaps, batroom items were nothing special
Pool area, restuarants, gym and spa were great. Spa facial-ask for Kim. Hair-Sarah. Both were a little pricey but worth it. Hubby tells me the golf course could have been maintained a little better. Tough course and the caddy who handled his group cost him his "closest to the pin" as he wasn't paying attention.
Pool area is beautful but if you don't want to share the space with children, you will need to go to the spa pool which is $25 for the day if you are not having a spa service. Really? Why not just make it adult only.
Staff is super friendly and attentive. Our suite was a great price. $250-not sure what standard rate was but we were thrilled. Its quite large with two bathrooms and two balconies. All in all, great experience

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SterlingRose1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Attended a wedding there and stayed overnight.
The decor is hideous. Crappy reproductions of French furniture, lot of cheap, pretentious crystal chandeliers and psuedo gilt bronze that the masses think is "elegant".
The food was really terrible at the wedding dinner. Most of it had been prepared in advance and it was overcooked and practically inedible.
This is truly a Marriott hotel with major pretentions. It's so far below the Four Seasons chain that it's a joke.
Not recommended unless you like being ripped off for "faux" elegance at high prices.
Would never go there again. Just too trashy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler561732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 342 in Orlando
4,525 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 342 in Orlando
5,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#11 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Business Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £233 - £685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing