We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting. Would never stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center
Ranked #301 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Awful. Just awful.

Apparently, I didn't check the reviews for this place out when booking our stay, because if I had, I would NOT have stayed there.

Our party decided to make the road trip down to Orlando with one purpose in mind: visit the Universal Studios (specifically, the Wizarding World of Harry Potter). We discovered this Ramada through the Universal website as an affiliated hotel, and found that the overall trip (hotel and Universal tickets) would be much more affordable than buying the tickets and a different hotel separately. I will never make the mistake of being undiscriminating with my hotel choices again, as we were all extremely disappointed with our stay.

The funny thing is, we had just come from staying at a relatively poor hotel in Panama City Beach, but after staying at this Ramada, our memories of PCB became a little bit more rose-colored.

Good:
Honestly nothing.

Bad:
- Front desk staff is incredibly understaffed.
- Room was TINY. How they squeezed two beds, desk, armchair, and a dresser into that unit is beyond me.
- We walked into the room and immediately noticed a puddle of water underneath the A/C unit near the window. We're talkin' squishy carpet here, folks. I thought it might have been because the window was open during the storms that had taken place the day before, but it was clearly from something else. We called the front desk to have someone repair it, and the following day (!!!) a guy came in with a stack of towels and just handed them to a member of our party. Problem solved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D
- The pool was absolutely disgusting. I'm pretty sure that it was/is 99% urine, 0.9% rain water, and 0.1% pool chemicals.
- THE SHUTTLE. As I mentioned earlier, we travelled to Orlando with the sole purpose of going to Universal Studios. We stayed here because of its Universal affiliation, and the promise of having a free shuttle to the parks. Not only was it two hours late, but the hotel staff failed to mention to anyone that it had broken down on the way to pick all of us up, leaving us to just sit outside in the 100 degree heat.

We brought all of this up to the Front Desk staff when we checked out, hoping that they could take some money off, or apologize, or SOMETHING. We were met with defensiveness and the knowledge that their staff is unable to do any sort of financial adjustments (ridiculous) so we'd have to wait to be contacted by a manager. We didn't hear from the manager until a few days later, when he graciously offered to refund our entire stay.

Okay, so the only good thing about our stay was that we didn't have to pay for it. Awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear John,

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent guest experience. It appears that we certainly fell short of your expectations. We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience, and appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you have shared your concerns so that we may better our property.

We have shared your comments with our team members, and we will be working diligently to improve the overall guest experience. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to share those improvements with you during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Close to Universal Studios and an Outlets. Has a small pool but it was raining so we didn't try. Room was clean and very quite. Breakfast was very good and we could cook waffle ourselves! At such a low price, we get more than we paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPADVlSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Haibo,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are always delighted to hear that our guests find their accommodations to be clean and comfortable. You comments will be greatly appreciated by our Housekeeping team.

We are not surprised that you enjoyed our complimentary hot full American breakfast; it is quite popular with our guests and a great way to start your day.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We appreciated the opportunity to serve you and hope to host your next visit in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, great location, easy to walk to drive to restaurants etc, 2nd floor room was clean and tidy, we arrived around noon and they were able to let us check in early which was a huge help, wifi was good reception, great breakfast included, would definately stay again.

Room Tip: go for breakfast early or late and it gets crowded at peak time as the breakfast area is small.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada near the Convention Center I-Drive. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests. It is our goal to provide guests with clean, comfortable accommodations, and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our location.

With so much to do in the Orlando and International Drive area, we are glad you found time to enjoy our free hot breakfast as well as our complimentary WiFi Internet access during your stay.

Thank you, again, for taking time to share your comments. We appreciated the opportunity to serve you and hope to host your return stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

the staff was very friendly and willing to help, the shuttle bus was helpful,the room I had was small and needed to be updated and the people that stayed next to me was local crack addicts or something I personally wouldn't stay there again but if you don't care and just need a place to put your head I guess its ok

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are always delighted to hear that our guests find our staff to be friendly and hospitable. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel location just off of International Drive--which is within walking distance of shopping, dining, and entertainment venues.

As you mentioned, we are happy to offer free shuttle to Universal Studios, Walt Disney World, and Sea World. In addition, we are pleased to provide free deluxe hot breakfast daily for our guests.

Thank you, again, for sharing your comments. Your feedback will help us to improve our overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The air conditioning unit was terribly loud. The carpets needed to be cleaned-- sticky to the touch.

Breakfast was nice, and service was overall good. There was however limitations to the help that the front desk could provide after hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank JWL916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada for your recent stay and for taking time to share your comments. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service as well as the complimentary deluxe hot American breakfast during your stay.

Please know that our staff is committed to providing you with an enjoyable stay while you are in the Orlando area. We hope that you reported your concerns to our Front Desk team during your stay so that we could correct any issues.

Again, we thank you for taking time to share your recent experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel with a friend, we actually booked it at around 28 $us per night per person, so it was really cheap. I was worried that it was going to be like one of those backpackers´ hostels that is falling down, but nothing at all. Room was big and with all the commodities. Housekeeping was done without problem everyday. We stayed there for 9 nights, which was a lot. Location is excellent and the person from the front desk helped us a lot to make reservations for the bus to Bush gardens, to buy other tickets, etc. For that price, it was excellent!
Only advice would be for the breakfast, it needed something fresh such as fruit or more juice, too much pastries and if you didn´t arrive before 8:30 you couldn´t find milk or yoghurt and they wouldn´t refill anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlisdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCCIDGM, General Manager at Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada near the Convention Center I-Drive. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests find our staff friendly and hospitable, and we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your comfortable accommodations.

As you mentioned, our free hot breakfast is quite popular with our guests. We are pleased to offer scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, cereal (hot & cold), yogurt, fresh baked pastries, milk, juice, and coffee on a daily basis—a great way to start out your day.

We appreciated the opportunity to serve you and hope to host your return stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn at International Drive
0.1 mi away
Allure Resort International Drive Orlando
0.2 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Orlando
Grand Hotel Orlando
#200 of 340 in Orlando
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Resort and Suites Orlando International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center

Address: 8342 Jamaican Ct, Orlando, FL 32819-9313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Ramada Convention Center I-drive Orlando and you'll stay close to all major central Florida attractions while enjoying popular amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and more. Located just 2 miles from Universal Studios, SeaWorld Orlando, and only five miles from Walt Disney World, this hotel offers unparalleled convenience. The Orange County Convention Center is only 1 mile away. You can take care of your shopping needs at Florida Mall or The Mall at Millenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Convention Center i-Drive Hotel Orlando
Ramada Inn Orlando
Ramada Inn i Drive
Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing