We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great except no hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Palace Resort
Ranked #173 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great except no hot water”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here 3/19. Overall the property is nice and the rooms are decent. The one issue I had was no hot water in the master bathroom. Didn't notice until the morning of my departure. I took a cold shower and proceeded to checkout where I mentioned it to the young lady at the counter. She didn't acknowledge the issue, offer an apology, or make an attempt to satisfy me. Very very disappointed by her. If I had more time I would have made an issue of it but I had places to be. This young lady ruined an otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rastonecousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your input regarding your stay. Please accept our apology if a member of our staff was less than courteous- this is not our standard. We appreciate your comments, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    492
    186
    131
    153
See reviews for
1,081
101
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Summer break for kids a last minute thing they loved it and so did I'm thinking about buying in.wish I could of took a tour but had no time due to only 2 day stay due to work..I really love this place full kitchen nice rooms. Just the right size not to big and not to small. I woild rate this place ★★★★......great job westgate.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We’re glad you chose us for your summer vacation getaway destination. It’s good to hear you really enjoyed the unit and its amenities. We hope you choose us for future trips!

Sincerely,
Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Amazing no flaws, from the front desk to the room service. The rooms are big with a lot of space the kitchen has all the supplies , it really feel like an apt. It's really close to the mall and the outlets , only 5 moms away from universal , all the restaurants and grocery are in a walking distance ! It's great !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very delighted to know that our spacious and beautiful units were everything you needed. Our property is nearby all Orlando attractions for the entire family to partake in. We would love to have you visit us back at the resort!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel was nice. Some of the reviews we read before attending complained about construction in the lobby and the timeshare selling. The lobby was still under construction, but it will be very nice when it is done. We were not pressured into a timeshare and nobody forced anything on us.

The rooms and grounds were clean and well maintained. The view of Orlando was pleasant as well.

The walls are a little thin and you can hear your neighbors. It was a little annoying when we were trying to go to sleep, but I am sure that our neighbors heard our baby wake up crying in the middle of the night to be fed.

The pool was very warm. It was like we were all simmering in a pot of soup.

Overall the negatives don't come close to outweighing the positives, so we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for advising us about your recent stay. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff strive to ensure that our properties are clean and well maintained on a daily basis. We are happy to hear that you experienced that. It’s wonderful that you were able to make use of the pool amenities during your stay as we know that can help make your vacation more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you and your family soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Alright, so obviously there are many different people that will have many different opinions on this hotel and so i will start of with the good things i experienced here. First, for what i was looking for in a resort in general it was an excellent location, close to many theme parks like Wet N' Wild, Universal Studios and Seaworld. The room was very spacious and clean with a full kitchen and can comfortably fit up to 6 people in the room. While i have read some reviews on people who said they can't sleep because the walls are so thin you can hear everything in the next room, i did not experience this issue at all. Sleep quality was excellent and the only noise i heard was when kids were running through the hall to their room (obviously this could be different depending on whether your in Tower A or B and what kind of crowd is staying in the resort at that point in time. I was staying on the 18th floor of Tower A and there was really no noise at all on this floor). As for housekeeping services, housekeeping generally came through the room every day to clean up, switch out towels and wash clothes and straighten up room, though for a fee they offer either partial or full housekeeping, though i didn't require either of these services. The front desk was very polite and nice and everyone i ran into in general was very professional. Now as for the bad, two big things that immediately stuck out about this resort is the fact that you have to pay for Wifi access and that there is no complimentary breakfast unless you are a Owner of Westgate ( will explain more on that in a moment). I have never once stayed at a hotel/resort that has not offered free wifi and i ended up having to pay $39.99 for Wifi Access for the week i was there. Parking can also be a serious issue if you are someone who chooses to stay out late at night as parking space, especially on weekends fills up extremely fast. Also while they have a cafe you can purchase food from, complimentary breakfast is not included and only owners, or individuals who have invested in timeshares can partake in free breakfast, which brings me to the neutral side of my trip: Timeshares. Westgate Resorts in general are timeshare properties and as a result you are given a welcome packet which includes information about timeshares and the 90 minute presentation they present to those interested. Prior to checking in i read alot of reviews about guests being hassled to attend these presentations and were bribed with a variety of incentives like park passes, free breakfast, lunch or dinner and a variety of other things. I can say none of these things happened to me and good chance is that it was because i am only 22 years old in college. Plus you have to have a salary of at least $50,000 in order to be considered for a timeshare. For some guests and depending on your circumstances, you may be in a position to wish to invest in a timeshare here, and should that be the case then best of luck to you. However for many of its guests we are simply here to vacation and nothing more, and im sure everyones experience with timeshares at Westgate will be different and hopefully hassle-free.

All in all, i give this resort a 4 out of 5 stars and i do feel that despite the flaws indicated above that i had a wonderful experience here and hope you do too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RyanE264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort amenities and services. We are proud to offer Wi-Fi on property. This service is free to all of our owners, but is still accessible to all other guests for a fee which can be settled at the front desk. Also, during times of high occupancy, our parking situation sometimes can be challenging. Please accept our apologies if you were inconvenienced. If available, our employees would be glad to give you a ride on their golf cart. We appreciate your comments and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We came here for a quick weekend trip with our main focus being to relax. We got a really nice deal and although we read many reviews we were still looking forward to our trip. There were 6 of us so the room was perfect. Check in was a breeze; when you sign the paperwork there is a spot that says to initial if you want to be contacted regarding the tours. We declined and were never bothered. The staff was all extremely friendly. The pool was fabulous and the activities were nice- had fun doing karaoke poolside.
There were a few negatives: we killed a roach in our room ( I know nobody likes roaches but when there is an apartment like setting where people are staying for extended amounts of time....) that's no excuse though.
Also, parking!!!!!!! We left out and when we came back there was NOTHING. We were told to park across the. We had heavy bags, 2 sleep kids and a pregnant girl. They seriously need to expand the parking lot.
Overall would I go back: we are planning to stay here for our summer trip to aquatics. The whole family loved it and we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philllygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you had a great time. All of our staff is there to make you feel comfortable and we strive for our staff to be very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our resort amenities. We truly look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I book this hotel because of how close it was to Universal Studios plus we need a suite. Rooms are perfect for 6 people, view of Orlando amazing . I already knew by reading reviews they didn't have free breakfast. It didn't matter to me there was a McDonald's near by.
Once we check in they started to Tell us about it we put a deposit down of 20 bucks we would get free breakfast the next morning & something about they were going to give us 75 bucks back blah blah blah. So next morning we went down stairs & finds out just cause you don't earn enough money for your job for a year we can't eat breakfast there. WHAT?!
Im sorry what does that have to do with anything! RIDICULOUS!
We ask even if whatever can we still eat. They said yes. So we were going & some guy comes up to us saying if we had someone represent us. What does that mean? We said no I guess. So he started to say all this stuff.
Why is it that the people down stairs say one thing but others say a different thing.
Y'all really know how to ruin someone day.
I was the only that this has happen to. About 5 other groups as well.
Don't offer it if you are not going to give it to us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lopezz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and the frustration it caused. Thank you for sharing these details with us. I have shared your review with our management team to prevent issues of this nature from re-occurring. We truly hope you will give us a future opportunity to serve you.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Property: Westgate Palace Resort
Address: 6145 Carrier Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8254
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#126 Business Hotel in Orlando
#165 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish, Two-Towers Vacation Resort in the Heart of Orlando Westgate Palace Resort is an amazing two-tower, lakeside Orlando, Florida, hotel that lies just off world-famous International Drive and within walking distance of Wet 'n Wild(R) Water Park and more than 200 specialty shops and family-friendly restaurants. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations that feature all the comforts of a fully furnished home and a multitude of onsite amenities, including a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, Pool Bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando
Westgate Palace Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing