We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regretful choice for a vacation stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Palace Resort
Ranked #177 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regretful choice for a vacation stop”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As much as we tried to remain positive about this stay, things kept getting worse. To begin with the front desk personnel are not properly trained in customer service. They responded to simple direction inquires with "I don't know" responses. They did not attempt to find information for you or make sure that you left there sight with your questions answered. The shuttle services are very limited making it very difficult to variate one's schedule. The room service was not well done. On one day the decided to skip making the beds because a back pack was left on top. The restrooms were never cleaned in our weeks stay. All the amenities are targeted toward share holders. Apparently, a weeks stay is not enough to give you any rights. If you want to participate in the few "extras" they provide, you need to pay. Also, there is no free wifi. Yes. No free wifi! It's a ridiculous place. I definitely do not recommend for a vacation getaway. You should beware of the "free breakfast" it's a gimmick to get you to listen to their salesmen for hours.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGTZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We deeply apologize for the issues you encountered. We train all of our staff to provide outstanding customer service. What you have described has been given to our resort management team for further review. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again to see how we’ve improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    501
    186
    134
    155
See reviews for
1,094
106
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Large spacious rooms, all mod cons, high standard, staff friendly great location.
Did not like the sales pitch as we registered and it cost me 20 bucks. Rip off.
Could do with out that on your holidays.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience. We want to ensure that your vacation time is a memorable one; for that we provide you with fully equipped units, great amenities and fun activities for the entire family. The timeshare presentation is opened only to those who want to participate. We hope to host you as our guest again soon! Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The apartments were recommended by our travel company in Dublin. Then when I checked tripadvisor I was very disappointed by the reviews which were terrible. Then we arrived at Westgate Palace from 2nd - 16th July 2014. We are a family of five with three children of 11, 18 and 20.

The accommodation was a master bedroom with ensuite and jacucci bath, a twin room with en suite and a fold out double bed in the living room come kitchen. The apartment was clean and spacious with three flat screens, great facilities. The location was very close to Universal, Wet N Wild and International Drive. Some reviews had mentioned small apartments, poor facilities and nightmare parking. I do not know how the people writing the reviews could form their opinions. they must be used to four star hotels. We however found the resort very good and the only criticism we had was the poor quality of the food in the small cafe. There are dozens of alternatives within walking distance so this did not matter.

We would highly recommend the Westgate Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on a high floor overlooking Universal Studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We want to take the time to let you know how honored we are that you chose us as your vacation option in the Orlando area. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed our strategic location, great units and amenities, and also so many activities for the entire family to have fun. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to have you with us real soon! M.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I searched the internet for hours looking for a hotel that could accommodate our family of 6 and at a price that didn't 'break the bank.' Because of the size of our family we weren't able to do the 'average' hotel room. I came across this hotel through a traveling website through my employer. This villa offered our family a 2 bedroom villa that slept 6 people, comfortably, and at a good price! It is only a mile from Universal Studios/Wet and Wild and under 10 minutes to Magic Kingdom/Epcot. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Universal Studios and Wet and Wild. The skyline is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Westgate Palace. How wonderful it is to know that after a long search you found us and were accommodated just the way you expected. Our large and complete units can certainly make you and your family feel at home. Besides that, our perfect proximity to the major points of interest in the city and so many fun activities to enjoy within the property will surely make you fall in love and want to come back to the Westgate Resorts. We hope to host you as our guest again soon! Micky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greneville
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went with two teenagers and an active 7 year old. Rooms were nice, clean, and accommodated our needs well. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful in finding a reasonable taxi and good pizza, and professional. In great location for universal. Would recommend for vacation spot.





  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Westgate Vacation Villas. It brings us a lot of joy when we read about great experiences that our owners and guests have with us; our biggest aim is to ensure a truthful quality vacation. It is awesome to know you enjoyed the units, our staff and services. Please stay with us again! Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here last august with 4 teenagers room was perfect size , cleaned most days and staff where always friendly , hotel was not what we expected after reading reviews , it was so much better , after explaining to staff upon checkin that we where there on a holiday and did not want to be bothered about time share we where left alone , we have now booked to go back at christmas for two weeks and also have another four familys coming with us so thats a total of five rooms that we have booked for xmas on my reccomendation so i hope myself and family members are happy with our rooms and service once again

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking lake for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katpauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us here at tge Westgate Palace. We aim to exceed your vacation experience as many times as you come. It pleases us to know that you found our units to be clean and the staff was friendly. We are already waiting for your family return during Christmas! Micky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First I have to start by saying that I have never written a review for any hotel good or bad (and I travel a lot); however after my traumatizing experience at the palace I feel it was my responsibility as a human being to warn people about this horrible ghetto hotel! I wish I would have listened to the other bad reviews. I normally like to experience things myself as some people may be hard to please but not the case here. Everything the bad reviews say is true! My family and another family stayed over the July 4th weekend. To start we paid for a deluxe room which is significantly bigger then a standard room. When we arrived they put us in a standard room. It did not occur to me until I started reviewing pictures on here the next morning that we were in the wrong room.

Ok we arrived at close to 12am. The checkin instructions indicated we had to check in at the other location when we got there the welcome center was closed. They told us to go check in at the palace and then return at 8am to register at welcome center and tour. Yes we had agreed on a tour because that is how we got a good deal! ( please please pay extra and stay some place else)!

In the morning we got up and went to the other location to register at the welcome center and tour when we get there we were told our tour was at the palace back to the palace. To start I was already offended that anyone would try to sell me a ghetto hotel. Parking is not enough for the amount of people they have so my husband had to park across the street. While my little ones and I waited in the lobby the night of checkin I was scared from the ghetto people that were popping in and out at 1am! A group of people came out of the elevator smelling like pot!

Once we arrive to our room the night of checkin I really felt like crying and just taking my kids anywhere else but we had already paid. The hotel looks like an old motel! The sheets have a brown tint and on top of that had brown and yellow stains there was white crust all over the head board. The tubs were black and I really mean the tubs were suppose to be beige but were black with dirt!

Ok so why would anyone try to sell that! Ok our tour guy! He started off real real nice although he seemed annoyed with our very well behaved girls! He first stated he was just going to give us the tour that he was not a sales guy and that he was just at the hotel to help the other sales guys out! That he would show us around then if we said no it was no! Oh boy but that was a total lie! The tour was over and then he turned into a sales guy! We had also told him about the mixup with our room because the welcome center told us to tell him. He first said " don't worry I will get that taken care of for you" well... When we told him we were not interested in buying there he started getting really mad and insulting us " so you telling me you are here on vacation taking your kids to seaworld and spending all this money and you talked about how nice you live and you can't afford this, so you never going to travel" and on and on then he got up real angry and said under his breath ( sounds like you fronting)! I swear I can't stop thinking about that I am so traumatized !

Then he returned and said ok we are done then when I asked him about our room correction he said well I don't know maybe they will cal you later. Anyways I went to front desk and the only nice experience was the lady Marilyn who kindly corrected our room!

And I could go on but the worst part was I got home and started to unpack my bags and found a huge roach! Please please don't stay here please it's the worst experience I have every had!

I came home feeling like I wanted to throw out all my cloths! This is not a resort by any means. Please take my word and don't stay here! I wish I would have listened!

Room Tip: Don't stay here it's ghetto old motel not resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gtravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to review our resort.

We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the standard that Westgate Resorts holds itself to.

We have every desire to address your concerns and provide the best solutions available to resolve every issue. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience we have caused you.

Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and will hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Property: Westgate Palace Resort
Address: 6145 Carrier Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8254
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#126 Business Hotel in Orlando
#165 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish, Two-Towers Vacation Resort in the Heart of Orlando Westgate Palace Resort is an amazing two-tower, lakeside Orlando, Florida, hotel that lies just off world-famous International Drive and within walking distance of Wet 'n Wild(R) Water Park and more than 200 specialty shops and family-friendly restaurants. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations that feature all the comforts of a fully furnished home and a multitude of onsite amenities, including a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, Pool Bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando
Westgate Palace Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing