We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“familly vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Palace Resort
Ranked #182 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“familly vacation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I just stay there for over a week ago and it was awesome for prices and accommodations were excellent the personal were so kind and helpful. i would stay again. also book and extra 2 night at the westgate lake resort and spa ad also really nice!!! I would stay there again. great hotel, great people. the only thing was that i have to paid for WiFi :(

Room Tip: the higher the better view lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We appreciate your responses concerning your stay with us at the Westgate Palace. It is lovely to know about the friendliness of our staff, the pleasing units and great prices. Our Wifi service is free to our owners and our guests can choose to purchase it. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family again! M.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    504
    188
    136
    160
See reviews for
1,105
109
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

For the most part, this hotel was good for the price and family size we had. We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite. We were six. We slept 2, 2, 2. The last 2 in the sofa-bed.

The good:
-Room are accommodating even though they are not very big.
-Kitchen has full-size refrigerator, stove with oven (flat surface is nice), microwave, blender, coffee maker, and plenty of coking and eating utensils (even table mats).
-Bathroom sinks are separate from the toilet and bath (one had a bath and one had a shower).
-Main bathroom had double sinks
-There was actual room service
-We always found parking (although we didn't come back late like some of the other people who wrote bad reviews about the parking).
-Everyone was nice: security, front desk, maid, maintenance, and so on.
-When we asked for coffee, blankets, pillows and so on, the service was prompt.
-One we said we were not interested in the time-share free breakfast/presentation we were left alone without persistence
-Easy check out
-Location. Very close to Universal/ Islands of Adventure and other places in Orlando. Plenty of restaurants around.
-Light switches have dimmers
-We only saw a little roach (no big roaches or mice).
-Our neighbors were quiet at night.

The bad:
-Bright lights. We stayed on the second floor and we had the side of the hotel that does not face WetNWild. They have flood lights at night to light the side of the hotel and they hit our room windows. They were so bright we couldn't sleep well the first night. It felt like daylight. We had to cover the windows to get it dark enough to sleep.
-No garbage chute. We wanted to avoid leaving food in the garbage bin so we took out the garbage but there's no garbage chute. Instead they have a big garbage bin the beginning of the hallway. It smells when you walk by. Not very classy.
-Smell of paint. They were painting the walls of our floor when we stayed.
-The AC unit can get loud at night if you're sleeping in the sofa-bed.

Had we been able to get a good night's sleep every night I would have given this hotel 5 points. I do recommend it as it seems they have addressed most of the concerns previously mentioned in other reviews.

Room Tip: The best views are those facing Wet N Wild. The other side of the hotel has lights that hit your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyp D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your complete experience at the Westgate Palace. We certainly want to make you feel at home, even away from it. We are delighted to hear about so many details of your family time here in Orlando. Futhermore, we hope that you were able to address some of your concerns with management and they accommodated you properly. We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you soon! Micky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am just back from a 2 week stay at the Palace with my wife, 15 year old son, 10 month old son, brother and his partner. I had read some reviews before going, people staing it was terrible, wasnt clean, time share annoynance, cleanliness, staff unfriendliness etc. These people really need to get a grip of themselves and get a reality check. For a start, it is a self catering resort, with washer dryer, dishwasher cooker, pots n pans etc. At home would you expect someone to clean after you every day and change your sheets, clean after and wash after yourself you lazy people. The place was spotless, everyday you got offered clean towels, bath stuff, toilet rolls, detergent etc, and we asked to have the beds made one day and floor cleaned and they done it for us. The view over the lake and parks was amazing, the pool, marina and facilities were better than most idrive hotels ive stayed in (this is my 10th trip to idrive) and if was to ever return this would be top of my list. What do people expect from staff?? Anything we asked of them, they were pleasant and attentive, what more do you want. The only one issue was having to pay for wifi, but hey you cant have everything in life. The universal parks were withing walking distance (or 8 dollar taxi ride), they also had free shuttles to universal and disney, local restaurants bars etc were within 5 min walk and iride trolley stop was right outside and walgreens 5 mins away. Never once were we badgered to attend and timeshare meeting, we received one flyer through the door over the whole 2 week period. Drink and food were normal price, but we bought our own drink in walgreens and plastic cups and drank it by pool withot any hassle. We shopped at nearby publix for breafast and lunch stuff and ate out most evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms facing wet n wild, you could stand and wathc view all day and see universal fireworks in eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee_Henderson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Westgate Palace Resort.

We are happy to know that you and your family were able to enjoy one of our fully equipped two bedroom units and our ideal location.

Nothing pleases us more than to know our staff was able to assist with any and all of your needs, making your stay with us a pleasurable one.

It was wonderful to hear from you, our valued guest, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is 1 mile from Universal. Although they claim to have a shuttle it doesn't run at times to accommodate early entry only runs a few times a day. you must take a taxi. Customer Service was the worst. 1st day they took our dirty towels but did not replace them..They made one of our beds and threw the dirty linens on the other bed. Could not see out the windows, so dirty. Room 201 has a spotlight that shines into the bedroom. Only one loveseat in living room only seats 2 people rest of us had to use kitchen chairs. Charged for Internet Service (no other hotels do that) $10 and you could not connect. Sold us Meal/Movie tickets assured us that they were good anywhere in City Walk (except Emerials) tried 3 restaurants would not accept them, the restaurants that did accept them had a special menu consisting of hotdogs and hamburgers!. Clain to have breakfast daily only to find out you have to listen to a talk to purchase a time share in order to have breakfast! Walls very thin...we could hear talking in the next room. There are many other hotels in the area to choose from. Sorry Westgate, very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtsy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your letter of review regarding your stay at the Westgate Palace Resort.

We are so sorry that you experienced these issues with cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guests’ arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know.

We are a timeshare resort and offer all of our owners and guests the opportunity to participate in one of our timeshare presentations. In return for participating we do offer incentives such as breakfast and discounts. Participation is purely voluntary and our sales team is there to assist you in any way they can in the process of buying a timeshare. We deeply apologize if you and your party were led to believe the breakfast was included in your stay and were inconvenienced in anyway.

In regards to the meal/movie passes, while we do offer them at the resort, the restaurants who accept them is subject to change based on the discretion of the provider, in this case Universal City Walk and their affiliates.

We apologize again for any inconvenience during your stay and thank you taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on what we hope will be your next visit.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Although this is close to international drive it is some what dated need a bit of an overhaul/refurbished, this is time share resort and as soon as you check in you find this out when your redirected to a member of staff who soon signs you up for a two hour tour.

They are clean ish and central but in need of refurb the beds are very dated and very high of the floor would not recommend this for families very rowdy with lots of group bookings from the young people
Don't buy drink at the bar extenuate prices

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that your overall experience of the hotel was good and appreciate receiving your constructive comments for our future reference.

Sincerely,
Anja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Every time I travel with a group to Orlando we stay at this hotel. It never seems to disappoint me. everything you could possibly need is within a 5 minute drive. the room is very spacious and clean, the beds are very comfortable and there lots to do in the hotel such as the pool, gym, basketball, and paddle boats. the staff is very friendly and helpful once you arrive they do offer you one of those tours to buy the hotels timeshares but I've never been hassled or pressured to do so, I always tell them no thank you and they point me in the direction to my room. You definitely get lots of bang for your buck here. If I had to absolutely anything bad to say it would be that when checking out the elevator take forever to go up and down and there Isn't enough baggage carts but that was the very minimal.

Room Tip: higher floors seemed to be quieter and lower floors are quicker during sunday check-outs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It pleases us when we read our owners and guests reviews and they have such a positive time with us. We aim to provide you with a memorable vacation experience; for that we offer a property centrally located with complete amenities and units.Comfort and safety are also part of the package. Thanks for letting us know about the elevator, we will forward this information to our management team. Please visit again the next time you're in Orlando! Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The rooms aren´t bad but the service is, you should beware, this is a timeshare property and they will bug you with their free breakfast and meetings, they will charge you for things most hotels (expensive and cheap) will give for free like extra blankets and internet Access, and worse of all they refuse to do full cleaning of the room unless you pay extra (this will never ever happen at any major or minor chain companies)... front desk will not help at all and they will hide behind the "ITS A TIMESHARE RESORT" for every question/complain you have about the por quality of the services. If you do need a 2 bedroom condo go to Ressidence by marriot it will cost about the same and you will get the service you pay for. Stay away from this kind of places.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Javier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us through TripAdvisor why your stay at the Westgate Palace Resort did not meet your expectations.

It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional.

We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback as the points you have described are being reviewed by our management team.

We apologize again that we have missed the level of service you expected from us.

Sincerely,
Anja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
4,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Property: Westgate Palace Resort
Address: 6145 Carrier Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8254
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#126 Business Hotel in Orlando
#165 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish, Two-Towers Vacation Resort in the Heart of Orlando Westgate Palace Resort is an amazing two-tower, lakeside Orlando, Florida, hotel that lies just off world-famous International Drive and within walking distance of Wet 'n Wild(R) Water Park and more than 200 specialty shops and family-friendly restaurants. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations that feature all the comforts of a fully furnished home and a multitude of onsite amenities, including a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, Pool Bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando
Westgate Palace Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing