We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort but had some problems with my room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Ranked #205 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I stayed at Westgate Lakes Resort for 5 nights in January 2009. I had a promotional rate of $29/night but I had to attend a timeshare meeting. When I arrived I upgraded for $50 more from a studio to a 2 bedroom, 2 bath. I didn't realize until I checked out that there were also additional fees and taxes with the upgrade.

The first day I was there the toilet overflowed because something was stuck in it. The plumber did come with the plunger. The next day it was getting ready to overflow again and the plumber came back with his plunger but had to later return with a snake and finally the toilet was all set.

Then the safe didn't work. We had to call someone for that and it took them a few days to come. They took the front of the safe and said they would return with another one but never did for our entire stay.

We had to cancel the housekeeping since we couldn't lock up any of our valuables.

The refrigerator also did not close well.

I went to the timeshare meeting. I had to meet the representative at the restaurant a few blocks away - I drove my car there. The representative took me with her golf cart to the meeting place at the Westgate Resorts. When I didn't buy she said I could just wait out front for the next bus which would come within the 1/2 half. I thought that this was awful - she should have taken me back to my car with the golf cart.

When we complained about these inconveniences none of our money could be refunded but we were given a $50 voucher to use in the resort.

Overall it was a nice place - beautiful grounds - nice location - nice pool - the staff tried to accomodate us the best they could but the rooms especially mine needed to be updated.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,621)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,681 - 3,687 of 5,622 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2009

Upon much research, we discovered an awesome rate for a "studio" room here and felt we couldn't pass it up. We pre paid 59 per day... it came to approx 140.00 for 2 nights with taxes. I think they added a 6.00 per day "resort fee" which didn't spoil the good deal for us.

For such a cheap price, we could've been at some dingy Days Inn. Instead, we had a room with a kitchenette- big bonus, and also a jetted tub! We commented on how it was a little freaky for us that the jetted tub was in the middle of the room between the bed and the restroom. Kinda nice for a romantic trip I guess.

Upon checkin we kindly requested a water view and were pleasantly surprised to have a 6th floor room with a spacious balcony overlooking both the pool and lake. We were very close to the theme parks and an array of restaurants.

The parking was free, and if we'd paid we would have asked for our money back. Late at night parking is dreadful, and on our second night we were forced to park in a "no parking zone"...we didn't get towed or ticketed. There were a few questionable groups of younger people but we always felt safe. The pool closed at 11pm. We tried calling the guest services line late at night, expecting it to be 24 hours. Noone ever answered though, which could have been unnerving had it been an emergency. We didn't try back more than 2 times..maybe someone was in the restroom or something.

Something else we noticed was that housekeeping was upon request and an additional charge would be paid- not a problem for our short stay but this would've been annoying if we were there for a while. Check out is at 10 am, but we slept in and awoke to a knock on the door at 11:30 am. (oops) We dropped our keys in a box at the gate around noon without any problem.

If you have high class taste with a small budget, you will love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyvirgo830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I stayed at Westgate because of a good offer on price for sitting through a timeshare presentation. The room was nice and I was lucky to get a lakeside view. My main issue is parking is horrible. They want you to buy a timeshare at a resort where you can't park in front of the place you are staying. I don't want to have to park near the lobby, wait 10 minutes for a shuttle, and then walk from the shuttle-stop to my room. The place has so many room, but only enough parking spaces to accomodate 1/4 of them. So if you visit, come back to the room before 8 and don't leave again until in the morning or you won't find a parking space.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This resort has it all and is close to the I-4 freeway, airport and 2 miles from Sea World and Universal Studios. 100 Beautiful landscaped grounds with lots to do including paddle, kyak, and sail boats for $10.00/hr on the lake, putt putt golf, kids activities, pool side BBQ and bars, close to Walmart, DVD rentals, 1 hour photo shop in lobby and many other conveniences. The pool was heated and had hot tub and childs waterfall pool, wonderful Smoked BBQ restaurant with great breakfast buffet for $6.95. We loved the rooms and the Studio comes with a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom surrounded by mirrors, mini kitchen and double door entry for privacy, also great lanai overlooking pool with table and lawn chairs. Our room was very clean and quiet. Had a big double shower. We will definitely go back and stay here again. Internet special was only $79 with no parking fees or resort fees tacked on. Great place to relax and play.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbsorganics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My wife and three sons had a great time at the Westgate. We are a Interval International Timeshare member and booked a stay in building 700 for a week in March. We booked the studio and fit all of us just fine. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and the screened in balcony. The decor is a bit outdated 80's looking and the beds could be better. As for the cleanliness is was for the most part good. Don't have those pics fool you. Newly painted rooms and stairwells. Activies outstanding. The kids love it! Thanks for the great time Westgate. See you soon. Highly Recommend this Resort for all people.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chridappers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Wow, how happy we were at both check-in and stepping into our room! We had a super clean 2bd 2bath. The decor was upscale. Nice big tv with satellite. Full kitchen with everything including an ice-maker & dishwasher. Breakfast bar and a dining table, Jacuzzi Tub in our master bedroom (after walking all day it was oh so nice). We absolutely loved the screened in porch (hubby could have a smoke out there) and I loved the sunsets/sunrises on the water. We went to the market first night and stocked up on super easy to make meals and really did not eat out at all except at disney's epcot Marakeesh (it was excellent - and quite reasonable! We love to eat out at 5 star restaraunts and normally really gear our trips for that...but lets face it disney is not the place to go for gourmet meals and who in the world has the energy to walk all day and then really enjoy sitting thru a nice long meal!) We knew we would have a washer/dryer in the unit so we packed super light, so nice -no extra bagage fee! Speaking of that...NEVER FLY CONTINENTAL FIRST CLASS!! It is a real big joke, we could not even go into "their own" "first class lounge" without paying extra to get in! "First Class lunch - a cold plate of deli meats! Continental should be out of business soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

My husband and I took our 5 kids to orlando and stayed here @ WG Resort and SPA....the kids never wanted to leave...!!! it was a weekend vacation trip left Philly friday and checked in on Sat. morning ..our stay lasted 4 days...We never had a complaint..we were in a 2 bedroom villa ..parking wasn't bad..we stayed on the 1900 building amenities for our stay was all inclusive except for the spa etc. but we had discount...staff were very efficient the least to say friendly. We recommend WG Resort and SPA totally everything kids would enjoy right there on the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricola9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since you last stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Luna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
10.0 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 340 in Orlando
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
5,711 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#61 of 340 in Orlando
4,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 9500 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £58 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing