We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #69 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The room was a decent size and clean with very comfortable beds. The pool was amazing, very big so there is enough space, and as you can use the Ritz Carlton pool there is variety. The grounds in general were awesome. There were a few extra activities, for example paddle boating on the lake, however these were at an extra cost, which was quite high. This was a little disappointing as you pay so much just to stay, it would be nice for these little extras to be included. The staff were incredible, very attentive, friendly and helpful. There are free hot drinks at the Ritz Carlton everyday, which is a little walk, but nice. The wifi in the room was good and worked well. The breakfast was incredible, it includes pastries, waffles, eggs, breads, fruit and other delicious items. The only other downside was that the hotel is a little far out, the compound is not in walking distance to any other shops or restaurants, though there are plenty in the hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hts_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    817
    254
    99
    64
See reviews for
1,083
487
74
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Original weekend getaway plans fell through - so we made a split decision and went to JW Marriott for weekend - it ended up being way better than our plan A!!!

Arrived late Friday night - desk staff friendly and efficient. Room was fine - met our needs.

In the morning - staked out our spot at the pool. Plenty of sun and shade. Bonus - poolside entertainment on Saturday afternoon - fellow named Eric w guitar. Activities and pool areas for all ages of kids. Next to the ritz so you can use all their facilities too. Learned how to paddle board.

We went off property for dinner but came back to a lively pool area and they were playing Frozen on big blow up screen. Pool open til 11. Starbucks in hotel. Our waiter at pool was very good and the chicken wrap was excellent.

There is also a ropes course and other activities for all ages.

We had a really good rate via AAA - and resort fee was fine - since there is a lot to do at the resort!

Lazy River - fun to go around - but the force of water is non existent so be prepared to push yourself - or you will go very slow. I won't mark review down because of this however - we had an excellent time all around.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kimjdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a Great Hotel. This hotel can be quite expensive, but you should know that going in. Everything about this property is great. The pool area is fantastic, the children will love it. Very good golf course, and I even went fishing on the property with a guide and caught several nice bass . Great location, relatively close to all the attractions and the airport. Beautiful room with a fantastic view of the lakes and golf course. We were there during the week of the 4th of July so the hotel was very crowded, but that was just a minor hassle. Lots of activities for the kids and a fantastic fireworks show. We've stayed here before and will stay again.

Room Tip: request a lake view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllisonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very lovely. We stayed there as a treat for my son's birthday while we were in Orlando. It fit the bill of a fancy hotel. The bathroom was very large. The pool was very nice. Lots of shade if you wanted it. The lazy river was fun and made the pool area seem HUGE. However, when we went to put dinner leftovers in the room refrigerator, it had a note telling us to request a refrigerator if we wanted one. We had a poser of a refrigerator. The bellman was still there and said he'd put in a request. An hour later I called down to get a status and I was told we were on a wait list but they'd send up ice. We never got a refrigerator because I told them not to bother if it got later than 10. That was a problem but otherwise a nice hotel. I would have been ticked at the price if I hadn't received a corporate discount. It wasn't 3 times nicer and you paid a $25 resort fee on top of everything else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I cannot fault this place.
Nothing about his hotel was disappointing.
Orlando is a weird place - really a series of hotels linked by gold courses, lagoons and theme parks. But if you're a conference goer (as I was) or a golfer or a theme park attendee, you needn't look further for a perfect hotel.
The place is luxe but not stuffy. The staff was efficient but never officious.
There are HEAPS of things to do - for business travellers and holiday makers alike. Local theme parks, golf courses and shopping malls provide all the fun of the fair and if you're lucky, as I was, you can take the short drive to NASA's famous Kennedy Space Centre at Cape Carnaveral on a launch day.
Of course if you don't want to leave the hotel, there’s plenty of fun including an enormous, meandering swimming pool, bars, gymnasium and local wildlife walks (be careful, there really are alligators in those ponds!).
The rooms were beautiful - well appointed, clean and very comfortable.
One thing that rally stood out: there was always someone, in the background, attending to the fabric of the hotel. Maybe it was a person painting a wall or repairing a garden path. But it was never obtrusive. Rather it demonstrated to me that this place was proud of itself and assured enough not to hide its attention to detail.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the very knowledgeable and super helpful concierge staff: what they don't know...
See more room tips
Green Features: JWM also participates in a terrific program called Clean The World which takes and recycles unused portions of the shampoos, conditioners and soaps we leave behind and distributes them - all re-sanitized in recycled packaging - to needy people throughout the world. Clean hands = fewer diseases.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful Marriott property and the fact it is connected to the Ritz-Carlton by a fantastic spa and fitness center is wonderful. The pool area is nice with a large lazy river throughout the outside area. There are also several bars outside and they serve food which is nice. The rooms are really average and comparable to other Marriott resorts with the exception of the bathrooms which seem a bit larger than average... separate glass shower, large soaking tub, huge double sinks. The hotel itself is best suited for adults or business conferences which is why I would not bring my family here. There is very little for kids to do here and the restaurants are not family friendly. In fact a huge part of the lobby level is a large, extensive bar/lounge. I would say this hotel is good for an adult trip or business travel but not for families visiting Disney.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the golf course and pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel lobby, as soon as you walk in, you know it's going to be a great stay. Even the scent in the air smells of high end flavors. Every single employee goes above and beyond in their service. We stayed during the busy week of July 4th but the service never took a dip the whole time. We also spent some time over at the Ritz and we thought the JW was far nicer.

Room Tip: Looking back, I wish we had upgraded to the pool/lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,000 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#51 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#43 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing