We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing short of wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #66 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
303 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nothing short of wonderful”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We got here on our anniversary weekend, around 1:15 am. Tired, ready to get to our room and ready for a great weekend, Jordan meet us at the front desk. His attention to detail and making sure our weekend was great, was much appreciated.

The facility is well taken care of, the pool(s) are really nice and we never found a staff member without a smile and kind word.

Drink prices are "resort" prices so be ready. Food is very good and there is a Starbucks on site. Ask for a pool view, high floor, as that let's you look at the Disney properties.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, pool view and up on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaDawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    837
    261
    100
    64
See reviews for
1,110
492
75
951
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Loved loved our stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and quiet. Staff was excellent. We used self-park and everytime we pulled up to the hotel to just drop off, a bellhop came RUNNING to see if we needed help. We couldn't find a bag after we had checked out and they sent a team of people to scour our room and restaurant for us. Ate at Citron and Quench -- food was really good and waitstaff so friendly; also great with kids' cups and kids' needs in general (i.e. Mickey pancakes!).

Best part ... the pool!!! Having multiple pools connected by a lazy river and covered with lush greenery was amazing. It never felt crowded, there was plenty of "pool-side" seating, and the kids loved going around and around and around the lazy river. One of the pools was zero-entry, perfect for the little ones.

Close to the airport, Disney World, Universal. Was even able to make a trip to Legoland. Also super close to great restaurants on International Drive. Will definitely stay there again when we are in Orlando.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bklynem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 times and we really love it. The suites are great and the restaurants rock with gluten free foods that I can eat. In our first stays the pool bar was very accumulating to have both gluten free beer and food to eat. But this trip the pool said sorry the hotel doesn't have any gluten free food at the pool and to go inside to get it....wait you have offered in the past...and your not busy at all. Thanks.
The other issues was the birds and squirrels stealing food and causing a real pain in the... I would think a JW Marriott like this would have. A plan to control them or at least replace the food stolen by them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SkyFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For a city known for conferences and hotels, this is the best place that I have seen. The property is beautiful and large enough that you don't feel trapped (as often is the case). The restaurants are very good, but are not cheap. However, that is typical for most resort hotels, and there are an abundance of other places off property available. Plenty of things to do -- golf, great pool, water sports, spa.

If I had a criticism, it would be the resort fee and parking fee, which, thankfully, my group negotiated around. Absent that, the room cost would have been out of reach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family tends to rate our vacation hiotels based on the pool(s) and lazy rivers found there. The one at the J.W. Marriott was, by far, the best we've found. It's big, beutiful, very clean and lots of fun. The hotel lobby is gorgeous with marble everywhere. Lots of great restaurant choices - and easy access to the Ritz-Carlton right next door. We stayed there also but preferred the J.W> Marriott because of the fantastic pool (you can use the facilities at both hotels when you're a guest of either one).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MacDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in the timeshares, huge villa just behind the hotel. The timeshares had their own wonderful pool and we could use the hotel's. The place was perfect, the pools extravagant, the food was great, the units impeccable. I also liked that there are several hotels within the complex and they are connected with a walkway, making for great early morning strolls.

Room Tip: Get a villa. It is more than a hotel room, but if you need two rooms because of kids, this will save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBBostonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This year was our 3rd and last time at the JW Marriott. The hotel is the same, the room was the same, the service was the same. What has changed? Finally, what many of the other reviews stated, the prices.

In 2014, a $25 a day resort fee was applied. I asked if we still needed to pay it even if we were only using the pool and the answer was yes. So on top of the $19 a day parking fee, the food prices on the property, we are now being charged another fee.

We also ordered room service, which we do once in awhile for a late night snack. On top of the price of the food, there was a 22% charge(?) and another $3 or $4 delivery charge. So for wings and a salad and one drink, we spent $60.

We are not tight with money when it comes to vacation and this property and pool are very nice. I just can't wrap my head around all the charges for a Marriott?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Front Desk Supervisor at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused. Your feedback is very important to us, as it is only through the lens of our customer that we are able to further improve the overall guest experience. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing