We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monumental MovieLand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Floridian Express(Orlando)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosen Inn(Orlando)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveller rating
226
531
418
207
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
531
418
207
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack angusuniversal studioson i driveroom was cleaned dailymin walkcleaned every dayi ride trolleyfree shuttlecoffee machinewalgreensmicrowaveihoptimeshare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ideally located at International drive across from Wet 'n Wild and within walking distance of Universal Studios and Island of Adventure. Sea World and Aquatica parks are easily reachable with the I-Ride trolley (make sure to buy a multi-day pass).
Disney parks are at 15 minutes driving distance via I-4.
Ironing board, iron, coffee maker, safe, flat screen tv and small refrigirator available without any extra cost.
Very good price / quality ratio. If you are planning to spend your holidays in your hotel room or at the bar then you might want to choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EddyDB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was really not a bad hotel. If you are looking for something in this hotel's price range, this one is far better than most of the others. I would recommend it. If you're worried, don't worry! It IS right across from Wet & Wild though and in a heavy traffic area, so if you're looking to avoid that, I wouldn't stay here. It does have a Black Angus steakhouse restaurant attached and it was very good. DON'T get the flaming onion rings though. They just taste like lighter fluid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband booked this hotel through Hotels.com. He asked for Monumental Hotel but didn't pay attention and we ended up here. Please know that I am not one to degrade a business for nuances, but this is the absolute worst hotel experience I have had in 20 years of traveling. Cheap? Yes. Why? It's horrific.

Room: our breath was literally almost taken away by the scent of wintergreen when we opened the door; it was that overwhelming. We propped door open while we called Hotels.com to inquire about switching once we discovered that we were at the "movieland". No dice there so we sucked it up for the one night. The two double beds appeared to be set up queen wood foundations or something. The box springs were set diagonal to the frame to keep them on the frame. My daughter had her shoes off for less than five minutes when I noticed her socks were brown. I turned down both beds and the linens did appear clean (we always remove comforters). The pillows were very small, lumpy, and fairly worthless (according to my 12 year old). The mini fridge did not cool. The hair dryer did work. Husband went for ice at four different machines (all broken) only to return to room to call front desk. Front desk stated "sorry, should have told you at check in, you have to get ice from front desk." Inconvenient? Yes. Life shattering? No.

Parking lot: approximately 2300, folks were setting off fireworks about 50 feet from our vehicle. We called front desk to no avail.

Location: convenient for the parks very close by, but difficult to see from the road after dark. We did not feel secure.

Asides: we found the "air freshener" and disabled it then went to the CVS down the street and purchased coffee and disposable cups and set fresh coffee around the room about every five feet to soak up the smell. All four of us still awoke with a headache. The windows do not open at all to allow airflow.

There were multiple plug extenders to allow for the bedside lamp, alarm clock, etc. these are absolutely unsafe and I believe forbidden to use in commercial properties.

Room Tip: My advice would be to choose another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radteck96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I picked this hotel because of its location being right across from the gate at wet n wild. After staying here one night, this will be my future hotel for any more overnight stays when going to the waterpark. Literally has a nice crosswalk that stops traffic when you push the button and closer than wet n wild's parking lot and saved $12 a day vs paying the waterpark for parking. I live in SW florida so its only a 3 hour trip up here. Called the hotel and said no problem getting a parking pass being that I was checking in later that day.

Now for the hotel. It used to be a best western and it is an older hotel but was decently reviewed here. Booked a double room since I was staying with my brother. Had inside hallways which some people prefer and even though there was a lot of things one could nitpick about the hotel, the room was VERY clean, smelled clean (no smoke smell), sheets and comforter were clean and the room stayed nice and cool. From the lobby, there was a hallway directly into the restaurant next door with the $3.89 buffet breakfast. Even though it was very convenient and had good bacon and pancakes, I probably would go elsewhere for breakfast next time.

Room Tip: all the rooms do not have balconies even though it appears that some do
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robsnyder20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We ended up staying at this hotel through Expedia's secret hotel deal, whereby you choose a general location and star rating, and pay before finding out what you had booked. The hotel was easy to find, being right on International Drive, and upon arrival, check-in was quick and easy, and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the third floor, and when walking to the room I felt as if the hotel could do with a bit of renewal; the carpets in the hallways seemed old and sticky, and the lifts smelt a little odd. The room we had smelt musty when we first walked in, and a few things didn't work or were not plugged in. It seemed as if the room may not have been used for a while. Otherwise it seemed clean; the bathroom was clean and had fresh towels and toiletries. The air con was working well and the room was nice and cool. We only ended up staying in this room for one night though, as we found a cockroach on the second day. The reception staff were very apologetic and moved us to an alternative room immediately. It was much the same as the previous one, although seemed to be in slightly better condition. We did not see any other creepy crawlies during the rest of our stay, which was good, and the room was cleaned daily. As other people have mentioned, the rooms seem to suffer with damp, and we had to have the dehumidifier on a lot during our stay to make the room bearable. The only problem being that it was very loud, so we had to turn it off at night in order to sleep.

The hotel is well located on International Drive, directly opposite Wet n Wild and within walking distance of Universal Studios. One evening we got a cab back from Universal, and it cost $6. There are shops like Walgreen nearby, and bars and restaurants also within walking distance. The car park is huge and we always had our pick of spaces.

The hotel was fine for what we wanted, which was a place to sleep in between visiting the many attractions of Orlando. We were not looking for a hotel to spend any prolonged periods of time, so it was fine for us. It is in an excellent location, and the staff were great. I would consider staying here again, as it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Any room not on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st3w4rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews