We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, underwhelmed ”

Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show
Ranked #23 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Orlando
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Disney's Spirit of Aloha Dinner Show is an all-you-care-to-eat, family-style luau featuring hula dancing and a fire-knife performer at Disney's Polynesian Resort.Situated on the Seven Seas Lagoon, the open-air covered dining theater provides a comfortable setting for authentic music and dances, with beautiful costumes, irresistable rhythms and the show-stopping fire-knife dance! The many nations of the South Pacific unite in an evening of spellbinding magic that tells the tale of a native girl returning to her people and her traditions.You'll almost believe you've been transplanted to the tropics as you and your loved ones share platters of authentic foods such as barbequed pork ribs, roast chicken, fresh pineapple, salad with mango poppy seed dressing garnished with Mandarin oranges, Polynesian-style rice and seasonal vegetables. Save room for the chocolate ""mouse"" volcano! (Parents of finicky little ones, fear not: There's a limited children's menu). Beer, wine and soft drinks are included for Guests 21 years of age or older (picture ID required). Celebrations are acknowledged in the show.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underwhelmed ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Our party comprised of three adults and a 4.5 yr old. The food was average. It was family style. If you have a picky eater, order from the kid's menu. The wait staff was very nice and accommodating. My dad can't eat pineapples so they brought him a different dessert. Speaking of dessert, the bread pudding was my favorite part of the meal. The show itself is the biggest let down of the evening. It was way too long. We ended up leaving during the second act because my son fell asleep at the table. Too long after a long park day. The acting and storyline was cheesy. The first act was a complete waste of time. What people want to see are the authentic dances and fire dancers. Why prolong it? Cater to your audience. It was very much a disappointment to the Disney standard we experienced everywhere else we went and too expensive for the amateur level of entertainment offered. A big let down!

Helpful?
4 Thank Preciosabeleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    214
    135
    96
    58
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 2nd time seeing the show, the last time was 6 years ago. Never have I in my last 5 visits to Disney in 10 years experienced a rude employee until today. Viola, our server, was flat out rude. She clearly had better things to do than be at work. She actually rolled her eyes at my daughter who ordered a kiddie cocktail. She also didn't explain to our table nor the one next to us that the $15 drink we were ordering would not be served in the commemorative coconut cup that was part of the price, apparently they no longer are served in those even though listed on the menu. Instead we brought home a cheap plastic glass.

The show was boring aside from the flame thrower and dancers.

As a few previous posters noted, we were hearded into one area then those of us that already had confirmed seating were brought back up the stairs and re-directed. It was disorganized.

The food was not great. My husband said the ribs were not edible. The other items were ok, not great. The white rice was stiff. Kids pizza wasn't great either.

For $300 for 4 people, this just wasn't worth the money.


Would have enjoyed it more with less cheesy "storyline" and more dancing & flame throwing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherlmhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun family dinner show”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This luau is located at Disney's Polynesian Resort. The show itself is a little cheesy due to the storyline; but, it is Disney after all. I found the second half of the show most entertaining because the dancers performs dances from different parts of Polynesia and the Pacific islands.

The food was pretty good, and everything is served family style on one large dish to share. I really liked the appetizer plate which included a salad with a yummy dressing, an Asian noodle dish, and coconut/pineapple bread. The pulled pork and ribs on the dinner plate were also good. The dessert was a bread pudding and it was AMAZING, so save room for plenty of that!

One warning: do not order the Fire Punch! It was definitely all alcohol and not in a good way. I took a couple of sips and couldn't finish it. Instead, I switched to the sangria, which was free with the meal!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank missarahbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The good:
You will probably enjoy this, even if you've been to traditional luaus in Hawaii, just don't expect a top notch show or food like you would get in Hawaii. The food was good...pulled pork, chicken, & ribs, served family style and all you can eat. First course was salad, pineapple, Hawaiian slaw, and a cold noodle salad. Dessert was a delicious pineapple bread pudding. Our whole party enjoyed the meal. Beer, wine, sangria, and sodas are included with the meal. Other cocktails like piña coladas & Mai tais (yuck...too sweet) are available for an extra charge.

The second part of the show was very good...traditional South Pacific dancing, including a fire show. They featured dances from Hawaii, Tahiti, Fiji, and other islands, which was pretty authentic.

Service was good. Our server was very friendly & nice and took good care of us, bringing us more food when the serving dishes were empty. Our friends and their teenage daughters, who had never been to a luau really enjoyed dinner and the show.

The bad:
The first part of the show was very long & drug out. An auntie and her family doing a cheesey comedy/story and Disneyesque dances. Would've just liked the traditional dancing and skip this boring part.

"Greeters" on the way in weren't very friendly or welcoming, and one of the ladies was actually quite grouchy! The lines on the way in seemed very disorganized. You gave them your tickets and then were shuttled to another line, only to find out after waiting, dripping in the heat, that it was a line for a photo on the way in. There should be a choice after you check in...photo or no photo. Make sure that you ask about the line you are being shuttled into and if you don't want the photo opp, let them know you want to move in. You can get great photos on their beach with the Grand Floridian in the background after the show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun show and good food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

In true Disney fashion, service was great. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with leis. The staff quickly checked us in and directed us towards the show area. They advised us that the if the weather further deteriorated the show would be cancelled and we would receive a refund.
The walk out to the show was uncovered which proved to be a problem when it began to drizzle. Bring an umbrella because before the show you stand outside. Once inside the hut things were fine. Seating was comfortable and the appetizers were on the table.
Dinner was served soon after being seated. The meal is family style and offered several choices, barbecue ribs and chicken , pulled pork, and stem veggies - all delicious. My mom wanted something lighter and chose the mahi mahi. Desert was a coconut and pineapple bread pudding - yummy. The coffee was weak but no big deal.
The show was interactive and fun. My son and I did a little birthday dance.
Overall we enjoyed the entire evening and would recommend the dinner show.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing