We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Ranked #44 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“YUCK!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We returned two days ago from our family trip (kids ages 12 & 10), and although we had a wonderful time, the hotel was the lowest point.

Pros: It is an incredibly easy walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios.

Cons:
* Service is rude! Our plane was delayed and we checked in at 11:15pm. The woman checking us in never smiled once. The bellhop happily took our luggage from our taxi, but then we did not see our luggage until midnight. All we wanted to do was go to bed, but had to sit waiting for our luggage. The lobby was empty when we arrived and there were two bellhops inside as well as the gentleman that took our luggage, so there was plenty of staff on hand. I called the bellhop station three times, but they never answered. I called the front desk twice explaining that they were not answering the phone and they transfered me back to the bellhop station! What the heck - from the front desk you CAN SEE THE BELLHOP STATION, why wouldn't anyone at the front desk help us! The next night, my daughter was in the bathtub and my son was in the shower and the fire alarms in our room went off (and they are LOUD). The kids came bolting from the bathroom. We called the front desk and they said they would send maintenance. We waited 10 minutes (sitting the the hall in our pajamas) then called again and waited some more. Two woman literally meandered down the hall, fixed it (it was a low battery), and then walked out saying good night. No apology for the long wait or for inconvenience of sitting in the hallway. Nice. Each evening, my kids would run in to see the towel configuration left by housekeeping - there never was one. We have been to Animal Kingdom Lodge and Bay Lake Towers and they always have adorable Disney shapes in the towels - silly, but the kids love it. Another let down.
* I read the reviews & I do not see how anyone could think these rooms are nice. The bedspread was itchy and dated, the hotel room furnishings were not boardwalk "quaint", but simply old. The bathroom area with the bathtub has no door - very awkward. The rooms was not spacious at all - if you wanted to use the dining room table (seats 4), you had to move it away from the wall, move the two chairs from the kitchen counter bar area, and then the table completely blocked your path to the bedroom and bathroom.
* We packed lightly because we had a washer and dryer in our villa. The dryer took 3 cycles to dry anything so more than once we had to wear something still damp or something we had already worn - either choice is gross. I WILL say that the bathrooms were clean and not dingy at all - but that is all I will say positive about this place.
* The pool area is so cheesy, it is almost comical. Again, not quaint, just cheap looking.
* I also read the reviews that the rooms are far from the lobby, so I requested a room close to the lobby (even though I did not see why this was a big deal). We were NOT close to the lobby at all and the walk was ridiculously far away, and with access to everything near the lobby, it felt like we spent more time walking the long hallway than walking the parks. The hallway is long, narrow, and in real need of some fresh carpet. The reviews are not kidding - it is a LONG walk - and we were not even the farthest away.

We were so impressed with the customer service at Animal Kingdom Lodge and the great 1 BR villa at Bay Lake Towers - The Boardwalk Inn villas should NOT be considered a "Luxury" Disney Hotel. We paid a lot of money for our 1 BR villa, and I would have rather stayed in a one room hotel.

Two Thumbs Down!

Room Tip: Requesting a room close to the lobby did not work for us. If this is important to you, be sure to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tereas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    398
    91
    47
    30
See reviews for
810
259
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at multiple Disney properties (deluxe, moderate, and value) and loved this location the best. Have stayed at beach club too which is great, but this side is more fun and more going on, pool is also less crowed then BC. 5min walk to Epcot And 10 to Hollywood studios. Stayed in villa with a balcony over looking boardwalk, great for pre teen and teenagers. Definitely preferr over magic kingdom resorts bc of location. Room was very nice with a kitchenette, refrig and microwave. Great for breakfast and making snacks or sandwhiches. Very nice to sit and watch Epcot fireworks on the balcony each night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an early June stay at The Boardwalk. We are DVC members and have stayed at many other Disney properties, but this was our first visit here. Service from the time we arrived to the time we left was excellent. Location is everything with this resort. If you plan on going to Epcot or Hollywood Studios this is your place. Food options are much better than the usual Disney fare. Plenty to do and see without even leaving the resort. Rooms were clean although could be spruced up a bit. Getting a bit worn. Only negative was the never ending hallway others have referred to. Get ready to do some walking if your room is down towards the community center. Overall a great stay and would come again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo at the Boardwalk Villas for 5 nights in May. It's basically a one-bedroom attached to a studio. We are a family of 5, but it could easily sleep 8. The villas looks like it was recently renovated with newer furniture, drapes and bedding. The pull-out couches are the new ones that just pop right open with new memory foam mattresses. The kids said they were the most comfortable pull-outs they have ever slept on.

The location was great to get to Epcot (5-minute walk) and a 20-minute boat ride to Hollywood Studios. You can actually get off at the Swan/Dolphin for the first boat stop, walk across the bridge and beat the boat back to Boardwalk. The buses to Animal Kingdom and Magic Kingdom take a little longer, but having the extra space for our family was worth the farther distance to these parks.

Overall the resort is beautiful, you definitely feel like you're in a Deluxe resort. There are several sit-down restaurants, including an ESPN Zone. But like other reviews state, there isn't a good cafeteria style quick service restaurant. The bakery is the closest thing and the service there was slow and selection was limited.

The kids loved the pool and the waterside. There was poolside activities in the afternoon, which was nice for the parents to enjoy a drink from the bar and relax a little.

We would definitely stay here again. Ask for a villa or room near transportation, we had quick access to the busses and boat dock and it was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTyChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I believe the hotel needs to be at least good for a vacation to be perfect and BoardWalk Villas was awesome.
We were at Disney during the week of May 26-June 1 and stayed at BoardWalk Villas after a friend recommended it to us. There were no lines at check in. The one bedroom villa was perfect size, decent size kitchen and awesome bathroom(+ closet). The king bed was super comfortable and even the sofa bed felt like a real bed. The kitchen had all the basics and all the utensils were clean.
BoardWalk is very close to Magic Kingdom and they have buses every 15-20 mins. We did not have a problem waiting for a bus. It is walkable distance to epcot (to a side entrance). It is a bit of a bus ride to Animal Kingdom (30 mins including couple of stops). Decent boat ride to Hollywood Studios.
The pool is good and was never crowded but I found the life guards to be rude (all other hotel staff were very nice).

About us - Husband, Wifey, Kid 1 (3 years) and Kid 2 (1 year)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Came back to the Boardwalk Villas after taking a few years off and staying at other Disney Vacation Club Resorts. It is just as terrific to stay at now as it was then .. And with the improved Bakery on the Boardwalk it is even better! The convenience of being able to walk to 2 of the 4 major theme parks of Disney World (Hollywood Studios, EPCOT) is a huge BONUS! Also the ease of walking to 4 other major Disney hotels for dining is great also!

Room Tip: Rooms around the quieter non main themed pool are great as well as rooms that face the canal between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedminsterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for just a few days following a business trip and it was perfect. Having visited Disney World many times in my life, and having stayed mainly on property - this had to be one of my favorite experiences. The rooms are clean, a great size and had small kitchens as well as laundry facilities in the room. The service was... as always up to Disney standards. The benefit of this location over some of the others for me was the ability to walk a short distance to a back entrance of Epcot. Throughout this resort there are many activities for every type of traveler. We were a party of 4 adults and we found nice quiet places to talk and have a cocktail; as well as some amazing food. Breakfast at Cat Cora's Kouzzina restaurant was a real treat - definitely a must. (We will be booking our next Disney trip here!)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk from the main lobby - if you have issues with that be sure to brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#66 of 339 in Orlando
1,703 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
0.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#99 of 339 in Orlando
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
0.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's BoardWalk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Property: Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Address: 2101 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8442
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's BoardWalk Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless elegance meets old-fashioned charm at this waterfront Resort hotel. Delight in saltwater taffy-colored cottages, private courtyards and picturesque gardens-plus the ragtime sounds and carnival pastimes of the exciting Coney Island-style boardwalk. Reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Atlantic City, Disney's BoardWalk Villas is located within walking distance to both Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's BoardWalk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Boardwalk Villas Hotel Orlando
Disney Boardwalk Hotel
Disneys Boardwalk Hotel
Disney Boardwalk Villas
Disney's BoardWalk Villas Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing