We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Ranked #40 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Boardwalk Villas in June 2009. We booked a standard studio room. When we arrived it was raining so we just did the valet parking. Check in was fast and our room was ready. We were on a high floor facing the Luna Park Pool. The pool was open to midnight, so it was a bit noisy until midnight. We also had a view of Hollywood Studios. Our room was in the building with the Boardwalk Villas side and the walk from the elevator was long.
The room itself was nice. It could sleep two adults and two small children. The only problem is that we had a connecting door to the one-bedroom condo (I think) and when they came in at 2 a.m. they woke us the first night. They supply paper plates and bowls along with plastic silverware. Small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker dish towel and dish soap. We were only eating breakfast in the room and going out to dinner so we did not need to cook. Nice big vanity area, bathroom was kind of on the small side. Little foyer in the entrance (which was great for leaving your keys and such), closet next to the vanity, long but narrow. The room is starting to show its age a little, but that is okay because we like the convenience of staying at one of the Disney Resorts. No DVD player in the studios and the TV was old. Bed was comfortable and so was the sofa to sit and read on or watch TV. Cute little balcony, we watched the people below while were enjoying a couple of glasses of wine. There was a list of prices for extra things and I was a little confused about it, maybe it was for people that are DVC owners or people staying longer, but there were some extra charges such as extra cleaning, towels and such. We had our room cleaned during our stay and new towels (which we did not ask for) and no extra charge. Internet is extra for non DVC members (which we are not).
Now to the resort! We took the shuttle boat over to Hollywood Studios and enjoyed the ride (we have stayed at the Dolphin and Swan and love the boat ride to Epcot and HS). Transportation to the other parks was by bus, which we did not do so I can not comment on them. We ate at Spoodles and Flying Fish Café; I highly recommend both of them (make sure to make your reservations). There is a small general store on the boardwalk where you can purchase things for the villa. We stopped into the Belle Vue Lounge for drinks before dinner one night, cute little bar. Since we were staying at the Boardwalk Villas for the first time, we decided to go spend the night at Jellyrolls and Atlantic Dance. Jellyrolls have a cover, but Atlantic Dance is free. We had a blast at both places.
As for the pool, we never got to use it because by the time we got back from HS it was raining, but it looks like fun. There is a quiet pool around the corner from the activity center.
Next time we are going to rent bikes. We just really enjoyed the old Atlantic City feeling of the boardwalk with games, yummy desserts and nightly entertainment. Don’t forget that the ESPN zone is there for watching your sports (we did that during the playoffs in January, but get there early for football games so you can get a table around the bar area).
We also did the character breakfast dining at the Cape May which was great. Minnie, Donald and Goofy were dressed in old fashion bathing suits.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

We all loved the Boardwalk Villas, we had a room overlooking the main themed pool area which was very lively but adds to the excitement of being in the middle of all sorts. We ate at all the food establishments along the Boardwalk, none were below par neither was the mini golf which was just a five minute walk away. We got to see the fireworks from Epcot every night and enjoyed a few chill out and watch the world go by seesions on the beach on the opposite side of the lake.
My kids particularly enjoyed the nightly entertainment on the Boardwalk, which encouraged them to go out on an evening rather than staying in the pool which they loved!
Overall a great place (not too quiet) but exciting enough for young children with comfy clean rooms and a good chioce of eating venues. My 10 year old andI really loved the chicken tenders from the kiosk on the boardwalk and oh what would I give for a Key Lime Pie from the bakery right now...yummeeeee!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotherRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We reserved a 1-BR suite through Interval. All Disney resorts charge a $95 fee for guest services - transportation to/from airport, meal reservation, etc. Would be a good deal just for the bus and baggage service to/from airport to hotel. Unfortunately, this service is only available on the days you check in and out of the resort which didn't work for us since we were visiting relatives out of town, a day before and after our stay, and if you call at least 3 days in advance for them to mail your tags. We arrived at the hotel close to noon and made it to our room after 2 hours wait. The bedroom (with walk-in closet) was average size, kitchen tight and bathroom was pretty spacious (but dated). We walked through the restaurants around the Boardwalk but found them uninteresting and overpriced. We settled in the nearby Westin's Swan Hotel $31 seafood buffet (they had crab legs which was well worth it and service was great!). Maid service came in mid-week to remove trash and nothing else. Found this location to be convenient with more travel options to Disney parks. Considering this was our first Disney resort visit, I would say that this resort is overrated. (Also had family staying at Old Key West Resort and have the same opinion.)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

It was the best trip we have ever done.I had sooo much fun,we were in a three bedroom, with a huge bathtub, tons of space, and the pool was awesome.I've never had more fun!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYreview_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We just got back from spending 3 nights at Disney's BoardWalk Villas. After reading the negative reviews, I was a little worried about what our accomodations would be like. I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is very nice, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Our rooms were spacious and bright. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that had 2 bathrooms, a living area, and a kitchen. It also had a washer and dryer that came in very handy. We had 2 small balconies overlooking the pool area. A view of the boardwalk would be cool if you can get one. The location of the BoardWalk resort is great! The walk to Epcot is very short 5-10 minutes, and you can walk to Hollywood studios in about 20 min. The boat is convenient to take to either place. If you are on the Disney Dining plan and need a snack, there is a sweets store on the boardwalk that has a lot to offer as a snack. You can get an icecream tub or cone, a sundae, a milkshake, a rootbeer float, and several other goodies to pick from. It beats some of the other snacks offered other places. We ate at the ESPN Zone on the boardwalk for one of our table services. This is probably not the best place to eat to get your monies worth if you are on the plan, but the food was good. The menu is limited with the entrees costing below $20.00. The dessert was great though. I got a Bananas foster pie and it was huge and delicious.

As for the negatives, I would say the pool area looks fun for small children, but does need a face lift. It was hard to find a lounge chair too. The slide was fun for the kids, but the seams in the slide hurt as you were going down it. The snack place at the pool does not accept the disney dining plan.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider staying there again, but I think I would want a different pool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed over 3 day weekend Feb 27 through Mar 1st, 2009 with a 4 year old and spouse. First use of Disney Vacation Club, so unknown hotel cost, but we compared price value versus point usage and this was the second-best value (best value was full). We stayed on the main floor but never heard any foot traffic and had balcony view of the pool; Studio sized room.
We were very busy with the parks and didn't spend all that much time with the room. The room seemed a little bit old fashioned but the only problem that we noticed was that the main sink didn't drain very fast. The shower, bathroom, hair dryer, fridge, alarm clock and TV worked fine. The room was decently lit, and was clean.
They had a small grocery store on site so we didn't have to worry about getting non-restaurant type food.
The resort buses were timely (we had heard of problems on web sites but didn't see any) to the parks.
It got too cold for use to use the pool. Note the pool opens at 10:00 am and check out is 11:00 am with no extensions.
We went to Spoodles (on site restaurant) for dinner one night and breakfast one morning and it was enjoyable.
All of the staff were very very pleasant. The only staff shortage that we noticed was when we were the first one in line for the concierge desk one morning and a long line started behind us, and we only saw one person to help all of these people.
The hotel is nice in that it is in walking distance (5 minutes) to the back entrance to Epcot and we were able to make use of a morning magic hour and an evening of magic hours.
We also walked across to the Yacht and Beach Club for breakfast with Goofy, Donald and Minnie (we had to book this many weeks in advance though) one morning (also a 5 minute walk).

Regarding the Disney World park itself:
I cannot imagine anybody staying here without planning on going to one of the Disney World Parks and not take advantage of their (especially morning) magic hours; this place as well as the other Disney hotels aren't good stand-alone places due to the overall cost of things here (which are high).
We were very surprised how busy it was at Disney World this late Feb weekend; apparently it was an ESPN weekend but compared to other weekends at this time of year (when we have been here) it was very busy. No evidence of a recession here!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom villa, and primarily chose this property because of its location. The rack rate for our room was approximately $600 per night, though we actually paid less by using points rented from a DVC member. At those prices, we expected the room to be spacious, clean, and comfortable, the amenities to be plenty, and the service to be top-notch. Unfortunately, only some of these expectations were met.

First the positive:

The property itself was quite nice, with the boardwalk being even more entertaining that we expected. The location was ideal, a very short walk from Epcot, and a short boat ride from Hollywood Studios. Boats seemed to be available quite frequently, and we never waited more than 5 minutes for a vessel to arrive. The room was spacious and quite comfortable, and the amenities provided in the room were as advertised.

Now the not so positive:

Overall, the service at the hotel was awful, and it was't until we decided to stop relying on hotel staff for any support that we began to truly enjoy our visit.

Some examples: upon arrival, we pulled into the valet area to unload luggage and check-in. Though there were several bellmen available, none seemed interested in providing any assistance, despite our numerous attempts to request some help. After approximately 10 minutes, one finally offered to assist, but only after we had fully unloaded our belongings onto the curb.

Check-in was quick and easy, but when we arrived in our room (at approximately 4:30 PM, well after the designated check-in time), we discovered that it had not been cleaned. The prior guests' food, soiled linens, and other trash littered the room. We immediately contacted the front desk to inform them of the problem. Astonishingly, the response was that no other rooms were available, and that housekeeping would get to it when they could. After approximately 30 minutes, someone from housekeeping arrived, armed only with a document noting that the problem was not the fault of the housekeeping staff, but of a front-desk error. That person then left without cleaning the room. A few minutes later, a bellman arrived with our bags, and thankfully he too was appalled by the condition of the room, unloaded our bags into a closet so that they would be out of the way, and immediately contacted housekeeping to rectify the problem. Approximately one hour after being notified of the problem, housekeeping staff finally arrived to clean the room.

Later that same evening, we asked the concierge for directions to the nearest grocery store. The concierge was initially unable to provide any directions at all. A second staff member attempted to provide directions downloaded from Google, and handed me a printout directing me to a grocery store more than 20 miles away in downtown Orlando. Ultimately, another guest was kind enough to provide directions to a grocery store only 3 miles from the hotel. But hotel staff never did provide any helpful assistance.

Upon returning from the grocery store, we again pulled into the valet area to unload groceries, seeking assistance from the bell staff. Unfortunately, we we unable to locate anyone to help. After parking in the guest lot and carrying the groceries into the hotel, we noted that no fewer than 4 bellmen were socializing near the fireplace, with none outside to provide assistance to guests.

At that point, we made the decision not to rely on hotel staff for anything further. And the remainder of the trip was quite enjoyable.

Because of the location, we would probably stay here again, but the level of service provided by this hotel is woefully inadequate, particularly when considering the fact that the rack rate for our room was $600 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jupiter528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#68 of 342 in Orlando
1,734 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's BoardWalk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Address: 2101 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8442
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £335 - £705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's BoardWalk Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless elegance meets old-fashioned charm at this waterfront Resort hotel. Delight in saltwater taffy-colored cottages, private courtyards and picturesque gardens-plus the ragtime sounds and carnival pastimes of the exciting Coney Island-style boardwalk. Reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Atlantic City, Disney's BoardWalk Villas is located within walking distance to both Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Disney's BoardWalk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Boardwalk Villas Hotel Orlando
Disney Boardwalk Hotel
Disneys Boardwalk Hotel
Disney Boardwalk Villas
Disney's BoardWalk Villas Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing