We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property for the Money”
Review of Damai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Damai Resort
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Property for the Money”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For a wonderful full review, please see MRoss849's very detailed review of this property. They hit all the highs and the lows, but I would like to add to it a bit more.

I stayed here with friends from out of state (from the north where they were having a lot of snow) so they were so excited to see such a spacious and beautiful place to stay. Most people are used to hotel rooms, ad this beats even the most spacious hotel room by far. "4" floors, a great pool and a gym. Covered parking for two vehicles at the units ground floor kicked off my glee. It is also lighted and in a gated community for safety. The area is also seemingly "rural" so it is nice and quiet and not a lot of traffic. Nice for walking with the family and nice sleeping!

The downstairs bedroom would be good for a couple as well as the AMAZING master suite as they are larger bedrooms. The master would be good if you also have small children or babies, as it has the room to spare for floor sleeping. It also has a Graco baby bed (Pack-n-Play) for parents with babies to sleep in. Also there is a massive walk-in closet in the master to hold suitcases and clothes and many other things.

Lots of extra towels, pillows, sheets and such as well. And a washer-dryer on the "4rd" floor, outside the master bedroom, but no soap so bring some of your own.

The beds are very soft - like a memory foam of some kind. Like a Beautyrest or Tempurpedic. This is not for everyone, but I bloody LOVED it. My head hit the pillow and I was instantly asleep. It also makes for comfy sleeping with your lover, as it reduces the movement of the bed when the other person moves.It's great.

A Super-WalMart is right by the pick-up site of the keys, so be sure to hit it up when you get your keys.

They had cable in every room with a TV. All flat screen HD TV's as well. No DVD/BluRay player, so bring one if you have a mobile movie binder or small kids who are addicted to movies. Don't forget the HDMI cable for it too!!

I would like to note that there were a few very minor issues, and we did speak to the management company when the keys were handed in, and they stated they would handle them. Some have already been stated in other reviews, but here are the minor issues I found.

The carpets need a good steam cleaning, as they were a bit grubby in some rooms. It would also be nice to have a vacuum cleaner to do spot cleaning for yourself.

They did not have a baking tray, so making garlic bread and tater tots was rough, but there was supposed to be one.

A ceiling fan was out in one of the 3rd floor bedrooms (the floor with 2 small bedrooms). They offered to come fix it the next day, however, we were ok with them fixing it after our stay was completed.

The fridge needed a new water filter and it also may have had a broken ice maker. We bought ice and put it in the freezer and had bottled water so this didn't affect us too much, but we also only stayed like 3 days. This would have been a major issue for a larger family group staying longer.

Overall, this is an amazing value for the size of this place. Very close to Disney and Universal. Don't pass this up!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lewbaby1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Was a very nice modern townhouse. Fit one family of three and another family of five nicely. Lots of room. The pool area was very nice but hot tub stairs could have used a good cleaning. You have to go to the Lake Beuna Vista resort to check in/out but it is quite close. Not sure how long this will be a resort - looks like they might be selling units. Overall, a great place to stay but make sure you have a car. Nothing within walking distance but restaurants and shopping at outlet malls nearby. Only 10mins to parking at Disney; 15-20 to sea world and a bit further to universal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regan130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tupelo, ms
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I think the Damai town homes are awesome! We have stayed here with family(My wife and I, her parents, her brother and his wife, and their two teenagers) and there was plenty of room for all of us. This weekend we stayed at Damai with another couple and they were floored by the property. They visit Disney several times a year and always stay on Disney's properties. Now they want to stay at Damai, because it is cheaper and has soooo much more room.

I don't understand some of the comments in previous reviews. One person said it is "a little off the beaten path". I feel that is misleading because it is literally one turn and 4 minutes from Disney's gates. Outlet malls are 5 minutes away, grocery store 5 minutes. It is located perfectly.

I also don't know about people complaining about the lack of Cable tv. There is cable tv! In every room!

Lastly one reviewer complained about the furniture and beds being uncomfortable. This is not true either. You can read my other reviews and you will see I am picky about beds and this place has comfy beds.

The only complaint I will agree with is that the carpet on the stairs could use some replacing. I think the wrong color of carpet was chosen when they built the town homes and it shows stains really easy.

Listen, if you are a normal person that doesn't pull out a pen and paper as soon as they walk in the door to check off all the problems you could possibly see then you will LOVE this place. Definitely a hidden gem in Orlando.

P.S. the hot tub and pool are awesome as well.

Room Tip: pick up your keys at Lake Buena Vista Resort that is a short drive away from Damai
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaswan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Damai Resort complex comprises 12 4-bedroom tri-level townhouses, a little off the beaten path, but surprisingly close to all the tourist areas. The first floor is the parking area (two cars, adequate but slightly on the cozy side) plus one bedroom with bathroom. The bedroom is spacious, but with only a double bed. The room is a little on the dark side (which I personally like), but some glass blocks allow light in during the day. It's also quiet, except for people walking around on the second (mid-level) floor. The bathroom is rather "cozy", but adequate. The shower is quite small (about 30" x 30", with a corner cut off). A second door allows access to the bathroom from the first floor entry from the parking area.

Carpeted stairs lead to the second floor, which has a roomy living area, a dining area (dining table with six dining spaces (we had only five chairs), and an HD TV, but ours lacked a cable from the cable box to the TV ... so no TV watching for us there. The kitchen has an electric oven and glasstop range, plus a microwave and dishwasher. Management provides dish detergent, paper towels, and an initial supply of coffee ... you'll need to shop for more. We had two provided dish towels, and a washcloth. We like a sponge (with one rough surface) for handwashing dishes, so we bought it. The refrigerator has an ice dispenser. Appliances include a coffee maker, a toaster, and a blender. There are glasses, coffee cups, flatware, cooking utensils, and some minimal cookware. There is also a half-bathroom at the top of the stairs.

Carpeted stairs lead to the upper bedroom area, which comprises two smallish bedrooms and a bathroom. Each bedroom has the same double bed, and each is adequate but a bit cozy. The bathroom is larger than the ground floor, with separate throne room. This bathroom features a tub/shower.

Up half a flight is the penthouse bedroom, with the same double bed, but a bathroom suite that is almost worth fighting over. There is a spacious shower and a separate tub, two vanities, and a separate throne room.

Each bedroom has its own HD TV, with a cable box.

The complex was not built with sound-deadening in mind, so guests need to be mindful of what other members of the party may be sleeping.

Management provides soap and shampoo, but you may want to bring or buy soap if you're staying more than 4-5 days. There are plenty of towels, although there may be one or more that are more luxurious (comparatively) than others. I found the shampoo to be quite satisfactory, but my wife preferred her own.

The hot water supply is inadequate for 5-6 people, and it would be wise to stagger showering. If someone is a heavy-hot-water user, that will likely result in a few lukewarm or even cool showers.

Except for the 1st level, the bedrooms are not dark for sleeping, once sunrise occurs.

Damai is about as close to the Disney area attractions and other activities as you can get, without being in a major hotel. There are all sorts of shopping and dining choices within a few minutes' drive, and I-4 is just over a mile away. Disneyworld is about two miles, although those last two miles can be challenging when there's a crowd. Universal is about a 20 minute drive, again depending on traffic.

The check-in office is a few miles away from the Damai complex.

For the first couple of days of our stay, we were the only occupants. Another family checked in a few days later. Considering the value and proximity to attractions, I found the low occupancy a bit surprising,

I down-rated the complex from 5* to 4* because of the sound deadening from floor to floor, which was only fair, the smallish beds (a queen would fit in all but the ground floor), the missing dining area chair, the missing TV cable (2nd floor), and most importantly the minimally adequate hot water.

Nevertheless, the price was right, the location ideal, and the accommodations quite adequate for a party of 6 who could deal with the comparatively minor distractions. For a family excursion, Damai is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank MRoss849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCompany, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and have relayed your comments to our management team for review. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I do have to say, it's a great place for the price! I mean you're getting really good value for your money! However, there are some things left to be desired for a place that seems to be billing itself as a luxury accommodation... no real cable is really weird for the money you're spending, but it's Orlando - there's plenty to do. And the comments about it not being "that clean" are definitely on point. It's not filthy by any means, but you can tell they don't really "clean, clean" when the cleaning crew comes through. For example: I don't know if the bottom floor had seen a mop in weeks (bottom floor is all tile), and the carpet on the stairs is pretty "worn," like beyond dingy. And there must be some kind of towel shortage in the area because we did not have a full set of towels for each guest (there were five of us), and being that this is a 4-br townhouse, you'd think there would be ample linens, nor bathmats for each of the bathrooms/showers. But still, the place is HUGE! It looks great, feels very home-y, is in a prime location, offers privacy (in terms of for the occupants), has a covered two-car garage, and is relatively inexpensive for the area. There is a really awkward, way too short bar/counter separating the kitchen from the dining area (because of a weird, too-high, step up situation they have going on), but other than that, the design of the place is quite sweet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Another2Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCompany, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed our excellent location, spacious accommodations, and great value. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will choose to book with us again the next time you are visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 4 bedroom villa for 2 weeks whilst visiting the theme parks. Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely return - this place would be hard to match!

Positives - close to parks, shopping etc. Wallmart 5-10 mins drive / Disney10 mins / universal 15 mins. Plenty restaurants etc close too.
- spacious accommodation with TVs in all bedrooms, excellent provision of. Toilets and bathrooms, well equipped kitchen.
- pool area lovely, quiet, plenty of beds etc, AMAZING hottub!!
- gymn accessed by code - looked good / didn't use it!

Negatives - no cleaning service which was fine BUT no cloths or cleaning stuff was provided. A sweeping brush and mop/bucket would have enabled us to keep the floors clean. It seems inefficient for individual guests to purchase cleaning stuff! Also - no placemats.
- there was no safe in our villa - at least, we couldn't find it !
- managers didn't respond to queries - we asked about safe and also the missing information booklet - they promised to send someone round
but no-one appeared.

Overall - the negatives were minor - I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this accommodation !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loujoamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCompany, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review...we are glad the positives outweighed the slight negatives. I'll make sure the management at the hotel are aware of your suggestions for cleaning supplies and placemats. Thank you again for taking the time to review Damai Resort and we look forward to hosting you next time you visit Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Resort look exactly like the pictures on the website. check in and out process was easy. we had to check in at lake buena Vista which is only 5 min from damai. when we got into out room it was very clean. it felt like home. we were able to cook our food for breakfast and dinner. we were less than 5 min from Disney. we did not have to get on the interstate so that was a plus. the only down side was that the light in the downstairs bedroom by the bed did not work and light in the living would not cut off. we told management and it was fix but that was just minor. we spent so much time at Disney and shopping it did not matter. we loved that everything shopping center and Wal-Mart was less than 5 min away as well. we did not have to travel far at all. we loved out place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCompany, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and wanted to share with all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 337 in Orlando
4,197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 337 in Orlando
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
WorldQuest Orlando Resort
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
3.9 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Resort

Property: Damai Resort
Address: 14590 Damai Lane, Orlando, FL 32821
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Damai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing