We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to take the kids back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to take the kids back!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just recently stayed here with our family of five and then our sister and her family and our niece and her family. We had a fantastic time. I really loved the old school feel of this resort from the decor to the oldies music. The pools were huge and fun, we brought our own floats for the lazy river which we didn't feel was a big deal. If you can't bring your own you can purchase them at the resort and the prices were very reasonable.
Our room was clean and roomy. The bathrooms were huge compared to other value resorts. The beds were amazing! So soft and comfy and the pillows were huge.
The food was pricey like ll resorts but was very good! We never encountered any rude staff everyone was always really helpful.
A lot of reviews are comparing this resort to Disney resorts and all I can say to that is this is not a Disney resort so there is no comparison. This is a fun family resort that my family and I enjoyed very much! We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacknMudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,155
    3,453
    1,171
    465
    332
See reviews for
8,560
2,038
154
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this place, the look is very eye pleasing inside and out. Despite looking retro, it was very modern to 2014 standards for sure. It's very well lit at night and theirs security on golf carts so no shady business here. The checkout desk was huge which I loved, no lines. I really liked how all of my party got their own room key with their name on it. The check in/out desk staff were very helpful and explained everything going on and what their is to do when checking in. The pool has a live DJ and at night it's looks great with the different colored lights. The 4-5 bars here are well stocked and have a good variety. The food options here are pretty decent despite being pricy. Everything is super fresh, well seasoned and tasty and not bland theme park food, which I expected at first. Bowling is very decently priced and even though it says your paying per game, it's actually per hour which made us happy after we finished our first round. The Starbucks here is huge and well staffed to handle a line. The arcade is also decently priced for points per dollar, but a lot of the machines were not working or wouldn't read the cards. The universal store here on site has everything you can buy at the theme parks, including stuff from Harry Potter Diagon Alley except for the specialized shops like Gringotts Money Exchange and the Dark Arts store, which surprised me. We stayed in the Family Suite at Thunderbird and the layout was very spacious. The beds are incredibly comfy, including the pull out couch, which has no mattress springs. The TVs here are very modern with HD channels including HBO and apps built in. Theirs a lot of lights and outlets to charge everything. Shuttle busses were very convenient, I counted 5 busses in operation which made it pretty fast to pick you up from the hotel and the parks. Only complaints was the bathroom area is very small but I rather that area be small than the room itself. Also drink prices are outrageous, $3-4 for a bottle soda and $6-8 for beer. Mixed drinks are $15-25. Other than that it's a very nice resort and very affordable with a Annual pass or FL resident discount, making it very competitive to the hundreds of hotels near by. Glad we had a extra day to spend a day at the resort, we had a really fun and relaxing time. They also aren't very strict on the noise level and some of the rules which made it more relaxing. Also everything we asked for was done in a very nice and speedy way.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First time visiting this Hotel.. it was awesome experience.. very clean, staff very friendly... cant wait to go back. We had only booked for one night; however, we ended up staying one additional night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Overall was very good since this is a new hotel. This hotel takes you back in time once you step into the grand lobby. Everything from the amenities to the room, eatery, lobby are all what i expected. What you get for the price is great along with plenty of outlets with usb and wifi. Would definitely come back again now that Wizarding World of Harry Potter: Diagon Alley is open. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is not a 5-star resort. You must understand this. This is a moderate level resort. It's a great place to stay. We were in the Americana tower on the 6th floor. The room decor was nice. Our room was cleaned every day. We had a great view of the IOA.

The Bayline Dinner is a lot better than the food courts at the Disney value hotels. The price of the food is a little high, but you are in a resort. The food cost was still cheaper than eating at the parks. We tried a variety of the food. Everything was had was very good.

The Lazy River was great. My wife doesn't like pools, but she did go in the Lazy River several times. We paid $12 for an inner tub. We used it 4 days, so the cost was worth it to me. I also enjoyed the pool by the towers. My wife read her books while I swam. The pool and Lazy River were never that crowded.

The bus transportation worked great. We never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. The trip to the parks was maybe 5 minutes.

Every employee at the hotel was nice.

I don't trust the reviews that say their rooms weren't cleaned every day. Our room was cleaned all 4 days we were there. You couldn't miss the cleaning crews during the day.

You must remember this is a moderate level hotel. This is what my rating is based upon. This is not a high end 5-star hotel. If that is what you want, then don't stay here.

I will gladly stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Asked for pool side or pool view rooms for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel needs a lot of work! The staff are rude and lazy. Our room was cleaned once in the 5 days we were there ( and we left before 8am and did not return until after 5pm). We had to go to the pool to get new towels to use in the shower. There was a private party ( with the beach boys) that played so loudly we could here the music like it was right outside our room until 11pm one evening. We will never stay here again! The shuttle service was the only good part of this place. The shuttles were great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our property. We would like the opportunity to discuss the details of your experience further. Please contact us at customerservice@cabanabayorlando.com with the best method to contact you and please include your TripAdvisor username in your email.

We look forward to touching base with you soon.

Sincerely,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is the most affordable Universal hotel property. Naturally, this hotel also has fewer amenities than the other Universal properties and is also slightly further away from the park. The "suites" are adequate for up to 6 people, but one or two of them will be sleeping on a sofa bed, because the room only has two regular beds. The bathroom design is well thought out, as one person can be in the shower, while another is in the center area using the second sink and a third can be using the toilet area. The actual commode area is VERY small and tight, however. The shuttle service to Universal's City Walk and theme parks runs every few minutes, so you will have little down time when you leave for the park. A couple of areas where the hotel can and should improve, however. We arrived on July 5th and found parking to be nearly impossible. The rest of the week was not nearly as bad, but it seemed as though the hotel put everyone in the same wing of the very large facility (1800 rooms) which again made parking difficult if you wanted to be anywhere near your room. Another area which should be addressed is the size of the bar/restaurant in the bowling alley. First, there are only 10 lanes, which is problematic if the hotel is busy or if it rains, which it did for several hours 3 of the 6 days we were in Orlando. The bar area only seats 7 or 8 people and there are a few tables for those who ordered food. Not nearly large enough. There is a bar in the lobby as well, but there is no food at this location. There is a cafeteria style restaurant near the lobby, but the food choices are limited and a bit expensive, although that is not a surprise in a hotel restaurant. There are two pool areas and they are very nicely designed. If you are looking for an affordable, convenient hotel to Universal Studios, you should look into this facility, but understand, it is not a high-end hotel. However, your family will also have the benefit of early entry into the Universal theme parks, which is a bonus if you are trying to fight the crowds at Diagon Alley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarge3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
0.8 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
0.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
4,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#18 of 338 in Orlando
7,981 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
7.5 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Property: Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Address: 6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this vibrant, retro-style hotel with family suites, standard rooms and stellar recreation from a cool lazy river and pools to bowling and more. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is in the heart of the excitement at Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing