We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family really enjoyed this trip! Resort was clean and comfortable!! Used bus service to universal and islands of adventure and never waited more than 5 minutes. We enjoyed both pool areas and had no worries since the life guards are on top of it! No negatives!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ja012271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,006
    3,388
    1,150
    452
    324
See reviews for
8,353
2,015
153
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cabana Bay Resort exceeded our expectations. Grounds and rooms are funky, fun & so comfy. Pools and lazy river a hoot! The food very good and reasonable. Shuttle and early entrance to the parks is fantastic. Friendly staff and very helpful. Parking was great and reasonable. Would highly recommend. I have a son who suffers from OCD and cleanliness is a major factor in our travels and we always stay in high end hotels. I was concerned with staying in a moderate hotel but was blown away with how nice the hotel is and hope they can maintain the hotel to the current standards. Will return again as we had a wonderful few days - albeit a day and half less because of flight delays. Please keep up the good work and thank you so much for a much needed vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed from 8-8 thru 8-12. I had booked our trip back in March and was hesitant when I saw some of the negative comments. Needless to say, I am glad that we decided to go ahead and stay. We arrived early on the 8th and were able to immediately check into our room. The rooms were clean and spacious for a family of 3. If you were planning on spending a great deal of time in your room it may be a bit crowded; however, we spent most of the day in the park. Our rooms were cleaned every day by the time we returned from the park. All of the staff we encountered from the front desk to the cleaning service workers were extremely friendly and always greeted us with a smile.
I think it is important to remember that this is a "moderate" hotel so don't expect the luxuries of a 5 star resort. It is also extremely kid friendly so remember that there will be kids all over the place.
Erik Rolfson(sp?) was wonderful. He checked us in upon arrival and explained the easiest way to get to our room. He also remembered checking us in when I went down to inquire about transportation to the airport for the next morning. He was able to tell us what time we would need to leave to be at the airport on time and called to schedule our cab for us.
The pool areas were wonderful, but sadly with all the time we spent in the park we did not have time to enjoy them.
The buses run constantly from 6am-2am and we never waited more than a few minutes for a bus to take us to CityWalk. All the bus drivers were extremely friendly and helpful.
We were in the Americana on the 5th floor and never had any issue with noise from the neighbors or pool.
We are already planning our next trip to Universal and are thinking of staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cjkdtla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The resort itself is beautiful with lots for the family to do. We loved the idea that we never had to leave for anything. When we arrived there was a line to check in. This process took about 20 minutes. The gentleman behind the counter was extemely nice and had a great sense of humor. This was the first time I was told about a fee for parking. We checked in and when trying to get to our parking area we ended up back on I-4. Oops.
The next morning breakfast was a bust. For a nominal amount of money we received cold french toast and chewy waffles. The gentleman at the check out made a comment that my daughter didn't need a donut, which made her completely self conscious and upset. After breakfast we made our way to the lazy river. Where I asked a young guy where we could get a tube. He pointed to a yellow shack and we went to get our tubes. No one was there. We were standing there pushing the help button and the same guy must have been leaving for break, I stopped him to ask what was going on and he said they didn't open till 10. It would have been nice of him to tell me that when I asked so I wasn't standing there with 3 anxious kids. When they did open we found out that tubes were not included we had to buy the tubes.
We made our way over to the pool with the water slide and all of the staff over there were friendly and helpful. The kids loved the slide! (& so did I)
During the afternoon rain we decided to go bowling and have lunch. The staff at the counter was nice and told me someone would be over to our lane to take our order. We had an hour and 1/2 to bowl. We had to look for a staff member to take our order after a 1/2 hr. And I hate to complain about money but that was the most expensive bowling and lunch I have ever paid for!! Needless to say we left the resort for dinner being that I paid the same amount for food and it was much better quality off the resort.
Later that night we headed to the game room which the kids always look forward to. They have 2 kiosks to purchase game cards that can be reloaded. One of the machines were down and the staff seemed overwhelmed. One was very nice and the other was so frustrated she was taking it out on the patrons. Very unprofessional since all the guests even though tired of waiting inline were not unkind to her.
The next day we headed back to the lazy river which we only made one lap around. It was a mess, even my 6yr old wanted out after seeing all the stuff floating around in it ie: band aids, hair ties, and mulch. It seemed that no-one took a skimmer to this river. It might be a good idea for the life guards to have a skimmer to grab the nasties floating by.
For check out I went with the fast check out on the t.v. and it didn't work. Had to call the front desk.
When leaving every car in front of us had a hard time using the exit gate to leave. I snuck out behind the car infront of me after waiting for 4 vehicles to fight with the machine.
Over all the resort is beautiful and we all loved the theme but it could stand to have some training for the staff and better quality of food for the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication about our parking charges and the Lazy River floats when you booked your reservation.
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with our Team Members was less than stellar.

One of our goals is for every guest to feel at home and for their interaction with our Team Members to be both enjoyable and pleasant. We apologize if this was not the case. Please know that through your valuable feedback, we are able to further train our staff on the great customer service we strive to provide to our guests.

We certainly hope your next stay with us is fun and memorable.

Sincerely,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We chose to stay at Cabana Bay Beach Resort for our brief trip to Orlando - it was certainly the right choice to make! The resort is new and everything is so fresh and bright. The decor is gorgeous, even down to the staff uniforms and the retro twist makes it great fun and really different to the usual thing you would get in a hotel. We particularly loved the touch of having the old cars outside the building, we enjoyed looking at those. The music playing throughout the hotel was fabulous and makes you want to bop along!

We had a wheelchair accessible room, it was a little smaller than other rooms we have stayed in and had two beds, which we found a little odd, but we just used one to put the bags on. The bathroom was fine, but the shower wasn't quite accessible. In hindsight it might have been better if we had just had a bigger 'standard room' - had we not arrived at 2am after 24 hours of travel, we might have asked to swap!

The food at the hotel was simple, but good - served canteen style in a huge diner where they show retro cartoons on giant screens 24-7! It was lovely to be able to grab a Starbucks on site too! The Atomic Tonic bar was lots of fun, with delicious cocktails - well worth a visit.

It was great being able to take the shuttle bus to the Parks and we loved the fact that even that was themed accordingly.

Sadly we had such a short stay, we didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool and other hotel features, but we could see them from our room and they did look fun! They also screen a movie which we intended to go along to, but got waylaid at the bar!

We would certainly enjoy staying there again, should we ever return to Universal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilandBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We took advantage of the Florida residents deal to check out the resort and fell in love with the resort. The staff was really friendly and courteous anytime you saw them. We checked in and they gave us a map to help get around. Good thing because it is a large property and good to have. You will have to pay 10 dollars a day for parking, typical for resorts in the Orlando area. Had a standard room with 2 queen beds and it came with a little fridge. Room was more then big enough and very clean. Loved the retro vibe that was done throughout the whole property, the food was good and well priced. We didn't go into the pool but did experience the lazy river and had a good time. You can bring your own raft or rent one from them. They provide towels all around the pool. The beds were vary comfortable and was not wanting to come home to my hard mattress. We can't wait to go back when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re so happy to hear you had a great time at our resort and that you were able to enjoy our amenities, including our Lazy River.
We are excited at the opportunity to be able to provide more wonderful memories for you and your family in the near future.

Have a swell day!

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is by far the best deal for Harry Potter fans, you get early entry and the cool shuttles run frequently and early , for example starting 6am if its a 7am early entry and stay late too, we were easily inline before the Universal doors opened. For the day we needed express we just added that on

Rooms are new and spacious and extra clean, comfy beds, the kitchenettes and fridge are great for drinks or doggy bags and 2 sinks are useful when getting ready in the morning. The lazy river is awesome with eagle eyed lifeguards, the slide in the other pool is equally popular as well as the pools, and thank you for plenty of towels. The food was fine and even had tasty vegetarian options. There is also a Hertz desk although I would suggest reserving beforehand and just pickup.

Minor teething issues, after paying in advance was very disappointed to not even get the room we booked (poolside) as they were full? Had to wait a night to get that room (and were refunded). The cafeteria service was inconsistent, some stations were fast, others were slow, or forgetting orders, ditto check-in

However if you are looking for a great hotel to visit Universal and plan to spend time at Diagon Alley and Hogsmeade look no further

Room Tip: The towers are the newest units, although there is a long walk from high room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hectorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,894 reviews
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 337 in Orlando
2,978 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Property: Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Address: 6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this vibrant, retro-style hotel with family suites, standard rooms and stellar recreation from a cool lazy river and pools to bowling and more. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is in the heart of the excitement at Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing