We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but some small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice but some small issues”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

There are many things to love about this place. The retro look is very cool and the pool areas are great with a water slide, lazy river, and movies at night. The only real issue here is that you have to pay for your tubes to use the lazy river and hence carry them around which can be a hassle. The bowling alley is great but pricey at $12 a game plus additional for shoes, a little pricey. The arcade area has great games with a ticketless system which is convenient not to carry around all the tickets for prizes. The shuttle bus to the parks are timely but very crowded on opening and closing. The lobby staff was excellent but unengaged in other positions. The food court prices are very expensive for average food, $9 for a burger and I would prefer the taste of a Whopper for half the price. The employees working there were very unengaged. The rooms were new and clean but the walls are very thin so you will hear your neighbors if you are trying to sleep in. Overall I would stay here again (just not eat here) because you do get to go into the parks 1 hour early, are close to the parks via shuttle, and have a great pool area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jsilva12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,850
    3,323
    1,126
    443
    309
See reviews for
8,147
1,981
151
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The shuttle to the parks leaves every 10 minutes or so - we never had to wait for our 5 minute ride to or from the parks, so we would use the early admission, spend 5-6 hours, then take an afternoon break back at the hotel pool and lazy river before returning to the park. In this way we had shorter wait lines, and a very enjoyable visit to Universal Theme Parks for our first visit there. The hotel itself with its retro theme is fun, and we were pleased with their services in every way. The mattresses were very comfortable which is important after theme park days! Great place to stay in Orlando!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darlene78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved everything about this hotel! Beautiful, convenient, clean, fun, lots to do if you're taking a break from the parks. Food was really good at the Bayliner. Drink refill cups very worthwhile. Starbucks for a quick breakfast every morning before the parks. Convenient , clean, comfortable buses that came like every 3-4 min to transport back and forth to the parks. Never had to wait. Lived the theme and colors of this hotel! Really fun!! I give it 5+ stars!
Only criticism is that they advertise they have a lazy river, but don't tell you until you arrive that you must purchase an inflatable tube for the river for $7-$12. Everyplace I have stayed before has provided these for you. Also, they allow kids without tubes to swim in the lazy river (when the pool is close by) which is a nuisance and defeats the purpose of a lazy river. Other than that, everything was GREAT!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cabana Bay Beach resort, with my 12 year old son for one week, and I can honestly say I really enjoyed myself. I arrived at the hotel early and I got a room immediately. The room was beautiful and I loved how they welcome you when you turn on the TV in your room. My son loved the pools, in fact that was his favorite part of the entire trip, besides the theme parks. My only two issue were 1) the high priced food at the hotel, they could benefit by having a meal plan as part of your vacation package deal and, 2)they should provide free shuttle service to and from the airport. I am definitely returning back next year and we will be staying at Cabana Bay Beach Resort again!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is very nice option while staying in the area. The price is very reasonable and you have access to Universal Studios and City walk. The classic cars and background music make for a relaxing stay. Pool area, bowling and well equipped gym give you an escape for the summer heat. If your family is able to join you it is a grand slam!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julio2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The only bad thing about this hotel is that it doesn't offer express passes. The staff says it does but the theme park staff says it doesn't. The room was very clean and nice. Starbucks was really good of course. The theme is wonderful. We were planning to go to the lazy river but never got to it. Great hotel. And no bed bugs, i checked lol!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hannah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication about Universal Orlando Express Passes. While we do offer Exclusive Early Park Admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, the added benefit of Express Passes is only offered at our other Deluxe Resorts.

We do hope you get another chance to visit Cabana Bay and have some fun in the Lazy River.

Sincerely,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

GOOD: Beautiful hotel grounds, 2 great swimming pools (one with slide and one with lazy river), cafeteria has good food, movie every night at each pool 8 pm was nice, convenient option to buy souvenir cup and unlimited refills as well as option to add flavor to your regular flavor of pop, STARBUCKS on site!!!, staff was sooooo nice and friendly.
BAD: Not conducive for people who don't eat pork. Bacon and sausage handled with same gloves as veggies and placed next to veggie options. Please don't assume everyone eats pork as many religions prohibit eating pigs.
Very very big resort. We booked on booking.com and were placed in Americana building all the way at the end. So everytime we wanted to get to one of pools or lobby or cafeteria we'd have to walk a mile. And God forbid if we forgot something in room, then we'd have to walk a mile there and back to get it. SO inconvenient and exhausting.
Having to buy tubes for lazy river. Then having to lug around huge tubes while walking around the huge resort a mile to/from your room and lugging them in the cafeteria was not convenient. If you provide a lazy river, you should provide the floats. I had to give away at end of trip of course. I think Loews could afford buying some floats for the customers. Also, keep your eyes on your floaties bec even with my name on them guests attempted stealing them (including adults, yes adults) 2 times.
Would be nice to have a spa/massage area since my feet killed me from all the walking we had to do.
Would be nice to have a fine/middle of the road dining area or at least better than cafeteria style food though the food was good. Fish would be a nice option. Not conducive for vegetarians either.
Even though the dining room sign said open until midnight they often closed at 11pm and ran out of food around that time.
-long check in lines
-tv express checkout did not work
-repeated theft of "do not disturb sign" (4x) so guests staying at hotel could be obnoxious
-middle aged man yelled at me bec my floaty bumped into him (i didn't see him) so again, guests can be annoying and not too classy

Room Tip: Do not stay in Americana. I was in room 6239 and I needed a taxi just to get to my room. Thunderbird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Property: Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Address: 6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this vibrant, retro-style hotel with family suites, standard rooms and stellar recreation from a cool lazy river and pools to bowling and more. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is in the heart of the excitement at Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing