We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok.. but overpriced.”

Jiko - The Cooking Place
Ranked #21 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Jiko – The Cooking Place fuses the bold flavors of traditional African, Indian and Mediterranean cuisine at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge.Twin wood-burning ovens roar and the soothing, warm colors of an African sunset bring energy to this remarkable restaurant. The menu features modern cuisine with an African flair. Delight your palate with dishes that change seasonally, such as braised short ribs, Chermoula-roasted prawns, and Peri Peri roasted chicken, along with conventional favorites. Take a culinary tour of Africa with tantalizing appetizers such as grilled wild boar tenderloin, crispy beef bobotie roll and brick oven-fired flatbreads. Watch the chefs prepare each meal in The Cooking Place, a show kitchen with a rich atmosphere befitting the beauty of this unique restaurant. Jiko also offers 2 tantalizing wine-and-dine experiences: Jiko Wine Dinner Series: Four times a year, Jiko partners with renowned winemakers from South Africa to take you on a culinary journey. The chefs prepare a 6- to 8-course meal carefully designed to complement the unique characteristics of the African terroir. As you dine, the winemakers paint a picture of their vineyards through the taste of their wines—and Jiko's Wine Room transforms into a mixture of flavors, friends, aromas and conversations that go into the night.Jiko Wine Tastings: Every Wednesday, explore the South African wine regions as you taste unique wines paired with artisanal cheese.Whether you're seeking a decadent wine dinner or a vibrant accompaniment to your meal, Jiko offers wine options to suit your style.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok.. but overpriced.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I liked the Braised Beef Short Rib, but I asked without onions and was given onions in my plate. So had to return it then did not come back overcooked. Wondering if it was the same plate that they overheated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SC_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    320
    126
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C. area
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I loved it, my husband disliked it.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My food was delicious and unique, I would give it 5 stars. Well, maybe 4 because it is super expensive. My husband would give it 1 star bc they didn't cook their most popular dish correctly. He ordered filet mignon medium rare and it come out mooing. That's pretty bad when that's one of their specialties. His dessert was a major disappointment as well. My younger son didn't like the flatbread pizza, so he didn't eat at all (but kids are finicky)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyLudVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It is fabulous to find such interesting flavours and food options at Walt Disney World. The hotel and lobby are stunning - the restaurant itself overlooks the stream that runs around the pool area but landscaping makes the restaurant view look like it is in a private oasis.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shar1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great experience for true food lovers”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Jiko's and it did not disappoint! Not only is the food amazing, the staff is courteous and attentive and the atmosphere is warm and inviting! We had the wild boar and a beef carpatchio flatbread for appetizers and they were like nothing we have ever tasted before! Truly delicacies. I had the beef spare ribs for dinner while my wife had the lamb chops and both dishes were some of the best food we have ever tasted. Our waiter was so knowledgeable and nice, the whole experience was just fantastic! If you have a chance, please check it out. You will be talking about the experience and the food for years!!

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Service!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

At Jiko- The Cooking Place, I had a spectacular Flatbread and Incredible Filet Mignon! Certainly one of the best restaurants at Disney World and an incredible atmosphere! When you go to Disney, You must go to Jiko just to get a feeling about this place and hopefully you will like it as much as i did! I will most certainly go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jiko - The Cooking Place also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Jiko - The Cooking Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing