We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Disney Parks - if you're fairly self sufficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Ranked #97 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Warrington, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Disney Parks - if you're fairly self sufficient”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Positives - we were thrilled by the quality and spaciousness of accommodation at this hotel - probably the best we have stayed in (and we have stayed in luxury resorts). We had a two room suite in building 4 (where hotel lobby and spa is located). This appeared to have been fairly recently refurbished and was spotlessly clean. We were amazed that we had a huge master suite with whirlpool bath, large walk in shower, walk in closet area. separate bedroom with two double beds, its own bathroom, dining area, lounge area, fully equipped kitchen with large fridge/freezer,dishwasher etc. For three of us, it was huge and our 3-year old was delighted that we had three TVs in the suite. Some basic items (toilet rolls, kitchen roll, dishwasher powder etc) were provided but we needed to stock up on some of these items during the stay.

The facilities allowed us to fully self cater during our stay - highly recommended especially if you have small children - finding healthy food in American eateries is a challenge. A Publix supermarket is only 5 mins drive away and is far better than the closer Walmart.

Disney parks and other attractions are only a 10 - 15 minute drive away and the resort is right next to a fairly decent outlet area (although there are better outlets within a short drive - Orlando Premium Outlets for example).

Minor gripes - I don't think the swimming area is heated as is advertised - maybe by the sun but the water temperature was very cool. As a result, we didn't spend as much time by the pool as we would have liked. Also the pirate ship is just a slide and not suitable for young children. Own food/drinks are not allowed by the pool which doesn't sit well with the self-catering facilities. Also, there isn't much in the way of service - concierge was not well up on the local area and there was always a long queue at the Expedia service desk. Advertised as buy tickets here to avoid queues but I think you'd be better off buying the tickest at the parks - certainly in off peak season. Fortunately we had bought out tickets in advance and had done some research on the area so this wasn't a big issue for us.

In summary, the room facilities here are fantastic and we were delighted with our choice but if you need 5 star service and advice and guidance all the way, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l0uise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCompany, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review of Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa. I am happy to hear your 3 yr old enjoyed the 3 TV's and your entire family enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites. I do want to mention the swimming pools are indeed heated, not sure if there was a problem during your stay with the heating sources but, please know they are heated by a source other than the sun. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting your family for many Orlando vacations to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,472
    2,384
    978
    366
    260
See reviews for
6,738
537
35
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed with our 3 children last summer and I have been meaning to write a review. This place is very convenient to Disney as well as grocery stores. We stayed for 8 nights and it was like coming home after a long day at the parks. We stayed in a 3 bedroom. It was clean and well cared for. The kitchen is invaluable for drinks and breakfast. The kids loved the pirate ship pool and wanted to swim there every night. The master is really large and we enjoyed the large tub. One time we needed more towels due to our long stay and they graciously sent them up immediately. A very quiet and lovely place. My kids are spoiled now and expect to have their own bedroom when we go on vacation! My only criticisms (these are small) are the limited water pressure and lack of wireless internet. I believe in this day and age wireless internet should be the standard. Anyway, these are minor. There may be wireless in the lobby, but not sure. I would really love it if they had a continental breakfast, but the kitchen was clean and worked great. When you return from your room late in the evening you may have to look a bit for a parking place. Just park outside the building and not in the parking garage. This only happened once and it was really not a problem. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I can say that I am somewhat picky about where I take my family.
Now my hints for staying in Orlando and Disney. Don't go to Walmart. I live in a big town where crowds are no big deal. This place was CRAZY! Go early in the morning if you have to go there. Go at like 8 am. Everything was gone by 5pm on a Wednesday. Just go to the publix. It is more expensive, but the people there are really nice and you will be in and out very quickly. Eat breakfast in the room and take a backpack FULL of snacks and a couple of waters. This will save you a ton of money. Have lunch at the castle in Magic Kingdom. Even my son said it was "the best day ever!" Rent a car. You are spending a ton of money to go to Disney. We booked ours on Hotwire and it was cheap. It is imperative in my mind that you have a car. Go to the parks when you want and leave when you are tired. If you have kids, go to the waterparks! They will blow you away! be sure to snorkel at Typhoon Lagoon. Take a day and drive to Clearwater. Go to the beach. It was so fun and we collected lots of shells. Nice break from the chaos. Take a day off and just play around the pool or go to the Lego store at downtown Disney. Get up early and get to the parks 30 min before they open and make a plan before you go as to exactly where you are going for the day! Most of all take lots of pics and enjoy the time with your family. My kids are still talking about their trip and what a great place this was to stay! Please pm me with any questions!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momof3crazykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I recently checked into this hotel for our honeymoon. We chose the hotel based on the location, advertisement of a complimentary shuttle to Disney and Universal, and the spacious rooms, that were apartment style living. We checked into the hotel and the guy at the front desk congratulated us on our marriage and gave us a room with the view of the Disney fireworks so we were off to a good start.

Unfortuantely, this was the end of our excitement with this hotel. The rooms were spacious with the comforts of home, like a fridge, stove, etc. We brought lots of food with us knowing we could save some money by cooking in our room. We unpacked everywhere and had dinner reservations at a Disney restaurant and so called the front desk to arrange to get on the "complimentary shuttle''. We were quickly told that the shuttle only leaves for Disney at 8:55 am and 11:30 am and ONLY to Epcot, none of the other parks. So obviously we had missed those since check in wasn't until 3pm. We then asked if we could take the shuttle back from Disney to at least save half of a cab fare, and they said no, they needed 24 hour notice to pick us up. So we called the shuttle service ourselves and they said they could accomodate us for sure and to tell the hotel to give us vouchers. We argued with the hotel for hours and they would not help us and so my husband called the shuttle service and the manager agreed to let us ride even though the hotel refused to help us. We spent $30 on a cab to get there, though, and thought it was very odd to advertise a shuttle service with such meager hours. (Note pick up was either 6:20 or 10:20, neither convenient times.

So we get back to the room after the dinner and are exhausted and are woken up periodically throughout the night from people screaming above us. We took the shuttle the next morning, but had to pay another $30 to get back since we didn't want to be at the park from 8:55 to 6:20. When we got back we heard the screaming again and could hear a woman getting abused by her husband and we heard the kids in the room screaming so we called security at the front desk who did nothing. We witnessed the abuse for several more minutes before telling the hotel we just were going to check out as the last thing we wanted on our honeymoon was to be stressed and sleep deprived. We packed up all of our stuff and hightailed it out of there. They did agree to refund our money which was good, but still not worth the hassle of staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranndella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is a real Gem, one almost does not want too many people to know about it but we have to give credit where credit is due. The rooms are clean , large and ours had a spacious balcony from which we could see the Disney Fireworks at night while sipping our wine. The staff is helpfull and always with a smile ! This is definitely our top choice for Orlando and we will be using it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foto928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a great week here, rooms are very large and in great condition, ours was spotless and like new. Great flat screen Tvs in lounge and bedroom. No noise from the other rooms. 4 lifts in each block mean your never waiting around. Irish bar opposite very good with free wi fi that was very quick. Pool good with nice shallow end for our 2yr old. Walmart nearby handy and the outlet mall adjacent is worth a visit Only downsides were there is no Wi fi in the rooms as advertised and theres not a lot around you within walking distance but we had a car with us so that wasnt a problem .. would go back

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romans2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed in the hotel because we had 4 people. We got a 3 bedroom apartment and was amazing. Room was very clean. The pub downstairs was good too. Nice meals and cold beer. :-) it's great that the outlet shopping is right next-door too. Am definatly going to stay next time I come to Orlando

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddmac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We were in the Orlando area for vacation and stayed at the Regal Palms Resort in Davenport. We decided to extend and remembered LBV resort so we books our last 2 nights in Fla. there.
Check in was a breeze and they allowed us to check in early as the room was done. We had a room in building 2, which overlooks the Outlet Plaza. Buildings 4 and 5 are near the pirate pool. The view was ok but the room was beautiful. All amenities listed are actual and the beds were very comfy. The entire complex is very clean and well cared for.
The pool area was FANTASTIC. My 8 year old must have gone on the pirate ship slide 100 times. The bar personnel were very attentive and friendly as well and the pool area was well supervised and safe. There are 3 hot tubs near the pool and another at the pool near building 1 and 2. All clean and inviting.
The location was great as it was a 20 minute ride to Universal Studios and 5 minutes to Disney. They also offer shuttles as well which we didn't use. There is an on site restaurant that was great as well as a convenience store, massage spa and breakfast by the pool.
The check out was easy and fast. I would recommend this to anyone going to the Orlando area. We paid $139 a night for a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and after paying Disney lodging prices in the past this will be our destination.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGPerron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.5 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
7,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#58 of 338 in Orlando
4,005 reviews
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa

Property: Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Address: 8113 Resort Village Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-5616
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#38 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Business Hotel in Orlando
#94 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and amenities! Luxury one, two, three and four bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, washer/dryer and more. Two pools - one with a Pirate Ship slide and pool bar. Reflections Spa~Salon and Frankie Farrell's Irish Pub onsite. Two miles to Disney and on the doorstep of Lake Buena Vista Factory Stores. Complimentary scheduled transportation to Disney, Universal, and SeaWorld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village Hotel Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Resort Spa
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village And Spa
Lake Buena Vista Village
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing