We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! & Great for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #78 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location! & Great for families!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our 5 night stay at the Blue Heron was great! We would highly recommend this place! It was because of the help of one of the condo owners, Dave, who not only went out of his way to answer all my silly questions concerning the resort and Orlando, but was very informative and pleasant to deal with. We originally were going to rent his suite, but because of the availability of the suite didn’t allow for us to book another day earlier (as it was already booked), he still assisted me in getting through the booking process for another suite. What a great guy to help! Very detailed oriented too ;) Thanks DAVE!

We visited the resort in November to attend a soccer tournament for my son. When booking, I was worried as to what kind of condo suite we would get (since Dave’s condo was already taken for our time period). I put in a request to be placed in bldg.. one with the great view of the lake and pool and to be placed in a higher floor level. It doesn’t hurt to ask;) We would not know what our condo suite is until we actually checked-in… Realizing we would arrive late to the resort, I called to let them know (spoke with Jay I think), and they were understanding and gave no problems. We arrived very very late (around 2 a.m.) and were greeted by a pleasant staff member (Suzanne?). She already had us (paperwork, room keys) logged as arriving late and had our keys ready and waiting for us! And to our surprise we were given the 12th floor in bldg.. one overlooking lake Bryan and the pool. Our boys couldn’t wait to see the suite’s view! (even at 2a.m.)

The suite was great! Just like an apartment. Cooking dinners in the kitchen was friendly on the pocket..(they had most of the stuff you would need in the kitchen). The washing machine was a life saver too! The view was beautiful! Especially in the mornings and evenings…

During our stay there it seems every staff member we encountered were pleasant to us. Some went the extra steps to recommend places to visit that didn’t require the whole day and money wise at Disney. The staffs are a credit to the resort!

The only gripes would be:
the lack of cushioning on the sofa bed and bunk beds… of course as time goes on many visitors have blessed the usage of them . Just wish it wasn’t so hard to sleep on and had a bit more cushion.
Not enough trash bags, clean linen / extra blankets for those sleeping on the sofa bed (there were dead bugs in the one blanket that seems it was used to death :). We had to use our beach towels and buy extra blankets. It didn't help that it was cold that week in Florida too.

And trying to find the luggage trolley was at most a mystery. Having to go up and down the elevator with all the luggage for a family of 6 was time consuming. But we managed 

With Mother nature being temperamental… We couldn’t enjoy the great looking pool as the weather during our stay decided to be one of Florida’s coldest… Just our luck huh ;) To make the most of it our boys tried out the hot tub and didn’t want to come out. The location was GREAT to where our event was (ESPN WWC), Disney and close to shopping areas, restaurants, etc. Even Starbucks and CiCi’s pizza was in front of the condo!

We hope to return again and pray the weather is better as well ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your feedback is a very important part of our guest satisfaction program, and we use this as a valuable training tool for our associates. Our goal is to completely satisfy each of our guests during every stay, and I am sorry there were issues with the bedding and luggage carts during your stay with us. I have passed on the information to our housekeeping department and we are in the process of replacing the bedding and getting new blankets. As for the luggage carts our HOA handles this for the hotel and they have assured us they are ordering more to better accommodate our guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Orlando.

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    727
    181
    75
    65
See reviews for
1,568
270
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We come to the area often and like to try different places. We chose the Blue Heron based on reviews and location.
You can't beat the location. It's so close to disney property and the views are outstanding. Out our back window (tower 2) we could see the beautiful lake Bryan and in the distance, sea world. Out the front we could see downtown Disney, Epcot, and Hollywood studios.
The first night we were there the room was not good. It was dirty and the sofa bed literally had stuffing coming out of it. The master bed was like sleeping in a marshmallow. Pretty much ate you up. Not good for a bad back. Also the wifi was not working. When I went down to complain they immediately upgraded me to a much nicer room, better beds (still not great but definitely better), cleaner, and with a router. Really appreciated that. However it still wasn't clean. You could tell it was just maybe spot cleaned because I found old crumbs and stains throughout. Luckily I brought my own cleaning supplies to make it comfortable for me.

Besides that I have no complaints. It would definitely be 5 stars to me if they were clean.

Oh and we had 2 rooms. The second room was an accessible room for my handicapped mother in law. She was able to function fine but the toilets were too low and not up to the Ada standards. They weren't able to do anything about that but we made do.

Not sure if well be back. The location is great. The service was great. The cleanliness, not so great.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are deeply disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to our usually high standards. Please accept our apologies that your housekeeping was not consistent. This is highly unusual and we will forward your comments on so that this does not happen again.
We are sorry that your trip to Orlando was not as excellent as we would have liked it to be. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you the great experience that we normally provide. Please contact us should you decide to give us another chance and we will be certain that we exceed your expectations.


The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Room 1707 block 2 - Journey from airport easy. Room massive,2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. Restaurants close by, Disney close by and International drive close by. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at The Blue Heron. We are so glad to hear that everything was amazing. If you find yourself coming back to Orlando, we hope you will come back and see us.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is our third stay at this Blue Heron,great facilities, located on Lake Bryan,all apartments have a great view facing the lake,excellant to sit on the balcony while having breakfast and watch the sun rise.One downside that the Wi-Fi in the apartment kept breaking down for a couple of days.Transport for Disney was good and on time.Good location for Factory Outlets .
Staff were very helpful with information etc.Apartment had every thing required for 6 people including 2 full bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boblind9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experiences at The Blue Heron. It is wonderful to hear that our large suites were perfect for your family. I do apologize for the internet issues. We are working on this to provide better service to each unit. We really appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back soon!

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannemora, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a Great Resort..... It is located on a lake and has nice pools. Water toys can be rented to use on the lake. It is close to all the attractions. The fireworks at Disney can be seen form the balcony. Also,there are restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We will return to this resort.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit with balconies facing the lake and Disney . The upper floors have the better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyschu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a tripadvisor review and most of all thank you for all of the great comments about your stay. We hope to see you soon

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Excellent Location next to a lot of restaurants and minutes to Downtown Disney, Nice and large 1 bedroom condo unit, has 2 full bathrooms which is a big plus if you have kids, Staff friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beautiful Lake Bryan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It was fantastic to have you stay with us at The Blue Heron Beach Resort. Thank you for mentioning how wonderful your experience was.

We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Orlando.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was my 20th visit to orlando and my new wifes first, I have never been to the blue heron beach resort but it wont be my last, I have driven past it many times and when we got to stay their we were not disappointed, our stay was for 14 night and we were on the 14th floor in a one bedroom apartment, what fantastic view at the rear over lake bryan and at the front all of down town Disney, we watched the fireworks on several occasions. Apartment was roomy and very clean, both bathrooms were spotless, and the master bedroom had a massive king-size bed, also the kitchen was very clean and all the appliances worked well, the granite work surfaces were clean and unmarked or chipped, all in all first class.

To sum it up, we were very impressed, the reception staff were extremely helpful and when the apartment was cleaned during the stay the place was left immaculate. The only small problem we had was with the wifi, i did talk to reception and the handy man came and fitted a new router, they do do have a small problem with the wifi here, its not the staffs fault and a day before we left an engineer was on site from the provider working on a solution, this did not impact on our holiday, we will return, thank you blue heron we had a great time x

Room Tip: ask for a room above the 10th floor as you will get the very best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryHHarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you so much for mentioning how positive your experience was at The Blue Heron. I am sorry you experienced internet issues. We are encountering problems with the internet and hopefully will be able to resolve them in the near future. Thank you for your understanding.

We look forward to your return the next time your travels bring you back to Orlando.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Property: Blue Heron Beach Resort
Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando
Blue Heron Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing