We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #74 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a family suite at the Blue Heron Beach Resort for a family vacation. When we arrived, a very friendly young woman greeted us and checked us in. Our bags were brought up to our room by another courteous employee and we were shown around the room. He told us how to operate everything and told about places to go and about discount tickets available. (Nice touch.)
There are so many pros- friendly employees, spacious rooms, great value, close to restaurants. Beautiful sunrise /sunset views of Lake Bryan. Nice spacious pool. 2 bathrooms. Quiet (There were times when we thought we were the only ones at the resort.)

Cons- (These are minor) Carpet in our room was a little dirty. Wi-fi was not the best. (It would have been nice to have wifi in the room.)

Overall, I will DEFINITELY stay again at the Blue Heron Beach Resort when vacationing in Orlando except next time I would like to stay in the larger room with a balcony on each end.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockinrob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Orlando. We do apologize that the carpet was dirty and was not as great as we would have hoped. This is not what we typically provide to our guests and we apologize that this was not your experience. We will address your comments internally with our team to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.Thank you so much for mentioning all the great features we offer in our suites and our friendly guest services.

Thank you for your comments, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the Orlando area.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    711
    176
    73
    61
See reviews for
1,523
263
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great for Florida Residents, had a FL Residents Deal and for others traveling to Florida. Great experience, courteous and friendly staff. Great view of lake and pools, lake is pristine and secluded with little development on it. Clean room that was spacious for a family of four, a full kitchen with two bathrooms, a plus. Accessible to restaurants, shopping, attractions and a Starbucks just a walk away! Minor complaint, bring extra towels, unless you want to pay extra for room cleaning services, however the room came with a washer and dryer. Another plus, ask for parking pass if you want a friend or family to stop by and hang out.

Room Tip: All rooms have same view, unless you want higher floors, it has 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flresidents4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are so grateful for your wonderful recommendation! Thank you so much for mentioning all the great features we offer in our suites including our washer/dryers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness as well as the décor in our suites.

Thank you for mentioning our Florida Resident rate!

I do apologize if there were not enough towels in your unit. There should be six in a one bedroom and eight in a two bedroom. We do start you off with a supply of laundry detergent and because we have washers and dryers we do not replenish towels during your stay as we are a self catered resort.

We do offer a Tidy Clean or a Mid-Week room clean that you can pay an additional fee for.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit to our resort!


The Staff and Management at The blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Only inconvenience was the thin (but very clean and pretty) inner shower curtain that would constantly blow into the shower and cover me while taking a shower lol. Had to constantly shut the water off and readjust the curtain only to have it blow in again moments later. Water pressure was very strong (good), which created a vacuum/air pressure situation. Need a stronger shower curtain liner (thick plastic or hard glass/plexiglass). Sounds kind of petty but quickly becomes annoying.
Other than that, the place was extremely clean, quiet, and luxurious.

Room Tip: I was in Tower 1, on one of the higher floors, which I'm sure helped deaden the street and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c7s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you once again for choosing our resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. It is great to know that you enjoyed our suites and serene location.

I do apologize about the shower curtain. I can see where this could be annoying. We will be discussing this with the housekeeping department and certainly have taken your suggestions into consideration when ordering our new curtains.

Again, we sincerely thank you for your valuable comments. On behalf of our entire management team, we look forward to showing you our true level of service during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsland, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for our summer vacation, this placed is beautiful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bedrooms & bathrooms have plenty of room. We were close to everything including the theme parks we visited, Seaworld & Aquatica. We enjoyed the fireworks at nite and the beautiful lake view from our room. It is hard to find someplace like this reasonably priced, spacious and clean. We dined out at night and didn't have to travel far from the resort. My grandson really enjoyed the pool. We will definitely return for our next vacation to Disney. Check in/out was quick and the staff was friendly.

You will not be disappointed if you chose to stay here!

Room Tip: The view on the lake is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mswiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at The Blue Heron.

We truly appreciate your comments regarding the amazing value you received during your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that our suites were comfortable and enjoyable for you.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the units.

If you find yourself coming back to Orlando, we hope you will come back and see us.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a week with two kids, 8 and 5 years old. The room was great, with 2 full bathrooms and fully functioning kitchen with all appliances. Also, a good location within walking distance to restaurants and drug/grocery stores. We spent most of the days at the pool, which the kids loved. The area was clean and neat every day. The Tiki Bar with snacks and drinks was a little bonus. Staff was helpful in arranging our trip to Disney- Animal and Magic Kingdom. We would definitely stay at Blue Heron on a return visit.

Room Tip: We loved our view of Lake Bryan and Downtown Orlando. It was nice to sit out there in the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1love_family_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We can’t thank you enough for the magnificent review! We really appreciate you for making us a part of your family vacation. It means a lot to us that you felt right at “home” during your stay with us.Certainly, there is nothing better than to relax by our beautiful pool after a long day at the parks. We are so delighted to be considered your new home when visiting Orlando.

We look forward to your return visit.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a great Resort, very clean, excellent location, awesome facilities and very friendly staff. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Orlando. The hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly and the hotel was close to all major attractions and close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly guest service provided by our resort staff.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location nearby the grocery stores, shopping malls, and attractions.

Thank you once again for choosing our resort and we hope to welcome you and your family back for your next trip to Orlando

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed 12 nights at the Blue Heron, and we highly recommend you to stay here. We had stayed at the Caribbean Beach Club and Port Orleans Riverside on Disney property before, but we wanted something bigger than just a boxed room with two beds side by side. The Blue Heron is like a condo! We had a one bedroom unit which included bunk beds in the hallway, TWO bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, washer/dryer and a balcony. We appreciated the safety feature that the elevator provided---you put your room card into a slot and then push the floor you are going to. It will only stop on the floor registered to your card. This meant that there weren't kids running up and down the halls or doors slamming. Once you got to your floor, you would go to your unit.

This place was very quiet, and something we appreciated after spending all day/evening in the theme parks. We are light sleepers, but once we went to sleep, we were never woken by our neighbors and we didn't even hear anyone walking above our unit or down the hallway. We were in tower 2 on the 10th floor. I liked that we were away from the pool and activity from tower 1.

One reason why we had stayed on Disney property before was transportation, but the Blue Heron provides you with shuttle service to Epcot each day. You can sign up for either the 8:45 a.m. or 10:30 a.m. shuttle and then come back either at 6:20 p.m. or 8:45 p.m. Once at Epcot, you can take a monorail to the Magic Kingdom or buses to the other theme parks. We liked the shuttle since it could only take a maximum of about 10 passengers. You knew when it would leave/and pick up, and you didn't have to sit waiting for buses to go by on Disney property looking for which bus was going to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, etc. and then having to STAND since it was so crowded (which had happened to us while on property).

Right near the Blue Heron is a Ci Ci's Pizza, a Dunkin Doughnuts, a Subway, and a Dollar Tree. The front desk will give you a coupon for a free buffet at Ci Ci's when you buy two buffets and drinks. This worked out well with our family of three. Also, we LOVED Lone Star Steak House which was a short walk down the street. We actually ate there four times during our trip! I will be writing a review about that wonderful restaurant.

Your unit isn't cleaned each day, and we used our towels a few times. After a week, we paid $30 to have our linens changed and the room "freshened up." We knew this ahead of time and brought laundry detergent. We actually did a few loads on our trip.

I would highly recommend that you NOT pay the high price of staying on Disney property and look into the Blue Heron. You will save money, have a nice and QUIET condo, and you will still have shuttle service to Epcot. Also, try to eat off Disney property, if possible. We spent $120 for the three of us at the Germany pavilion at Epcot for a buffet (where we only had one plate each). You will find that with the heat and humidity that you don't really want big, heavy meals.

Moustafa was our regular shuttle driver---very funny and professional. We had him drive us to the airport when we left since he is a taxi driver when he isn't running the shuttle for the Blue Heron.

We will never go back to a boxed room with beds side by side again. Thank you, Blue Heron, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Tower 2 is away from the pool and has less units per floor. We were in room 1002 and it was WONDERFU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Puyallup3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
What a wonderful review!!!

Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Property: Blue Heron Beach Resort
Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando
Blue Heron Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing