We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all great stay.... HUGE sized suites...SO worth a return trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

So let me start by saying this was an amazing stay. I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for a few minor things that could have been done differently. I reserved 2 separate suites for the weekend. A 2 bedroom suite and a 1 bedroom suite for total of 11 people. The main reason I picked the 2 bedroom suite was because it stated that it had a view of the Fireworks from Disney. I arrived early with a few of the girls, and our rooms were not ready so I checked in and went to see the pool area to pass the time. When we got called that our rooms were ready, they said they booked us 2 rooms next to each other.... even better. When we got to the room first issue I saw was that it was on the 3rd floor with a view of the parking lot... not attractive. I immediately called the desk because this was definitely not a "Fireworks" view. They apologized and we had to go get the keys reprogrammed. We were sent to the 10th floor. View was great overlooking the rooftops... which is where you can see the fireworks at night. The view from the living room was gorgeous.... beautiful view of the paddle boarders in the morning on Lake Bryan. Wish the weather had been better to enjoy it more. Now after we were told the rooms would be side by side, and they had to move us to the 10th floor, they only moved the larger 2 bedroom suite not the 1 bedroom suite.... not a deal breaker but would've preferred rooms side by side. It was good that they programmed all the keys to work in both rooms. The suites were beautiful. The Jacuzzi in the master bath was great. Nice size kitchens and the bunk beds were even a hit. I realize these are like "condo" living but it still is a resort/hotel and I think they should have Ice makers more easily accessible. I recommend turning on the ice maker in the freezer as soon as you walk in cause they take a while to produce ice and your only other option is taking your own cooler/container down to the bar by the pool to fill up... it is kind of a hassle. The suites were very spacious but being that they are to accommodate 8 in the 2 bedroom and 6 in the 1 bedroom, they do not have enough linens for this. There is no additional blankets/pillows or sheets for anyone that gets cold at night or just wants additional bedding. I would have thought in 1 of the closets or under the bunks there would be more but there wasn't. If anything there should be more linens/towels... especially because it is a condo... there is no daily house keeping during your stay. So besides the bedding, towels, and making sure you get the right room.... should be a great stay. Close enough to everything and there are plenty of shuttle services that will pick you up and drop you off again. Can't wait to go back and hopefully the weather is more agreeable.... oh and the "pools" cause there is like 3... are great!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above the 9th or 10th floor to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to visit Disney World. We do apologize that the service you received was not always as great as we would have hoped. As the units are individually owned, we cannot always guarantee that they will be on the same floor or even the location of the unit due to our rotation for the owners. I am happy to hear that you did get a higher floor. Our resort has become known for the incredible service that we typically provide to our guests and we apologize that this was not always your experience. As for the shortage of blankets and towels we will address your comments internally with our team to ensure that this does not occur again in the future. We are also thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our pool area. Certainly, there is nothing better than to relax by our beautiful pool after a long day at the parks. Thank you for your comments, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the Orlando area.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is near the premium outlets and Disney parks, at registration you can get discount coupons for almost every restaurante and attraction near the hotel. It has a big parking lot, 3 elevators an tghe condos are huge.
in the morning you can wake up with a wonderful view of the lake where you can rent kayak, boats, jet skis, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second tower are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manageroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are so grateful for your wonderful recommendation! Thank you so much for mentioning all the great features we offer in our suites especially the incredible view of Lake Bryan which every suite has .
As you mentioned, we are indeed located within close distance to many of Orlando’s famous attractions. Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit to our resort!

The Staff and Management of The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've just returned from a 14 night stay at the Blue Heron, and had a brilliant time. Having 'done' Disney with a 14 night stay in a hotel, this was a real treat. The freedom of having your own apartment was just a joy. Location to Disney is fantastic, just minutes in the car, and Universal is 15 minutes away (we didn't use the shuttle service) . Lots of places to eat and stock up in walking distance or a very short drive away. The apartment was extremely spacious, and fully equipped with all you need in the kitchen and handy washing facilities. There were just three of us in our group so we had one bed apartment, and it would would easily fit 4, although I think 6 would be a struggle. The small negatives were lack of storage for clothes, even for three of us, and the floors were a bit dirty, but nothing shoving a pair of flip flops didn't solve. The staff were super helpful and friendly, and we had no hassle from the condo share scheme after declining at check in. Pool area was large and clean, with plenty of sun loungers. If (more a case of when), I would certainly return to the blue heron and recommend it to anyone looking for self sufficient holidaying.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank EssexSugarPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are so grateful for your wonderful recommendation! Thank you so much for mentioning all the great features we offer in our suites including our fully-equipped kitchens and washer/dryer. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness as well as the décor in our suites. As you mentioned, we are indeed located within close distance to many of Orlando’s famous attractions. Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit to our resort!
I am sorry to hear about your experience with the cleanliness of your guest room floors. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize, as that was not the way we typically take care of our guests.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just spent 9 days in August 2014 room 105 tower 2. First the room was huge...nice for a family of 6! Pretty clean room and grounds. Would have given this a perfect score, but the carpets in the bedrooms and mattresses should be changed, also the Wi-Fi is week, but they supplied a modem. I loved that the rest of the apartment was tile! We had a free day of cleaning since we stayed over 7 days....It was nice but I did not miss having maid service since I laid the law to the kids to pick up after themselves! The pools were great! Loved tower 2, did not mind being on 1st floor since the view was nice. Disney was very close, Universal was 7 miles...not to bad of a drive. Everything is close. A big plus...we went home with clean cloths!!! Staff was nice and helpful had a few minor problems with the dryer, but they fixed it and offered to move us to a different room if the problem couldn't be fixed. Loved the fact that the kids could walk in front and go to the shops. We had a very comfortable stay and would most definitely stay again! Oh, no one approached us about a time share! :)))

Room Tip: Tower 2 is nice an quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We can’t thank you enough for the magnificent review! We really appreciate you for making us a part of your family vacation.
We are also thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our pool area. Certainly, there is nothing better than to relax by our beautiful pool after a long day at the parks.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding the amazing value you received during your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that our suites were comfortable and enjoyable for you and your group. Please accept our apologies that the pillows were not up to your preferences. Nonetheless, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location nearby the grocery stores, shopping malls, and attractions

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Blue Heron has everything you could hope for and more. The lake views from the balcony are amazing. We could watch the sunrise over the lake on one balcony, and watch the disney fireworks from the other. The apartments are very big and very clean - we had deluxe suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, bunk beds in the hall way, a fully fitted kitchen, and a washer/dryer (so didn't arrive home with dirty laundry!) For price, location, and space, this was hard to beat. The pool is massive, though, it seemed a long way down from the 12th floor! There are 21 floors in tower two. You need your room key to use the lift. Keep your key away from your cell phone as it will deactivate it. This happened! There is a garbage shoot in the main hallway, quite near the lifts. Keeping the apartment tidy was easy (even with three teenagers) as there is a dishwasher and washer/dryer. In fact, I wouldn't bother with the maid service except for fresh sheets and new supplies. We had maid service twice during our stay, they didn't clean - just replenished. I would definitely recommend a car - Seaworld was a five minute drive, Universal a 10-15min drive depending on traffic. So easy to get to on the Interstate 4. Loads of restaurants to choose from, within a mile, and many walking distance. Parking is covered, with a lift straight up to your room. No-one bothered us with time share - we were asked once on check in if we would like to attend the breakfast, we politely declined, then never was asked again. We never felt pressurised.
All in all a great stay and we were so reluctant to leave. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If choosing a unit again, I think I would choose a sunrise suite, with the bedroom also having a lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyzim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are so grateful for your wonderful recommendation! Thank you so much for mentioning all the great features we offer in our suites including our fully-equipped kitchens and washer/dryer. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness as well as the décor in our suites. As you mentioned, we are indeed located within close distance to many of Orlando’s famous attractions. Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit to our resort!

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've been at this hotel on december ,2013 and me and my family ,we were in six ,really enjoyed this
resort .It is very near from the Disney parks .Westgate is less than one mile away .We've stayed at a two bedroom deluxe suite ,that can stay 8 .The masterbedrrom has a balcony with view to Downtown Disney and you can see the fireworks .It's also near Vineland Premium outlet and Lake Buena Vista outlets .Crossing the street there's a Wallgreen store and in front of the property some stores ,including a Starbucks and Subway .

Room Tip: The room with fireworks view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MORAI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the amazing value you received during your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location nearby the grocery stores, shopping malls, and attractions

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Blue Heron's rates are fantastic when you consider how big a room you get for what you pay. It was so nice to have room to spread out and not feel cramped. Even the 1 bedroom suite has 2 bathrooms, which makes a huge difference. Having the kitchen was nice too. We loved our room.

Our issues were...(1) when you check-in and give them your credit card and go through the usual process, this first person does everything except give you your parking pass. You have to talk to a second person who attempts to give you the whole story about the free breakfast which is tied-in with the time share speech. The "walking you up to your room" bit is also because they want another opportunity to throw the time-share stuff at you. Just say "no thanks" to the breakfast and "no thanks" to the walking you to your room bit and stick to it if you don't want to hear about time-share. (2) they are up-front about the $12.25/day resort fee, but they don't say they're also charging a $2.50/day "transaction fee". WTH is that for? ridiculous. (3) Our "do not disturb" sign was always on the door. Check-out is at 11 am. At 10:30 housekeeping came to the door and said "I know your D N D sign is up, but when are you leaving?" Wow, seriously? We responded "in time for the 11:00 checkout".

Lastly, for those who aren't sure...Orlando is not a coast-line city. There are no beaches in Orlando. The water you see next to the hotel is a lake, which you will not be swimming in. Just saying... don't expect "beach resort" to literally mean this resort is on or near a beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CsoaresM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Orlando. We do apologize that the service you received was not always as great as we would have hoped. Our resort has become known for the incredible service that we typically provide to our guests and we apologize that this was not always your experience. We will address your comments internally with the Time Share Manager, as they are a separate division of our company to ensure that this does not occur again in the future. You are correct in just saying "NO" and they should not bother you. The "transaction fee" is to help defray the costs we get from credit card companies. Typically the credit card companies charge us 4% on the rate, so the 2.50 a day is generally a lot lower. I will pass along the comments regarding the DND sign. I am sorry they bothered you and will address this with the staff. .

Thank you for your comments, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the Orlando area.


The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 341 in Orlando
4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £68 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando
Blue Heron Beach Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing