We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for visiting Universal Studios…but….”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Ranked #93 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good choice for visiting Universal Studios…but….”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. However, i think it was alittle overpriced, but still a decent choice.

Here's the good:
very close to park, free shuttle right out back of hotel. Easy to walk to park if needed too. Food avail for order. We order humus and were very pleased with it one night. Sat on the outside patio with sports on the TV. No sound though. Walk to TGIF. Pool was refreshing. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice large-size room, but a little funky layout as mentioned in other reviews.

Here's the not so good:
As a Hyatt Platinum member, no water or extra amenity received. Shampoo/conditioner cheap. Any other amenities, you need to go to front desk and ask for. Breakfast was ok, cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit, but hot food not so good, very disappointed that there was no waffle maker. Coffee is Seattle's best, which is the worse coffee..too strong and bitter. SLOW elevator. Only am shuttles to park and pm shuttles back..nothing in between. Also, Last shuttle ends before park is closed. Should have more shuttle times avail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Terri,
I'm delighted to hear you were able to take advantage of our 24/7 Fresh menu and that you enjoyed our outside patio! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope you will return in the future. Please know that all of our amenities can conveniently be delivered to your room. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    383
    140
    30
    23
See reviews for
585
277
25
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed over the Easter weekend, we arrived earlier than check in but the reception staff were great took our cases and got us on the free shuttle bus straight to universal, so no time wasted!
The room was big with 2 double beds and huge corner sofa,the bathrooms are tiny especially for my 6'3" husband. Breakfast was a bit manic with people everywhere wondering around looking for places to sit. Think a little more planning is needed in this area. The elevators are extremely slow as well, use the stairs! The amount of pizza delivery leaflets under the room door is a bit ridiculous we had 9 in the two nights we stayed, not good when it comes to waste paper,it goes in the hotel bin and they hotel then need to dispose...cost effective?
Loved the staff and our family stay and would recommend anyone needing a hotel in walking distance to universal to try Hyatt Place.

Green Features: Need to stop the outside companies entering the hotel and leaving pizza delivery leaflets under the room doors.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, your feedback is very important to us! Thank you for notifying us of the pizza flyers that were placed under your door. We do have an active no trespassing policy with signs and security in place. I am delighted to hear that our Gallery Hosts were able to assist you in making your stay worry free. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As frequent guests of Hyatt Place, we chose to stay here while traveling through Orlando. We were warmly greeted by the staff and a room was located for us. Our room was smaller than usual with a sofa that could barely seat two. The only other time we've encountered a HP room this small was in Manhattan. However, the lobby and bar area gave us extra space for relaxing. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable for our stay.

The tub/toilet area is so small one has to stand off to the side of the toilet to open or close the door. The bathroom amenities do not include shower caps.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted you chose to stay with us and do hope you will chose to return for a future visit. On your next visit please let us know you would like a room with one of our signature oversized Cozy Corner couches and we do have amenities available such as shower caps, lotion, and cotton balls. Please make sure to let us know what you need to make your stay an excellent one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

3 great nights to base a Disney/Universal vacation. Friendly and professional staff. Breakfast choices included a great variety of hot and cold. Pool outside. Free parking. Universal shuttle. Slow elevators though!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Kristin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is your usual Hyatt place. Good value, clean and welcoming. The room sizes in this hotel are smaller than the usual Hyatt place hotels. The bathroom is very small you can barely dry yourself when getting out of the shower and you have to step into the bath or onto the toilet to close the door. The pool area is clean and there are plenty of towels, however there is an infestation of flying ants which are an extreme nuisance as you cannot relax. Now for the worst of it, the breakfast area. Although kept very clean and maintained, the seating area cannot cope during busy sessions. We stayed for a week during spring break and found ourselves several mornings which now where to sit. This resulted in some guests eating in meeting rooms and others taking cereal to their rooms. A large number of the guests seemed to lack manners and would push in front of you, lean across you without any consideration of your personnel space. It was a frenzied affair. On the flip side of the coin, if you went for breakfast at 7am not at 8am the clientele seemed a much nicer bunch with a much nicer atmosphere with available seating. Would I stay in this hotel again? Probably not. There are several other hotels who do it better and offer equal value for money with the same great location. It should be noted that the staff here at the Hyatt are very good. Talia and Robert in particular are very helpful and will do whatever they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some great feedback on your stay! I am so happy to hear that our Gallery Hosts Talia and Robert were helpful and made your stay as comfortable as possible. It delights us to know our staff was able to assist you and maintain a superb level of service during one of our busiest weeks of the year, spring break. We hope that you will choose to come stay with us again during one of our less busy times to enjoy our comfortable, quiet, home away from home atmosphere that we offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary and we had an awesome time. The rooms were so spacious and clean. I loved the complimentary breakfast in the mornings. We walked to Universal and Islands all three days we were there because it is located right at the entrance of the theme parks and city walk. Staff was friendly and polite. I still can't believe what a great value we got out of this hotel, I mean I could go on about how wonderful the room was forever. Must stay here, best hotel around Orlando!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Lindsay,

Happy Anniversary! I'm glad you chose to spend it with us and that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again! Warm regards,
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel had rooms which were very modern and spacious for families. The free breakfast catered for everyone and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
I would definitely stay at the Hyatt Place next time I visit Orlando

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank candles1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#118 of 338 in Orlando
438 reviews
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Property: Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Address: 5895 Caravan Court, Orlando, FL 32819-7901
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Orlando
#31 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Green Hotel in Orlando
#58 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Orlando Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal Florida
Hyatt Universal Studios
Hyatt Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing