We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5014 Tideview Circle #7 Townhome needs some updates and care”
Review of Vista Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Cay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5014 Tideview Circle #7 Townhome needs some updates and care”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked a 3 bedroom condo for a week 07/2014. We were told we could not check in early because they had a back to back rental (guests before us) and they needed 3 hours to clean.

Sunday - my family and I arrived at 11am and spent time shopping and eating to pass the time. We entered the condo at 4:10 pm and it was NOT cleaned.
The last renters' dirty towels and linen were still in the home where they were left. I contacted the property manager and he called in a cleaning crew.
1 individual showed up :-) and attempted to clean. She left 2 bathrooms dirty (caked on toothpaste on the faucet) as well as the kitchen.
My mother ended up mopping the floor in the kitchen.

Monday
We noted the bathtub was clogged in one bathroom.
We noted the ceiling fans had fur from all of the dust collection over time which we figured out was contributing to my asthmatic 7yr olds discomfort.

Tuesday
The property manager came onsite and unclogged the bathtub. They also called in a 2nd cleaning crew
After the 2nd cleaning crew - the toothpaste and dust on ceiling fans remained
Also we noted ants crawling around in the masterbath (note we did not call this in b/c we were unsure if this was normal for the area and seemed limited to the bathroom)

Wednesday
The toilet leaked overnight and property manager called someone to fixed the leaking toilet
The property manager also came onsite to CLEAN :-) and removed the caked on toothpaste in the bathroom my 14 yr old daughter was using.

Thursday
My 7 yr old woke up to ants crawling in her bed - one on her face. I made a note to call to report this as an issue and went downstairs to leave. As I picked up my purse
a swarm of, what I now know to be, little spider went crawling everywhere as if to escape me. They were everywhere including my favorite designer purse.
The purse was disposed of immediately :-(.

I called property management right away, took my 2 daughters to camp, came back and packed my bags to go immediately.

I have been advised that my money cannot be refunded to me for the 3 nights I did not stay - Booked into Embassy Suites on International Dr (FANTASTIC!)


I will be credited 1 night stay and the $95 cleaning fee. They are providing a 2 night credit in one of their condos that I have been assured should not have the same issues.
Now to just work and obtain the time to comeback to use the credit :-(.

I promised to update my review after staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are so sorry to hear of the many issues during your stay. Your accommodation was managed by one of the other management companies at the resort- not Vista Cay by Millenium. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are a 24/7 operation with policies and procedures in place to prevent issues such as ants and units that have not been properly cleaned. As an example, once a unit is cleaned, we have an inspection team who come in to make sure that everything is spotless and maintenance issues have been addressed. The unit is not released until it is in tip top shape. Ants and other insects are part of living in Florida- however, we should not have to have them in our living spaces. Vista Cay by Millenium also has a pest control system in place helping to prevent instances such as the one you encountered. We do hope that you will come back to Orlando soon and will choose Vista Cay by Millenium for a worry free vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    463
    139
    64
    64
See reviews for
1,358
126
12
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were really pleasantly surprised and pleased by our lovely apartment. We booked an exec 3 bed which was really spacious and well provided with all appliances ranging from a smoothie maker to washing machine and tumble dryer. The check in procedure is really quick and straight forward. The hotel is within a short walk to a large supermarket. We decided to pay for an up grade when we checked in so that we had a lake view. For us this was worth it as it was nice to relax with a glass of vino on the terrace and watch the fireworks from Seaworld. All the public areas of the hotel are daily maintained to the highest standards of cleanliness and all the amenities are likewise to a high standard. It states on the brochure that a car is required. I would support this view as the "I trolley" does not come near the hotel. The good news is that on average it only costs $10 - $ 15 to get to all the many bars and restaurants on I Drive and we took a taxi to universal and sea world and they were only $15 also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We at Vista Cay by Millenium are pleased that you had such a good time - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for two weeks in July , firstly ,the location was ideal well centralised location for shopping ,and going to theme parks ,

However , a lot to be desired in the vista cay, we have been to Florida twice before and stayed in the Bahama bay resort which is excellent but a bit out of the way,
When we arrived we were accommodated over in the annexe next to the shops and publix supermarket , the two bed roomed condo was filthy, the on suite toilet was blocked and the Venetian blind in the living room was broken ,thanks to our Thomson rep this was fixed immediately,
The stair well we were in was stinking of rotten food, and during the two week stay we saw it getting cleaned once, at no time did we feel safe as their were open gateways for anyone to walk into all around the perimeter fence, so the place advertising itself as gated is wrong,

We would certainly not recommend this place to anyone, and after two previous visits to a wonderful place we will never be returning to this place ,very poor place .

Room Tip: Read all the past recommendations especially the poor ones to get a true reflection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations at Vista Cay. We understand that you were hoping for an upgrade and because the resort was full, we were unable to accommodate your request for a free upgrade to a lakefront condo. As you stated, you contacted your Thompson rep and our maintenance person was able to take care of the blocked toilet and the blinds immediately upon hearing of the issues. You noted that you only saw the stairwell cleaned once during your stay. We do clean them daily but not always at the same time of day- perhaps you were out when they were cleaned. Garbage bins are emptied daily but because of the extremely hot weather in July, garbage can develop an odor within a few hours of disposal in the bins outside. The gates were actually struck by lightening and were repaired as soon as possible. In addition, we also have a security force patrolling the property insuring that our guests are safe. It is unfortunate that you did not bring your issues to the manager at the front desk as it is impossible to provide resolution after the fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The good:
The condo we were assigned was very well-appointed and extremely clean. It was wonderful to have space for all of us to spread out during our "downtime" with four TVs. The washer and dryer in the unit was fabulous. The pool area was terrific.
The bad:
The staff was not very cheerful or helpful - were definitely not focused on customer service. For example, when I asked about getting an extra trash bag, the front desk rep replied in a very sarcastic manner. The main issue to be aware of is that the ceilings/floors are very thin. We were on the bottom floor of a 4 story building. Each night around 11:15 our upstairs neighbors came in and made an immense amount of noise until well after 1:30 a,.m. It often sounded like they were helping elephants jump rope above our heads. They sometimes gathered on their balcony and yelled at each other during this time frame. We would step out onto our patio and loudly ask that they stop. We had to call security on them more than once. We did not feel that our stay at Vista Cay was peaceful and relaxing thanks to our upstairs neighbors.

Room Tip: Choose two-story units to avoid loud noises over your head and to avoid being worried about being to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy your vacation because other guests were noisy. Unfortunately, we can not always control who is occupying other condos and you did the right thing by calling security. If something like this should occur again, we suggest that you ask to be moved. We at Vista Cay by Millenium obviously want everyone to enjoy their stay and suggest that we may have been able to move you to another comparable unit. We hope that you will come back again and we will do everything possible to make your vacation relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafayette
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here in October in a 3 bedroom condo and it was absolutely gorgeous! We had a view over the pool and lake and just the atmosphere was great. Conveniently located from major attractions and even had a grocery store within walking distance. Had an amazing time here from the time we arrived to the time we left. Planning to stay here in May 2015, because we love it so much!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It is always wonderful to hear repeat visitors tell us how much they like Vista Cay by Millenium. Consistent quality and good service are values we continue to strive for and obviously, those efforts show when our guests stay with us over and over. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you're staying in Orlando then this is the place to stay! We stayed here for 2 weeks on a holiday from Ireland. We stayed in a three bedroom townhouse which was incredible and had 3 floors. Staff were friendly at reception when checking us in. All the bedrooms were spacious and had TVs with lots of channels. The living room and kitchen areas were large and open plan. We had 3 bathrooms which was helpful. The house was immaculately clean when we arrived. Kitchen offers all utensils needed if you want to cook frying pans, microwave, toaster etc. There's a garage if you want to hire out a car. The walk from Vista Cay to International Drive is quite long (especially in the heat) but it's easily doable. Very central location on International Drive, close to iHop. The theme parks are only a few stops on the iTrolley away. Wifi was free and fast which was excellent. Excellent accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingzeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Vista Cay by Millenium is a great place to stay because of all of the reasons you mentioned. From our friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff to the well furnished accommodations maintained by our house keeping and maintenance staff along with the resort amenities offered, we are indeed a perfect vacation destination. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

absolutely loved everything about this accommodation. it was bright clean and airy and had everything we could need. there was televisions in every room and Wi-Fi which you definitely need when travelling with teenagers. the pool had loads of loungers a bar a games room and there was party nights for kids on a Friday and Saturday evening which were very popular with both kids and adults. would be definitely staying here again the next time I go to Florida. location ideal for the theme parks and a well stocked Publix supermarket across the road. also great location for malls and outlets. x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank lee-ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It's always nice to hear good things about your stay at Vista Cay by Millenium. We value your business and comments and hope to see you back here in Orlando soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,901 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,408 reviews
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Cay

Property: Vista Cay
Address: 4874 Cayview Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Cay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront luxury condominium vacation resort located in the heart of the attractions and entertainment district on International Drive and Universal Blvd. Featuring beautifully appointed 2 & 3 bedroom / 2 bath condo-suites and 3 bedroom 3.5 bath town homes. Located only 3 miles from Universal Studios, 1 mile from Sea World and 0.25 from the Orange County Convention Center. Close to world class shopping, dining & entertainment. Amenities feature FREE Wi-FI, free parking, free local and long distance phone calls (domestic including Canada & Puerto Rico), in-room safes, business center, loyalty guest program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vista Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Cay Resort By Millenium Hotel Orlando
Vista Cay Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing