We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regardless of onsite bars/club; an ambarrassment to all gays”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parliament House Resort
Ranked #284 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Regardless of onsite bars/club; an ambarrassment to all gays”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

As a repeat guest, I crash here instead of risking a DUI.

The discounted price of $68.00 is not cheap considering how dumpy the rooms and property is.

My room was fairly clean with decent linens, a fridge and microwave. Everything worked but at the same time was stained, matted, burned or defaced in some matter. It all needs to be thrown out!

Bar tenders are ncie enouph and poor a strong drink. Front desk guys were friendly and professional.

Onsite restaurant and bars are dark, tired and worn. The whole place smells like a toilet cake.

Portable tents, pop-up bars and plastic lawn funiture are all discolored white; ugly and cheap.

Too many drag queens! Needs more strippers that are over 19 and adult size...

There's no hot tub? The lake front beach is a flouded rock quarry; smells like a swamp.

Security is a joke; harassing the paying guests for playing around/showing some skin while allowing the local street trash and prostitues to run-a-muck.

The owners need to take direction from guest houses in Fort Lauderdale and Palm Springs. Wall off the property, make the pool and back half clothing optional, charge a premium for walk-ins', not one under 21yo, gut the guest rooms/start fresh and double the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    26
    34
    24
See reviews for
2
41
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Sadly to say I have mixed feelings about this place. Let's start with check in. The guy at the front desk should not be working there - very rude with an unfriendly attitude. When I asked if I could change my poolside room (very noisy) to the back of the hotel he bruskly told me there were non available. I told him I counted at least 8 rooms that were empty back there and magically there was a room available. What a snot. On the other hand, I talked with the owner of the property for a while and she was a complete doll. What a nice woman. The hotel itself looks old and rundown, although I did see landscaping people working the grounds. The room was dirty with stained carpets and stained old furniture, but the bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. But hey, at $33 a night what do you want? (thats the special they are now running-3nights for $99 - a real bargain). Problem is that if you don't have a car you're stuck there. Even one of the security guards said that the neighborhood was very dangerous and you should not walk anywhere, even during the day. The pool was cool and the people were friendly. A smattering of hustler action and people playing 'balcony bingo' but I did meet a few hot guys...if you're looking for action this is the place to get it. This is also the place to get a cheap, stiff drink as well- there are 5 bars I think and a restaurant that was actually pretty good. So all in all, I had a good time. But I think that if they want the place to be great, they should put a little money into it - do some painting, get rid of some of that crappy furniture and clean the place up. A little money would go a really long way - oh and get rid of that snotty guy at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night pick a room at the back of the hotel with the lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel portion of this business is nothing more than a glorified bath house. The rooms are very out dated, poor functioning A/C, run down furniture, and disgusting bath room. The A/C was not working in my room and had to be moved to an alternate room. The front desk clerk, Randy, was rude and full of "gay" attitude. He has no business working in a position that interacts with the public. The restaruant, Rainbow Cafe, was absolutely horrible. I order the pasta with meatballs. It was precooked spagetti noodles that were over done and re-heated with number 10 can sauce and microwaved frozen meat balls. I would be embarressed to serve that to anyone. The clubs and shows were nice but the hotel is a complete dump. Very shameful for the entire gay community.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MidwestTravlerSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toyota123
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My partner and I have stayed here on many occassions, hoping that it got better. They are now out of receivorship and still do not appear to be putting money into the hotel.
Rooms -
If you are looking for a fancy room - not here. They do an ok job of trying to keep them clean, yet they are old and falling to pieces. The carpets are a mess, the tubs are nasty,
etc. Everytime I stay here I have marks - like little bites on my body .
Bartenders -
like any bar - they are nice to you when you are buying drinks and tipping them, stop
buying drinks and most ( not all ) don't give you the time of the day.
Food -
The resturaunt is actually pretty good and resonably priced to . Great service everytime
I go.
Grounds :
Horrible - kind of the " lipstick on a pig " . They spruce up an area or two and then let the
rest go. It may be me, but I do not think anyone staying at any hotel should be able to look out your window and see a porta potty, large trash dumpster, storage of signs etc.
and there are many rooms that those are all that you can see. I have seen nicer hotels
hide them with large schrubs, fences, etc. and clean or paint the side walks, please.
overall :
One could say the rooms were cheap at $65.00 a night , yet no other hotel on Orange
Blossom trail charges that much in this neighborhood - so they are not cheap.
It seems the dirtier this place gets the more dirty people it attracts. There used to be
cruising of nice people. now it is dirty hookers and homelss people from the trail.
I really need to find a nicer place to hang out - even my friends don't want to hang
out with me because I go to this dump.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toyota123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

You have to know what to expect here in order to make this place work.

1. This is a Gay Resort..(motel) it has 5 bars attached to it.. A pool bar..a bear bar, a disco, a video bar and a Theatre. As a gay man.. I had planned on visiting this place for drinks on my trip to florida.. I dont drink and drive so I decided to stay here. For that alone its perfect.

2. No frills room.. I paid 65 dollars a night for a room facing Rock Lake. The lake is actually nice. The room should just be a place to change, shower and sleep.. They are out of date and need a good rehaul.. There are no shower gels or creams. not even a hair dryer. (Housekeeping might have one). I brought my own and I was fine.

3. The resort is a great place to cruise guys.. (some young, some old.. some you have to pay) if that isnt for you and you want a special suite where you are pampered and close to the parks . go somewhere else. There are plenty of cheap nice places closer to parks.. they also have screaming kids.

4. Location is not great either, but again it has the bars and a cute pool . It has shows and entertainment. (Raja from drag race was just here) - drinks are 2.50!. and the food in the restaurant was also fine. Vinny the bartender is Hot and a sweetheart and at night usually just tends bar wearing a jock strap.

5. At night on weekends the entire resort becomes like a night club.. you are allowed to go from bar to bar and pool with drink in hand both inside and out.. was a lot of fun

If you are on a budget and want to have a little fun. stay here. I was able to taxi to downtown to other bars. very close to Universal. Just know what to expect

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Agr8guyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

At around $60.00 per night the rooms don't completely suck. Room #213 was clean, smelled nice, everything worked in the room, had decent linens and pillows.
However room decor is disgusting! No alarm clock, hair dryer, toiletries or adjustable air conditioning. I'd gladly pay more for modern accommodations.

Front desk person was not friendly or forth comming with answers to basic questions. More (professional) security is needed around court yard espscially at night and dawn. Adults like to play with other adults. Anyone under the age of 21 should not be allowed on property or allocated special nights only...

Bar tenders I encountered were super nice and pored a strong drink.

Basic elements of a gay themed resort are missing (strippers, porn, hot tub, clothing optional sun bathing, massages/spa, fun locals, etc). The drag queens/shows is past it's prime and over done...

From the local media I know the property is in financial disaster. For god sakes; get a buyer from Palm Springs or Lauderdale in there and turn the place around....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toyota123
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I live in Orlando and stay at the " P house " so I do not have to drink and drive. The costs of the rooms are fair ( consdiering what you get ). The drink prices are very high.
The building is old and there is not a lot they can do because of that. They do keep the rooms clean considering. They could spend a few more dollars on landscaping -trim the bushes, weed, and put some mulch down - a cheap and nice improvement. They couls also use some fresh paint on the building. side walks, parking spaces. The owners feel they are offering a bargain, so we should be accept the way it looks. There is no bargain here - many Orlando area gay bars are cheaper. The only bargain here is getting a room and avoiding a dui. I would rec the Flamingo in St. Pete if you are looking for a nice gay hotel - prices similar

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyota123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Best Western Orlando West
#228 of 336 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#107 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Resort

Property: Parliament House Resort
Address: 410 N Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32805-1706
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Parliament House Hotel Orlando
Parliament Hotel Orlando
Parliament House Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing