We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is 2am I have 3 layers of clothes on and told they cant change the cool air coming through the airduct...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parliament House Resort
Ranked #284 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“It is 2am I have 3 layers of clothes on and told they cant change the cool air coming through the airduct...”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

As one can see, it takes a lot for me to write a review with one star. This has lived up to it with stars. First, checking in at 10pm on Saturday evening, after a long drive from Atlanta, I was greeted by a jaded attitude filled front desk man...guy in the morning had the same approach. Must be the training. The restaurant service was the direct opposite. I went in several times and the guy working was really really good but unfortunately this is about the hotel. Tonight it is in the 50's and cold out. The room is just as cold. As mentioned, I have three layers on and shivering. I admit I dont like cold weather but THERE IS NOT TEMPERATURE CONTROL IN THE ROOM. I was told that the air was on and that they turned off the air conditioner. I dont feel a difference at all. I was told every four rooms are connected to the same system. The guy made it very clear he was being put out by my asking to turn the ac off and he said it was just the fan and he couldn't. Well, I have my beach towel trying to cover the vent but because it is coming out so strong the bottom doesnt hold in place no matter what I do. Keep going? The beds have obviously well worn as the squeek when one sits on them and they have a plastic covering on them .They advertise they have renovated the place. Holy smokes, if this is renovated I cannot even begin to imagine what it was like before. I have taken pictures and will upload them soon. Meanwhile, I like the property and would be staying if i could but because i cant sleep in this freezing room I will need to look for another place in the morning. Ugh!!! I have travelled to many 3rd world countries and have also lived in them and can tell you the area is quite similar. So, all of this mixed, dont be fooled by the "cheap rates". They should pay you to stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    26
    34
    24
See reviews for
2
41
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having arrived after a long journey from the UK we wanted to have a shower and rest - the room was filthy with stained carpets, cigarette burns on the furniture, and damp in the shower and bath area. The room stank of stale cigarette smoke. The recetionist (Randy) was rude, curt and not at all interested, and as the first person you meet is in urgent need of the meaning of customer service. However, the food in the restaurant and the staff were first rate and it was excellent value for money. The bar staff too were great fun - such a shame that by now we were trying to find an alternative place to stay having had such a bad welcome. The management should consider that not everyone staying there deserves to be made welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter unless you back onto the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

It has been a number of years since i was last at Parliament House. outside it looks the same -- yet continually being maintained.
The hotel is located near city centre, away from the entertainment parks, but if you have a car as most orlando visitors do, you are not far from them -- the city has excellent roads, freeways and toll roads.
The rooms are good and are well maintained by the housekeeping staff who are only ready to make your room up at YOUR convenience. the bedding is wearing a bit thin, but is still clean and fresh. the bed spreads are clean and fresh. mattresses could be flipped and rotated on a regular basis. mattresses were soft, but had a fabulous sleep..I am a non-smoker but ended up in a smoking room (my fault) -- no smell at all!
I checked in on the oct/nov special of three nights for usd99.00. great value.
The Rainbow Cafe meals were good and wholesome. and the wait staff - greg, carlos and ricardo more than attentive. thanks guys!
With more than one bar and entertainment area, one can fit into one's own style or all of them. do check out the muscular/inked bartender in the leather bar -- YUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUM!
The pool area to clean and very well maintained.
i would grade it as a three star hotel and the price reflects that grading. you want four and five stars stay at the big chain hotels without the socialization. it is a good gay friendly property!
Will i return -- DEFINATELY and sooner and later. to the management -- thanks for giving up a great place to party, relax, sun and enjoy!

Room Tip: i prefer being on the second floor, facing the pool so i can get the morning sun. all on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muscletongue3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the Phouse this past fri & Sat nights. The rooms are bad, smelly, old style furniture, carpets are 20 yrs old, bedspreads are the same ones from 10 yrs ago when I went there. There are no in-room amenities, the cost of a room is $75 a night ! on Fri's and Sat's. They have happy hour pricing from 3p-9pm but no one is there but some regulars at those times. The drinks are way overpriced even if they are strong. Small plastic cups for $7.00 and doubles (a little larger cup) is $14-$17 dollars depending on the brand of alcohol. The nightclub bartenders could care less about you and if you're having a good time or not. They just want to collect tips and stand there and not interact with any of the guests. I have seen this on way more than one occassion. We ate at the restaurant on Sat night, had the prime rib special ($14.99) and it was pretty good. I read other reviews on here and I agree, transients, homeless, and male hookers (who are all NOT good looking, lol) roam the balcony's at all hours of the day/night. If you want to have your curtains open so you're not staying in a tomb, dont do it, or every slug will stop and gawk inside your room. Security is non-existant and this part of town is in the highest crime rated area. There is nothing to do during the day here, so ur basically trapped on-property sitting in ur drapes drawn dark room all afternoon.

Phouse needs to either make this a real "resort" or rename it a bathhouse. Stop prentending that this place is any better than the hotels down the street that rents out rooms by the hour. I have come here for a long time and this is the worst I have seen, as a delapitated hotel that needs an overhaul, get rid of the all current bar/hotel staff and start ALL over. (Also the timeshare building they put up should be turned into upscale hotel rooms for about $100. Who wants to own a timeshare in the worst part of town, next to nothing but drug houses, and hooker hotels, come on. Geez).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and go to a smaller gay bar thats probably more fun and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TruthAboutRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

As a reviewer of hotels I have to rate the hotel as poor. If it was not a gay party establishment I would run away screaming. It is pretty gross and although the sheets and towels seemed clean, the place is just in disrepair. The bathroom was gross. The carpet was gross. 25 cents for ice. Sure, it is extremely cheap. But cheap in the bad sense of the word. HOWEVER, it is a good time and you can let loose and be loud and party and nobody cares. Anything goes. There are scome crusty weird people walking around during the day from the surrounding neighborhood which is not nice. We really did have fun, and I probably would stay here again to avoid a DUI. But really the place needs a million dollars to get it to where it should be. Cheeseburgers were good in the restaurant by the way. This place is definitely fun. Do not expect a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TropicalTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

As a repeat guest, I crash here instead of risking a DUI.

The discounted price of $68.00 is not cheap considering how dumpy the rooms and property is.

My room was fairly clean with decent linens, a fridge and microwave. Everything worked but at the same time was stained, matted, burned or defaced in some matter. It all needs to be thrown out!

Bar tenders are ncie enouph and poor a strong drink. Front desk guys were friendly and professional.

Onsite restaurant and bars are dark, tired and worn. The whole place smells like a toilet cake.

Portable tents, pop-up bars and plastic lawn funiture are all discolored white; ugly and cheap.

Too many drag queens! Needs more strippers that are over 19 and adult size...

There's no hot tub? The lake front beach is a flouded rock quarry; smells like a swamp.

Security is a joke; harassing the paying guests for playing around/showing some skin while allowing the local street trash and prostitues to run-a-muck.

The owners need to take direction from guest houses in Fort Lauderdale and Palm Springs. Wall off the property, make the pool and back half clothing optional, charge a premium for walk-ins', not one under 21yo, gut the guest rooms/start fresh and double the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Sadly to say I have mixed feelings about this place. Let's start with check in. The guy at the front desk should not be working there - very rude with an unfriendly attitude. When I asked if I could change my poolside room (very noisy) to the back of the hotel he bruskly told me there were non available. I told him I counted at least 8 rooms that were empty back there and magically there was a room available. What a snot. On the other hand, I talked with the owner of the property for a while and she was a complete doll. What a nice woman. The hotel itself looks old and rundown, although I did see landscaping people working the grounds. The room was dirty with stained carpets and stained old furniture, but the bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. But hey, at $33 a night what do you want? (thats the special they are now running-3nights for $99 - a real bargain). Problem is that if you don't have a car you're stuck there. Even one of the security guards said that the neighborhood was very dangerous and you should not walk anywhere, even during the day. The pool was cool and the people were friendly. A smattering of hustler action and people playing 'balcony bingo' but I did meet a few hot guys...if you're looking for action this is the place to get it. This is also the place to get a cheap, stiff drink as well- there are 5 bars I think and a restaurant that was actually pretty good. So all in all, I had a good time. But I think that if they want the place to be great, they should put a little money into it - do some painting, get rid of some of that crappy furniture and clean the place up. A little money would go a really long way - oh and get rid of that snotty guy at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night pick a room at the back of the hotel with the lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Best Western Orlando West
#228 of 336 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#107 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Resort

Property: Parliament House Resort
Address: 410 N Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32805-1706
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Parliament House Hotel Orlando
Parliament Hotel Orlando
Parliament House Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing