We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good”

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #278 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Florida Center
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So Good”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything we ate was so delish. We had 5 ppl so we each ordered a different meat +vegetarian. It was a good selection of meats. Honey wine is amazing. Must get. We sat in the hut and that was fun in itself. If you dont like to share or dont like to eat with your hands, dont sit in the hut. The hut is for one giant plate in the center being shared with others. No utensils necessary. But it's ethiopian, I wanted to be authentic!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    85
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“LOVED THIS PLACE!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been wanting to try Nile for quite some time and were not disappointed.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and willing to give advice to newbies. I don't like spicy food so I needed help making sure we ordered mild flavors.
The sambusa was wonderful. It was probably the only somewhat spicy item but still not too spicy to enjoy. We got a bit of everything and liked everything we tried.
We loved the lentils and the yellow split peas. The meat dishes and other vegetables were very good as well.
It is a fun way to eat and served in one big platter like other authentic Ethiopian restaurants. This would be a great place to go with large groups as it is a different atmosphere and experience than most.
You do need to be willing to try new things and may be a little challenging for young picky kids. However, I would still go and encourage them to try. In fact, kids may love the fact that they can eat with their hands!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeFlorida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
269 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I thought it was just ok.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I LOVE Ethiopian food, but found this food just ok. The prices are fair and the staff were super efficient. The food was too spicy for my small kids. They told us they would be able to put something together for kids, but once we arrived they really didn't have any options. The yellow lentils (I think) were good but that was it for my kids, if you kids eat greens and pickled cabbage you may have better luck. Overall, I would say I have had more flavorful Eithiopian food elsewhere. Also, the bread is not gluten free (it is at other places).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had dinner last nile at the Nile Ethiopian Restaurant. We were a group of 5 people and sat at the traditional seating area. The restaurant has a very friendly atmosphere and the service was personalised and excellent! The food was served in the traditional Ethiopian way, and was delicious. Post dinner, we had Ethiopian coffee, which was superb and served with traditional ceremony.

This was my first experience with Ethiopian food and I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and fantastic experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We loved it here! It was our first time trying Ethiopian food and we were not disappointed. Our service was wonderful, and the food was delicious. Very clean, spacious restaurant, definitely worth a visit if you are anywhere near Orlando and like Ethiopian food or are up to a new, fun dining experience :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank triptips4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing