We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best western Universal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #107 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The property is very nice if a bit worn. The pool, lobby and hot tub are all great. Employees are friendly and helpful. Great value and very family friendly. Centrally located by Universal and close to Seaworld and Disney

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for a week on vacation. The front desk staff was courteous. We inspected our room, found no problems, and checked-in smoothly at the confirmed discounted rate. The bedroom and bath were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was hot. The A/C, fridge, microwave, iron, and coffee maker all worked fine. The furnishings were all fine. The 3rd party ticket stand attendant in the lobby was friendly and offered some suggestions for dining and site-seeing. He gave us some great coupons for the Boston Lobster Feast on Intl Dr., which we used. He also sells theme park tickets; but we bought ours before arriving in Orlando. The free breakfast offered changing selections daily. The seating is limited; but the food was good and hot. The selection included eggs, breakfast meats, waffles, pancakes, potatoes, hot/cold cereal, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, and coffee/tea/juice. There is free shuttle service to the theme parks. Sign up early for them; and get to the lobby early. They fill up quickly (12-passenger vans). Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure are both literally right across the highway from the hotel. So we had no problem walking over. The shuttle goes to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and Sea World; but not Disney.Not an issue, since Disney wasn't part of our trip this time. The shuttle drivers were friendly. There is also a local trolley/bus that goes right down International Drive for about $2 each way. We caught it to the lobster buffet and back from Sea World with no problems. The bus stops are only 1 or 2 blocks from hotel. There's a Japanese steakhouse, a Burger King, a Golden Coral, and a Walgreen's right in the same parking area as the hotel. The outdoor pool was small and clean. The in-rooom WiFi worked fine for us. Our room was serviced each day by the time returned. We got USA Today in the lobby each morning. Check-out was hassle-free and our bill was accurate. This is no 5-star hotel; but we didn't expect it to be for the price. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends/family.

Room Tip: You can see the nightly fireworks from the rooms on the front of the hotel. Go to the lobby early to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotMyPassport007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you're looking for a good place to stay, look no further. If you're going to spend a lot of time here instead of going out to local attractions, then you might want to keep looking.

The room was clean and well appointed. Someone in another review mentioned the heavy doors being shut making noise and I did hear that a time or two, but I think that most people after they shut it like that once, try not to again.

The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices. Once I see make-it-yourself waffles the breakfast is going to get a good review from me. I love them.

The elevator was a little problem though and apparently didn't work right if there are more than 3 people on it. I'm sure they'll get that fixed, but it did lead to some amusing times with fellow lodgers.

As far as parking, I think what happens is that people that aren't staying there park in the lot and walk over to Universal therefore taking up spaces for the guests. Not sure what the hotel can do about that if anything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We enjoyed staying here. The location was great. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was clean. The pool was nice and it was clean. The front desk staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices. We are always glad to have an in-room safe, so was glad to see one in our room. Were also glad to have a refrigerator. We did not use the microwave, but nice to know it was available. We did use the laundry facility, which was great to have since we had traveled for a week before we hit this hotel. The hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We got here and the entire lot, including the surrounding restaurants, was completely full. When we went inside to ask about parking, we were told we could park in the grass behind the hotel. This is absolutely ridiculous, as the grass is about a foot high and the curbs are quite high. The room was decent. An average room, nothing special. The hotel is most definitely not within walking distance of the Universal theme parks. It's about a 30 minute walk, which no one wants to commute after walking around a theme park for hours. The elevator was also broken for quite a while, and when it was finally repaired, it jolted up to the third floor and sounded like something had been hit. This is by far, the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel was generally consistent with what we've come to expect from a Best Western. Location was easy to find. Room was a good value for the price. Wide parking spaces meant easy access in and out of car. Check in went smoothly. Good size room. Comfortable beds. Appreciate the in-room refrigerator and safe. Breakfast area on smallish size. Breakfast was adequate with food selections similar to other Best Westerns. First floor elevator access is awkward.

Room was noisy. Not from other guests, but from the infrastructure. Door to hall was metal, heavy and tended to stick. Needed a strong push to open with a bang. Closing needed a strong pull with a corresponding bang. A/C was extremely noisy and disrupted our sleep first night. A cycle began with a noisy fan, and then an extremely loud compressor that sounded like it had a bad belt or bearing kicked in. Then back to noisy fan and finally off. Repeat several times an hour. Made for a long night. We slept better the second night because weather was mild so we turned the unit off. Toilet was noisy. Bathroom exhaust was noisy.

Shower was good once we learned how to operate it. The volume knob was so loose it took several turns to get a proper flow. With each turn it wobbled so badly I thought it would fall off. I wonder how a hotel that has people presumably running the shower as part of cleaning duties can let something like that go unfixed.

Maid service was good. Staff was friendly and special requests were accommodated. Pool area was clean and pool seemed well maintained. Within a one block walk was a Chinese restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a sports bar/pub, Starbucks, Golden Corral, Carrabba's Italian restaurant, a Walgreen's and a gift shop. Millenia Mall about 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is not far from Universal Studios. The Millenia Mall is nearby as well. The rooms are large with a 40" inch flat screen TV, fridge and safe. The room was clean. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast was OK for being in the US. We lived at the second floor in room 210 and it was quite quiet. The pool is surrounded by the hotel on three sides so it was kind of "private" and not too visible. The staff was very helpful. The hotel areas outside of the room is not so fancy. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Clarion Inn & Suites
#128 of 342 in Orlando
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Address: 5618 Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Plus Universal Inn Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing