We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #108 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Really nice hotel,. front desk staff speaks english and spanish perfectly and are very helpful with everything we asked. Breakfast was nice but there could be more tables. They offer shuttle to universal and disney parks which is great. Right next to the hotel, there is a Wallgreens, a Starbucks and Miller's ale house. Also, Universal parks are 15 minutes walking distance!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two weeks in December. First impressions were great, it looks good from the outside. It is in a cluster of amenities - other hotels, a Walgreens, TGI Friday's, several other restaurants - lots of places very closeby to pop out for necessities and meals.

Location is great: it is literally across the road from Universal - it took us 15 - 20 mins to stroll over there each day. It's a couple of miles from Walmart - about 8 mins in a taxi or an hour's walk - we did both. It's a 25 minute car journey from Disneyworld, and about a 15 minute car trip from The Florida Mall for those shopaholics who want to know :)

Inside, the hotel is nice and clean - it's not fancy by any means, but it's perfect for a place to stay when visiting Orlando. The lobby is welcoming and spacious, the breakfast area is clean and tidy, there's a computer room with internet and a printer, vending machines, on the First Floor there is a self-service laundry room at $1.50 per use for washer and $1.50 for use of drier (TIP - if you want to use this, there's a vending machine at the end of that floor's hallway that sells detergent), the pool is open til 11pm, the fitness centre is on the First Floor and has a variety of exercise machines. There is no restaurant in this hotel, but there are so many places to eat nearby it really doesn't matter: they also provide menus and coupon codes to order in food for delivery to the room. We ordered Dominos a few nights - it's delivered right to your room.

The room we were in was perfect. We were offered a choice of two queen beds or one king, and took the king. The bed was MASSIVE - so good! And so comfortable - we both agreed it was the most comfortable bed we ever slept in. There's plenty of lamps in the room so it was nicely lit - it was a bit difficult at first to figure out which light-switch operated which lamp but when we figured it out it was fine. There are plenty of electrical sockets throughout the room including by the bed. Room was a good size, there was a good-sized fridge and a microwave, not a huge amount of wardrobe space though. There is also a safe in the room for valuables. The bathroom was roomy, shower was great and easy to operate. Room was clean, and kept clean throughout our entire stay by housekeeping. A bit of upgrading wouldn't go amiss, it was slightly outdated and may have needed some painting, but that really didn't affect us at all. We didn't have any issue with noise - we found the hotel to be quiet and peaceful.

The free breakfast served between 7 and 10 am was perfect. There was a great variety of items - hot items: eggs every morning and a rotation of pork sausages, turkey sausages, french toast, biscuits and gravy, waffles, pancakes… Every morning there was also three cereals, granola, two yoghurts, brown/white toast, muffins, porridge and a few other things, teas, coffees, juices.

Service was amazing, the staff were so friendly and ready to help with anything. In the mornings there is a dedicated attraction help person there to book shuttles, tickets and help with any queries you may have in that area. A small bit of advice though, if you have a question in the evening I'd wait til morning unless it's urgent, the night reception staff didn't seem to be quite as up-to-date with goings-on. I was able to order packages to be delivered to the hotel and had no problems with them minding them for me.

Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you're going to Universal. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

contrary to previous reviewer's experience, my 1 week stay at this hotel was good. The room size is comparable to courtyard marriott's. I did not find the hotel noisy at all. Staff was friendly. Complementary breakfast was excellent. House keeping was satisfactory. Since I hired a car the location didn't matter. Now here are 2 areas where this hotel needs to improve on --- There isn't enough parking on weekends. If you get there between 7pm - 11pm, good luck at finding a parking spot. The wi-fi signal was weak, at least in my room. Also clicking ads to be able to use internet was laughable. But given the issues I would still use this hotel again because pros outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuli z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Pros: the hotel was enjoyable. The staff is friendly and the hotel's overall look was nice and relaxing. The price was also great when using the online discount. The Cons: When we first stayed the night, I noticed that the electrical socket I tried to charge my phone was not working which also meant the lamp it used was not able to turn on. The bathtub faucet was always leaking but was ignored. The remote was not working properly since some buttons were not working or had to be pressed hard. At night, there was a loud tapping noise coming from or near the fire detector which lasted 10min but stopped after.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chuck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We founded this hotel chain perfect on every aspect and certainly a great value and conveniently placed. We do not need to look for other hotel anymore. We are hooked on Best Western and their complimentary breakfast is a great start while traveling..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank KatherineSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Clean, Great Amenities, Free Breakfast, Free Parking and Shuttle to Universal Studio. Ten minute drive to Disney World, Sea World and all other area attractions. Walking distance to Family restaurants and driving distance to Convention Center with unlimited Restaurant choices and shopping. Great Choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Don't know what it costs to stay on campus at Universal because 3 weeks ahead of time, their website showed no availability. But this place was available, relatively inexpensive, clean, close with some nice amenities. We enjoyed our room the little bit we were in it and as has been said its only a 15 minute walk from the park. They do provide an 8:00 shuttle which works great. There is a good breakfast, including meat every morning which in light of the fact that food at Universal is either very expensive, very bad or both is a very important fact. We were able to make our breakfast last until evening one of the days we were there and wished we had done this both days. Add it up; shuttle, breakfast, quiet, clean rooms, helpful staff equals excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Clarion Inn & Suites
#120 of 341 in Orlando
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Address: 5618 Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Plus Universal Inn Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing