We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place at a value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #109 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Goffstown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place at a value”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel was clean, modern, and staff always helpful. A short walk to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure or you could take a free shuttle. Breakfast Buffet has both hot and cold items. If there was one bad thing to say it is that there was only one washer and dryer available for guest use.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 711walterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    495
    180
    22
    31
See reviews for
612
317
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had to make a last minute stopover in Orlando. I had spent too much time walking around the Outlet Mall on International Drive so I was too tired to head out of town. I did a web search on area hotels and this nearby hotel came up at a very reasonable price, which included a full breakfast. I didn't book online but called the hotel directly to make the reservation and they were able to offer an even lower rate.

The hotel is located behind a small shopping complex that had a Walgreens, Alehouse and some other stores and restaurants. There is ample parking. Check in was a smooth and quick process. I got a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the parking lot but that was fine for overnight and there was no issue with outside noise. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable with an over abundance of pillows.

They had sufficient choices for breakfast. I opted for strawberry waffles (I made it in the waffle machine) with sausage and eggs. If you are having waffles, pour the batter, then gather the rest of your breakfast items and make your coffee. Your waffle will be ready by then. The eggs were a bit soggy, but that could be because it came out of a box. They also had oatmeal, toast, biscuits and such. The breakfast area is small so I recommend going early to get a seat or you may have to take it to the room.

Overall I was happy with the location, accomodation and service, so I will definitely return when next I'm in town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Verna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Large comfortable beds and clean rooms impress, but the free complementary breakfast clinched it for me. Friendly helpful staff.
Starbucks around the corner and supermarket on the corner also convenient.
Having payed around $40 a night more to stay in another local hotel that was not really as nice I would stay here again.
Free WiFi helpful to check in online & print return boarding passes for US airways return flights to UK =excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeah009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
465 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place is located very close to Universal Studios. You can sign up to ride a bus but we chose to drive. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast consisted of all the usual plus eggs, biscuits, sausage, and waffles. The area was clean and the coffee extremely hot. The drain in our tub did not hold water but they made a not to fix it. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, easy to get around from here.Very quiet and clean. Better breakfast with hot food, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, pancakes. The one negative is very small eating area. You do have to share the parking with other businesses but its free.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsc900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent location to Universal. You can walk to the park in 15 minutes if you like. The shuttle was always on time. There are two times am and pm to catch it. Hot breakfast was excellent. The beds were too soft for our liking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Best Western Plus Universal Inn in just over a year. Our flight was delayed so we did not arrival until about 3am to the hotel. The gentleman at the front desk had everything ready for us and we were quickly in our room. Considering it was so late I was genuinely surprised to be greeted with a warm smile and to be advised " we have been waiting for you". It was a bright point in a very bad travel day. This hotel provides shuttles to and from Universal and Sea world and the shuttle driver is very helpful and considerate and makes sure you know where to be and what time. Also, staff at front desk and gentleman that helps you obtain passes to attractions are very knowledgeable of area and willing to help and provide information. Sometimes there is a language barrier with cleaning staff but my fault not theirs. They speak more english then I do spanish and I wish I could say I had a working knowledge of two languages. The breakfast is more then adequate and area is kept clean and food is always filled. The coffee is fresh and when doing the parks all day, the added boost is welcome. As always, the staff is friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable. My only concern is if staying on weekend, parking is hard to find due to close proximity a few restaurants in area and nightlife and that is only if you are after 11pm coming back to hotel. The hotel staff try to help in those situations. Overall great value and a great place to stay, especially if you do not want to be on resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#114 of 337 in Orlando
426 reviews
Florida Center
Hampton Inn closest to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Address: 5618 Vineland Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Plus Universal Inn Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing