We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #109 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great group experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our church group from Texas recently spent 3 nights at this property. The hotel was very accommodating. We had a large group with several rooms. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was a great way to begin a morning of sight seeing. This hotel is in a great location. It is close to Holy Land and Universal Studios / Island of Adventure. We would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who will be traveling to Orlando Florida.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    495
    180
    22
    31
See reviews for
612
317
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
230 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We asked twice for a quiet room and were put in room 316 which was right next to the elevator, so every time someone went to the elevator you heard it beep 5 times- they need to eliminate the beep, plus the noise of people all having to walk by your room. In addition, we were right over the entrance to the hotel and that is where the smokers would congregate and smoke during all hours of the night 11pm-3am, they were very loud, we could hear everything they said in our room. It was especially annoying because we were tired from going to Universal Studios every day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I really have no complaints about this hotel. Stayed here back in the fall when me and my spouse wanted to see Universal studios for the weekend. The place was super clean and the staff were extremely nice. We flew in early way before check in. They allowed us to keep our stuff locked in their staff room while we go see the park. By the time we came back room was ready and our stuff was safe.

Breakfast:
The morning breakfast was perfectly fine to me. the comments some have about the eggs I would have to agree with. I didn't eat them. But everything else was fine. Cereal and milk, pancakes, waffles, toast, juices, etc etc. All we needed was something to get us started in the morning before we headed to the park and we were pretty satisfied.

Rooms:
We were given a room on the first floor by the housekeeping room and I refused to stay there because i wanted to sleep in and didn't want to be disturbed by early staff. I asked to change our room and front desk politely did so without any hesitation. Ended up on the 2nd floor. Our room was clean but a little musty smelling though. But every room is not like that. Our first room didn't smell at all.

The Area:
The hotel is located in a pretty nice spot. It's like in a parking lot. You have burger king to your right, Golden Coral buffet (which i don't suggest) and another restaurant in front of the hotel. You don't have to cross any streets to get to these places. There is also a cheap gift shop in between the restaurants. Now across the street I do remember an IHOP and Carabbas. Both walking distance

Distance to Park:
Now this is more of a personal opinion. I really thought this was walking distance to Universal. Even though yes it can be. But its a mighty long walk. And in the humid weather, we weren't even about to try. Took the morning shuttle to the park (make sure u sign up in the lobby). On our way back we took a yellow cab. The total came out less than $6. Do not ask the hotel to send a cab for you. They will use a private company that charges a ridiculous price. Take the yellow cabs!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poochie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was average. It had a strange odor of overwehelming cleaning agents when we first got into the building.Also the driver to Universal told us he would be arriving back at the park at 8 pm but found out it was really 8:20. We could have enjoyed the park a little bit more if we had known that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wonderful arrival experience at the reception counter. The staff who tended to us was mature, knowledgeable, courteous and extremely knowledgeable. The kind of employee that was once emblematic of the good service Americans provided. My first stay at Marriott and even though it was more that I was willing to pay, it was really worth it. Thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lucypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here because it was close to Universal Studios. It was a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the front gate but they also offered a shuttle. We were very pleased with the accommodations and service. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We promised our son a trip for graduating from College and he selected Orlando, FL with access to both Universal Studios and Disneyworld, but did not wish to stay at either resort's hotels. When he was younger we stayed twice at Disneyworld hotels and he wanted a different experience. We all had a great experience at the hotel, the full breakfast helped control our food costs, and it was a convenient drive to both Resorts. We found the staff quite helpful and courteous during our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great value for the service- many folks we spoke with were amazed at the services and quality we received for the very reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#114 of 337 in Orlando
426 reviews
Florida Center
Hampton Inn closest to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Address: 5618 Vineland Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Plus Universal Inn Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing