We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably nice in the 1980s, but not for this decade!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #180 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably nice in the 1980s, but not for this decade!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is REALLY tired. The woodwork and decor are straight out of the 1980s, and not in a good way. Service as good and has a Westin heavenly bed, and the location is great if you're going to Epcot. The only reason to stay here is if you are willing to sacrifice a modern hotel for convenience to Epcot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank crsWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your valued opinion. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our location along with our well-known Westin Heavenly Beds. Thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to future enhancements to our resort. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    1,670
    1,025
    479
    321
See reviews for
2,423
957
75
1,181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The Swan and Dolphin are two large Westin-operated properties that still have Disney resort benefits, including complimentary Disney park transportation and fast-pass ticket upgrades. They are both very large and starting to show their age.

Built at the end of the Miami-vice era (1990), the color scheme reminds the guest of said era, and the hotel owner seems to be adamantly sticking to it (fresh coats of teal and pink paint were being applied on arrival).

He rooms were clean, and large enough. The Disney Boardwalk is very convenient. There is a mandatory resort charge of $20 for wi-if and long distance. Buffet breakfast is available but expensive at $25 per person.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 2pctmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our location in the heart of Walt Disney World as well as the additional Walt Disney World benefits we offer to our guests. Thank you for your valued feedback. We are continually making enhancements to our iconic resort. We are glad you enjoyed a refreshing and relaxing stay in your room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a fantastic vacation here with my wife and 3 year old daughter. Was a very comfortable hotel with fantastic access to all of the disney parks. A wonderful choice of restaurants with many more to choose from at Epcot, only a 10/15 minute walk away.
Paid with starwood points and can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libanyu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful you enjoyed our unique and plentiful choices for dining as well as our location between the Walt Disney World parks and attractions. Thank you for being a Starwood Preferred Guest, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The service is great, the location is great, the bus service to the parks is great and the walk to Epcot and the Studios is very nice. The landscaping around the two hotels is beautiful. Take time to look at the plants etc. We were at the Dolphin and the beds are wonderful. Only small complaint is the counter space in the bathroom..not big enough..everything is clean but getting 'tired'. Still, I love the Swan and Dolphin. The bar and restaurant by the lap pool is very good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethinwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our landscape throughout our property as well as our location in the heart of Walt Disney World. We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful beds as well. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Disney Swan for 5 nights, as my husband was attending a conference at the hotel. First, let me say the staff is excellent & very attentive. Beyond that this resort is very disappointing. The outside of the building looks very interesting but once you pass through the revolving doors, it's feel like you have been transported back to the 80's & not in a good way! The entire interior looks worn, dated & is screaming to be remodeled. Once, we arrived in our room, I couldn't believe my eyes & kept asking myself "Is this really a Westin hotel?". The only thing in the room that looked new was the beds (and they were the comfortable Westin beds), everything else was worn & tired looking. We had a balcony on our room, which the paint was peeling & appeared to have green mold growing on it, along with balconies on the rooms next to ours. As for plugs, forget trying to charge your electronics. The lamp had a plug that was occupied by the alarm clock. There where 2 other plugs (one on the floor by the balcony door (didn't work) bathroom next to sink (who wants their iPad & laptop next to the sink?)). Housekeeping did a good job but the fact that the room looked so old & worn, made it feel not clean. We tried calling guest services, but every time they answered, the phone disconnect. Stopped at desk to tell them & was informed that has been an issue for a few weeks. The friendly desk clerk did assist us. The phone never did work to call guest services during our stay.

You are charged a daily resort fee which covers Internet & the workout center. Why? I'm a high level SPG preferred member & get free internet at any other property. Why do I have to pay for the work out center, when I didn't have time to use it. If you rent a car that's another charge to park (should be included in the resort fee).

As for the restaurants they are enjoyable & the food tasty, except the Garden Grove, very sad food. Our waitress Shirley was great! During the day forget getting a drink at the bar, as none of them open until late afternoon, even the coffee shop closed after breakfast. :-(

The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's staff!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank PatrickBoyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Patrick, thank you for being our guest. We are so pleased you experienced the friendly and attentive service that all of our Cast Members aim to provide. Your valued opinion is appreciated and we do want to share that we continually make enhancements to our resort.
Please accept our apologies for the difficulty you experienced with reaching out to our Guest Services team. Our Systems Leadership team has been notified so that we can address this concern. We do offer two poolside bars and lounges that are open during the day (weather permitting). Your feedback has been shared with our Food & Beverage Leadership. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for our anniversary while visiting the Disney parks.

The good
-location - it's a short walk to Epcot with free, efficient shuttles and boats to all other parks.
-hotel facade - gorgeous hotel exterior, lobby and grounds, very clean property
-pool - big, open 24/7
-wonderful, friendly staff
-easy check in/out
-wifi was quick and plentiful
-Comfy bed

The bad
-limited food / shopping options
-very dated rooms, not 4 star caliber. Desperate need of significant renovations
-dated hallways, carpets
-housekeeping seemed to miss the behind and under areas of everything. Dust and debris behind and under furniture. (prior to entering rooms- we opted out of daily sheet and towel change)
-received a 2x queen bed, but had requested a single king. I realize it's availability based, but it's not what I'd hoped for. Prior to this stay, I've never had an issue getting what was requested at booking.

The ugly
-our first room had a few ants. No big deal, just squashed them.
-night 3, there was a large cockroach zipping around. We managed to catch it under a cup.
When I first called down, the staff member asked if I'd like "engineering" to come up. Not sure how that would help, but with the wife pretty grossed out, I instead requested a room change (which we did receive). I understand this is a tropical area, and these are fairly common, but I'd expect that a hotel rated at this caliber would have better preventative measures ensure this does not happen, especially halfway up the hotel in a room lacking openable windows.

About us: we're casual travellers with high end taste, usually aiming for 4star and above hotels. Perhaps Las Vegas has spoiled us a bit too much, because this hotel was just not up to our expectations, should we return to the area, we will not consider this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Andrew, your review is very much appreciated. While we are pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location, many resort amenities, and friendly Cast Members, we are disappointed to hear you did not experience the level of cleanliness that we aim to provide. What you have described is not our standard and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please contact us at ReviewManager@swandolphin.com with your stay details. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Swan, my husband was there for a convention. On the plus side this is in walking distance to Epcot and Hollywood Studios and the Boardwalk. On the negative side, all of the restaurants were expensive here, the pool was closed so you had to walk quite a ways to the Dolphin pool, the girl at the front desk told me upon check in that valet parking was $20, upon getting my bill it was $23 plus tax on that. The rooms had gotten something of a makeover at some point but they only did cosmetic stuff in the bathroom, it was still quite small and outdated. The hallways did not get updated and have the ugliest wallpaper and carpet. My biggest problem with this hotel was the dirty bathroom. The toilet had pee and hair on it when we entered the room. The housekeeping staff had not fully cleaned and prepared the room. I always travel with clorox wipes but that was disgusting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
As a seasoned traveler, we greatly appreciate your review. We are glad you were able to take some time to enjoy yourself while your husband was here for a conference. Please accept our apologies for the Swan pool closure during your stay as we work on a property-wide refresh, but we are pleased that you were able to enjoy our other resort pools.
Our Housekeepling leadership has been alerted to your experience. What you have described is not our standard and we apologize for this disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing