We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #178 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dolphin”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were going to spend a day at the Magic Kingdom, and a friend recommended we stay here. You can't beat the convenience of buses and boats to visit the parks. You are able to walk over to the boardwalk from the hotel for food and nightlife. Overall we had a nice stay. It is showing its age in some spots, but remains beautiful. Only complaint was a housekeeper knocking on the door before 9am. We are planning a return in the fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular room. Didn't see the need to spend the extra bucks for resort or park vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad you chose us for your quick trip to Orlando. We are pleased that our location in proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions was beneficial to you, and that you were able to visit the Boardwalk and take part in the nightlife there.
Thank you for your feedback about your Housekeeping experience; we have made Housekeeping Leadership aware of your concerns. We are happy to welcome you back again in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    1,640
    1,011
    464
    318
See reviews for
2,383
943
75
1,150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has the advantage of not being a disney property - but with all the advantages of disney - extra magic hours, disney transportation, etc - very good access to the boardwalk.

Unfortunately - there are also some minuses -

The buses during peak times are non-existent. We waited for an hour for a bus to the magic kingdom during morning extra magic hours and it only arrived after several calls to Disney transportation. (they assured us that the buses ran every 15 minutes even after we had been standing there for 30).

The room cleaning was spotty - one day the coffee maker wasn't cleaned, the next day my bed wasn't made (not just clean sheet- the entire bed wasn't made), the next, I didn't get towels. It wasn't that they didn't come - it just wasn't consistent. In addition, the rooms were a little run down - could use some upgrading. In addition, while trying to take a nap one afternoon - the housekeeping staff proceeded in banging the door next door at least 20 times going in and out - they didn't seem to be able to do anything quietly. They also showed up at 8:00 the morning of checkout (we hadn't even left the room let alone checked out) knocking on the door wanting to clean it.

There are better places to stay -

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Disney benefits we have here at our resort. We are sincerely sorry, however, for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. While we are unable to influence the timeliness of the Disney transportation, we do apologize for long wait times you experienced. We understand how frustrating it is to wait such a long time when you are trying to start your day at the parks.
What you have described with regards to Housekeeping for your room is not our standard, and our Housekeeping Leadership has been made aware of your concerns. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about the issues you encountered. Please send your full reservation details along with a copy of this review to ReviewManager@swandolphin.com. We hope to have the chance to enhance your experience. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just had to escape this nightmarish winter - found a great deal and booked a weekend getaway to the Walt Disney World Dolphin resort. The resort is incredibly beautiful but the location was superb. Only a "boat ride" away from Epcot and a short stroll to the Boardwalk makes this an ideal vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenI158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are so glad you were able to escape the cold and spend some time in the sun with us! We are glad that you benefited from our central location to the Disney theme parks and attractions, and the complimentary Disney transportation. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For our first visit to Florida with our 2 children aged 14 and 12 we decided to stay in a Disney hotel. The Swan and Dolphin staff were lovely and helpful from beginning to end. I loved the old fashioned style of the hotel, and although the decor was a little bit tired it was clean and comfortable. The area where the hotel is located is beautiful, on a lake with the boat dock right outside, a very short ride to Epcot or Hollywood Studios (though we preferred to walk as it was so close). The shuttle buses from the hotel were convenient, quick and free and we didnt really need the car until it was time to visit Universal and Sea World. We had a great holiday which was really topped off by staying in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Dolphin hotel and therefore the lake, was a beautiful view and we could see the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments! We are so happy to hear that your first visit to Florida and Walt Disney World was a tremendous success, and that you enjoyed your time at the resort. We are glad that you love our hotel as much as we do. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions, as well as the complimentary Disney transportation. We hope to welcome you back to create more magical moments soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from another great golf weekend with the boys! We've stayed at the Swan or Dolphin for the past three years now and couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations, restaurants and service. It's really nice be so close to the Boardwalk too since we got to see the Hawks win!

I highly recommend either property and it's great they're so close together - what one doesn't have the other does! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Robert and thank you for your review of your recent stay. It sounds like you had an amazing time while staying here with us. What a great way to spend time with the boys is by a round of golf and going to the Boardwalk and catching up on the game. Thank you for your kind and generous words about our Cast Members. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first time staying at the Swan and we found it to be a very nice hotel that is conveniently located to both Epcot as well as Hollywood studios. We had a 12th floor room that overlooked Hollywood studios. The hotel was clean, the room was very nice, the pool area was nice and the staff was all friendly. You can get to the two parks mentioned above either by boat or on foot. The Swan is also just a short walk to the Boardwalk hotel and the Yacht and beach club. To get to the Magic Kingdom or to the Animal kingdom you will have to take one of the free buses. I have stayed at 7 or 8 Disney properties over the years and although this property is not owned by Disney it does sit on Disney's land and it does meet Disney standards. I did not comment on the restaurants because we eat all of our meals in the Parks.

Room Tip: Get a higher room facing one of the parks. As always get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Jay and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying here with us. We are glad that your room had a great view of EPCOT and Hollywood Studios and that you were able to enjoy our complementary Disney Transportation from our resort to the parks. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Swan & Dolphin (Dolphin actually) for 4 nights as part of our vacation in Florida. This hotel has one massive advantage over other non-Disney hotels - it's on the property! In this case, that means you get a Disney experience and all the complimentary transport and early access without paying Disney prices.
We had stayed previously at the Yacht Club - just yards from this hotel - and knew that the location was second to none. You can walk to Epcot and the Boardwalk or get a short boat ride to Hollywood Studios ( or walk if it's not too hot).
We paid a little extra for a fireworks view room on the 4th floor. It was a decent size with a nice balcony - spacious enough to sit out with a glass of something at night. In truth, a higher floor would have been a better view but still great.
The hotel building is impressive - especially at night - and although we didn't use the pool, it looked pretty good with a bit more class than many.
Whilst the public areas are good, the rooms were plain and corporate. If you are on a vacation with kids then this might not be right for you. If you are adults and have been to the parks before, this place might just tick all the boxes.
Restaurant-wise, there is an all day place called Picabu that was always open for sit in or takeout. Otherwise, the main restaurants and cocktail bar were well used and there was live music some nights.
So, been before? Doing it all on a budget but want the right location? This might just be the place for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your recent stay here with us at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely and memorable experience! What a great way to end a day is sit outside of your balcony and enjoy the fireworks! Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing