We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #179 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Clearwater
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family has stayed at this resort several times and each experience has been outstanding. It is so nice to be able to walk to Epcot or take the boat to either Epcot or Hollywood Studios. Buses are available to the other resorts as well. Sometimes you just need a couple hours break from the theme parks and being so close allows you to go back, enjoy the pool, eat at a different restaurant and just relax and recharge in your room. The healthiest breakfast buffet is Mediterranean Fresh. Fresh squeezed juices, made order omelets, definitely check it out. Great way to start the day. Pool bar at Dolphin has unique drinks and covered eating. Dolphin has an outstanding spa option as well. It's a busy convention resort so they are always upgrading and improving. Decor is modern and not "disney like". Being next to the Yacht and Boardwalk hotel gives you access to more restaurants and less hectic atmosphere than Downtown Disney. We love it and will be back.

Room Tip: Dolphin is a large convention resort, but very efficient. Swan has 1/4 of the hotel rooms and quiet...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you stay longer than 4 days they give you a credit if you don't have towel and sheets changed. Recycling is in rooms as well.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesouthseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit! We appreciate your continued loyalty at our resort. We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions, as well as the complimentary Disney transportation. We are glad you had a chance to come back to the resort to relax and rejuvenate by our pool area, and that you experienced some of our world-class restaurants. Fresh Mediterranean Market is a fantastic option for breakfast, and we are happy to hear that you had a chance to try their Fresh Juicers! We hope you enjoyed your time at the Mandara Spa and your visits to our neighboring resorts. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,857
    1,655
    1,021
    477
    320
See reviews for
2,408
949
75
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Maine.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First off, this is not a Disney hotel. You will have many of the perks of Disney, including extra magic hours and Disney transportation (except from the airport), but you will have to pay at the park to get magic bands (about $13 a piece) if you want the convenience of having your ticket and fast past all right at your wrist. You cannot charge to your magic band, but we did like the convenience of not searching for our plastic ticket card all the time and it was great for fastpasses. This hotel lacks the Disney theming, and you may be jealous of the beautifully themed BoardWalk and Yacht and Beach Club hotels right outside your door. That said, you are not paying anywhere near the price that you would to stay at those hotels that are just a stone's throw away. You have the benefit of a ferry to Hollywood Studios, the Boardwalk and Epcot, and they are also walkable, although HS is a hearty walk. You will find buses outside on a regular schedule to the other Disney parks, including water parks and Downtown Disney. There are a tremendous number of restaurants to choose from, ranging from quick service to fine dining, so there is something for everyone. Be sure to check out the restaurants at the Yacht and Beach Club and Boardwalk! If you have a park hopper pass, you can enjoy the World Showcase restaurants at EPCOT and don't forget to stay for Illumination at 9:00. it is a unique firework/fire/water show that is not to be missed. The Boardwalk is also a lot of fun at night with carnival games and entertainers. We enjoyed walking back via the Boardwalk to the hotel after Illuminations.

The hotel staff were helpful, our room was clean, although certainly ready for some updating, and we had a nice view of the lake and part of the Boardwalk. We were on the 3rd floor, which is the lobby floor, and while I was worried about noise, it was not a problem. The bathroom was small, but, perfectly serviceable. There were two waters delivered to the room daily as well as Starbucks coffee packets and Tazo teas. My daughter enjoyed pin trading with the folks in Daisy's Garden and the Cabanas who were always friendly and took time to let her peruse the pin boards. We enjoyed the Fresh Marketplace for breakfast, which is a pricey, but consistent with Disney, and Picabo is great for cheaper options and grabbing snacks for the room. The pools areas were very nice and well kept. I wish I had time to grab a drink at the poolside bar which looked very inviting. I

If you come to the Swan and Dolphin expecting a Disney themed resort, you may be disappointed. If you want a prime location with a more traditional hotel experience and many of the perks of a Disney deluxe hotel at a moderate/value price, than this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Nice views from high floors, noise was not a problem from a lower floor. Views towards Epcot are th...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt out of certain room service features and receive a $5 room credit per day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyc15PortlandMaine_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad that our Cast Members provided exceptional service while you were here! We are pleased that our proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions, as well as the complimentary Disney transportation, was advantageous during your stay with us. It is wonderful that you were able to spend some time our pool and recreation areas. We hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the world-class cuisine at our many restaurants on top of your delicious breakfast at Fresh Mediterranean Market.
We are pleased to share that there are plans for a beautiful refresh of our iconic resort. There will be multiple enhancements made to our resort, including our guest rooms. While we await the final design approval and project decisions, it is our duty to care for and maintain our resort with its current design.
Thank you for being our guest, and we would be pleased to welcome you back at any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I had a very nice visit at the WaltDisney World Swan Hotel. We selected this hotel due to it's proximity to Epcot and The Flower Show. This is one of the few times we have traveled here without children or grandchildren. Our room was very nice, it was large and had a balcony overlooking the lake. We were on the second floor so getting to the boat for transportation to either Epcot or Hollywood Studios was very quick and easy. It is also a very short walk to the Boardwalk. The room had a refrigerator so we enjoyed water, soft drinks and tea in the room.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a great Disney location.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the larger rooms with a balcony. It has two sinks and a pullout sofa if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you, Ted, for taking the time to post such positive comments! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and balcony view, as well as the in-room amenities. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions, as well as the complimentary Disney transportation. We hope to welcome you back to our resort soon, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were going to spend a day at the Magic Kingdom, and a friend recommended we stay here. You can't beat the convenience of buses and boats to visit the parks. You are able to walk over to the boardwalk from the hotel for food and nightlife. Overall we had a nice stay. It is showing its age in some spots, but remains beautiful. Only complaint was a housekeeper knocking on the door before 9am. We are planning a return in the fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular room. Didn't see the need to spend the extra bucks for resort or park vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad you chose us for your quick trip to Orlando. We are pleased that our location in proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions was beneficial to you, and that you were able to visit the Boardwalk and take part in the nightlife there.
Thank you for your feedback about your Housekeeping experience; we have made Housekeeping Leadership aware of your concerns. We are happy to welcome you back again in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has the advantage of not being a disney property - but with all the advantages of disney - extra magic hours, disney transportation, etc - very good access to the boardwalk.

Unfortunately - there are also some minuses -

The buses during peak times are non-existent. We waited for an hour for a bus to the magic kingdom during morning extra magic hours and it only arrived after several calls to Disney transportation. (they assured us that the buses ran every 15 minutes even after we had been standing there for 30).

The room cleaning was spotty - one day the coffee maker wasn't cleaned, the next day my bed wasn't made (not just clean sheet- the entire bed wasn't made), the next, I didn't get towels. It wasn't that they didn't come - it just wasn't consistent. In addition, the rooms were a little run down - could use some upgrading. In addition, while trying to take a nap one afternoon - the housekeeping staff proceeded in banging the door next door at least 20 times going in and out - they didn't seem to be able to do anything quietly. They also showed up at 8:00 the morning of checkout (we hadn't even left the room let alone checked out) knocking on the door wanting to clean it.

There are better places to stay -

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Disney benefits we have here at our resort. We are sincerely sorry, however, for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. While we are unable to influence the timeliness of the Disney transportation, we do apologize for long wait times you experienced. We understand how frustrating it is to wait such a long time when you are trying to start your day at the parks.
What you have described with regards to Housekeeping for your room is not our standard, and our Housekeeping Leadership has been made aware of your concerns. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about the issues you encountered. Please send your full reservation details along with a copy of this review to ReviewManager@swandolphin.com. We hope to have the chance to enhance your experience. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just had to escape this nightmarish winter - found a great deal and booked a weekend getaway to the Walt Disney World Dolphin resort. The resort is incredibly beautiful but the location was superb. Only a "boat ride" away from Epcot and a short stroll to the Boardwalk makes this an ideal vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenI158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are so glad you were able to escape the cold and spend some time in the sun with us! We are glad that you benefited from our central location to the Disney theme parks and attractions, and the complimentary Disney transportation. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For our first visit to Florida with our 2 children aged 14 and 12 we decided to stay in a Disney hotel. The Swan and Dolphin staff were lovely and helpful from beginning to end. I loved the old fashioned style of the hotel, and although the decor was a little bit tired it was clean and comfortable. The area where the hotel is located is beautiful, on a lake with the boat dock right outside, a very short ride to Epcot or Hollywood Studios (though we preferred to walk as it was so close). The shuttle buses from the hotel were convenient, quick and free and we didnt really need the car until it was time to visit Universal and Sea World. We had a great holiday which was really topped off by staying in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Dolphin hotel and therefore the lake, was a beautiful view and we could see the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments! We are so happy to hear that your first visit to Florida and Walt Disney World was a tremendous success, and that you enjoyed your time at the resort. We are glad that you love our hotel as much as we do. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the Disney theme parks and attractions, as well as the complimentary Disney transportation. We hope to welcome you back to create more magical moments soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#48 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing