We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at The Dolphin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Ranked #177 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed at The Dolphin”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel had a great kid's club babysitting service. The grounds were very pretty and great restaurants. Room was great and faced the water near the pool. I loved the convenience of the boat to Epcot and Hollywood Studios. The pool area was fantastic and my kids loved hanging out there more than the parks. The one downside was no shuttle service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a great time during their stay. We do hear that often about our Grotto Pool…that kids want to stay there more than the parks! We are thrilled to hear that your children had a great and fun filled time at the Grotto Pool! Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    1,624
    1,005
    461
    316
See reviews for
2,361
937
73
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We orginally booked for 4 days but decieded to extend a extra day due to the rain out one day. Wish I had known the nightmare it would become. When we decieded to stay longer I called guest services and they said yes they have rooms. I went to front desk and inquired with the gentleman working and he said they do have rooms and he have me rate. I explained that was a higher rate than hotels.com and I was a florida resident. He went to get assistance from someone and was gone about 10 minutes as I sat there with 2 little ones aone age 6 the other age 22 months. They came back and looked on computer and they ended up calling reservations. They confirmed everything and had me speak to lady from reservations on phone. I asked the rate and if I could stay in same room as I did not want to move. She asked me my room # and said no problem you will not have to change rooms and so I booked it with her and she said there is no cancellations or refunds.

Immediately as soon as I got off phone the young lady said she cannot guarantee that I can have the same room. I explained what she said and said there is no way I am switching as I have way too much stuff and I would not of extended stay if I had to move rooms for one night. She messed around on computer for a few minutes and said I would have to move I said I wanted to speak with a manager as I was promised something and not given and now i could not get my $ back for that extra day.

Finally 15 more minutes went by and a lady came out from the back. i explained everything. Her response was I'll have to move but she would check. I immediately thought to myself she did not seem like a manager so I said to the guy still standing with us at front and asked if she was a manager? He shrugged his shoulders and wouldn't really answer. I said "Sir ,I she a member of management of this hotel?" He said no she worked in reservations. I said I want to speak to a manager either a assistant hotel manager, GM or someone in charge. Finally 15 minutes later someone arrived to help who was some type of manager. I explained I have waited there at dest for 1 hour and 10 minutes and asked to talk to manager and they sent me someone from reservations... Ridiculous.. He aploogized and gave me a couple options one was a room upgrade to a junior suite which we did but still had to move rooms.

We ended up moving room but was very upset by all that happened. We were at front desk 1 hour 15 minutes with 2 little ones, lied about who I was talking to. We went and packed waited for bellman swithched rooms and unpacked the time for all this 3 hours 30 minutes. We missed our fast passes and no additional times were available so we never went to Animal Kingdom wasted 3 1/2 hours. the room they moved us to was real nice but would much rather had those hours back and go to park. 20/20 hindsight would not have extended stay..

Room Tip: avoid rooms that connect as you can hear everthing in room next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Scott, thank you for taking the time to correspond with our Executive Office. We regret that you encountered such a challenge with extending your reservation and that we were not able keep you in the same room. We hope that you enjoyed the extra space of the new room we provided.
We have visited with our Front Office and Reservations Leadership teams about your experience and hope that the steps we have taken have enhanced your experience with us. If we can be of any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've stayed twice at the Swan and Dolphin Resort. I love the excellent service and the restaurants available between the two hotels. Great place to stay close to Epcot and the Boardwalk. Will return again!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the backside of the Dolphin. The rooms at the front are close to the founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your quick review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you returned for another fantastic time at our resort. We can’t wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice resort, proximity to Disney can't be beat. The pools and grounds are great, make sure you carve out time to enjoy these amenities. I wish we had more time for the grotto pool!
As owners of a pool company, we did notice black algae in lap pool by the Swan, management should take care of that before the pool is ruined.

You do get fast pass access and extra magic hours. You do not get Mickey bands or free dining options if you were to stay at a true Disney property. One thing they offer, we did not use is 2 free hours of babysitting when you eat at one of their restaurants!

Most reviews I have read complained about the transportation, but we found both the buses and the boats very convenient to get to Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Hollywood Studios. In fact, we hit up Disney boardwalk for dinner, boat to Epcot for fireworks, then hopped on the boat to catch the 9:45 Frozen fireworks at Hollywood Studios!

The rooms: Ours was upgraded to an executive suite, maybe that is why it was not ready until 7pm (we did not care, we were in the parks)! While it was not the most updated hotel room, it was comfortable, spacious, the only thing missing was a microwave. The king bed was very very comfortable. Room quality was in good comparison to FWL, except for the size, but remember we had a 1 bedroom, executive suite, our room was HUGE!

The hotel staff was friendly, pleasant and willing to help with anything. The room was cleaned and stocked each night we came back to retire.

On refurbishing: During our stay ALL the rooms with Epcot/fireworks view were closed for remodel, so, be forewarned, not disappointed!

As for the food, drinks and room service, they were very good, but way overpriced. But this is Disney. We enjoyed Picabu for breakfast and room service 1X for late night dinner.The 20$/night resort fee is way too much for WiFi and a few water bottles, should also include parking and a Mickey band!

I hope this helps your choices!

Green Features: green hotel with SPG credit if you choose to not have towels restocked and room cleaned.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poolpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Thank you for letting us know about our Swan lap pool. Your words have been shared with our Recreational Leadership team. We are thrilled that you were able to take full advantage of all the amenities that we offer our guests here at our resort. It sounds like you had a lovely and relaxing time in our executive suite! Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It wasn't a Disney hotel and nothing inside related to Disney when you do booking they makes you feel that its One of Disney Hotels then u get into reality that its not when u reach there , just the shuttles that takes you to there and the location, the room wasn't clean the floor need to be cleaned in the rooms, it was good fir its location that very close to Hollywood Disney and the Epcot.
It was ok big hotel and nice views sharing it with the swan hotel as they are the same owner , the staff will nit even mention disney in anything room service will not put u anything in the room if u didn't
ask for even basic things , if u asked for something it tajes not less than 40 minutes to get it but the lady who answered the phone she was so so sweet she keeps tracking if u get what u asked for
The parking u have to pay for it its 16 per day fir self parking and more expensive for a Valet.
In general it was ok and little expensive to its services with no breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alawadhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not what you have expected it to be. Even though we are not a Disney resort, we do offer many Disney amenities like the transportation to all of the Disney parks, Disney’s Magic Hours, On-Site Ticketing counter and more. Thank you for being our guest. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 5 night stay with family (all adults). Stayed in dolphin, standard 2 double beds room was basic but clean, rooms have a refrigerator which was nice. Has several pools including waterfalls which were really refreshing. The resort has it all, food, drinks, etc but Key to this hotel is location. You can walk to boardwalk which has fun stuff to do & see, or more reasonably priced stuff to eat (bakery for breakfast & pizzeria at night no added food resort fees!) also ferry boat takes you from dolphin to epcot or it's an easy 10 min walk. Beware of Hotel restaurants they seem to add an extra fee on bill - even the self serve restaurant....this is in addition to a daily resort fee which was > $20 per day. Used gym which I thought was better than average hotel gym, had 3 rooms with aerobic equip, weight machines, free weights, etc everything you need for good workout. We would stay again as we loved hotel location you can't beat it. We did not have a car, we walked, used disney shuttle buses and ferry. Hotel staff were very pleasant & helpful. Grounds very clean. We would stay here again bring location is very convenient. We also celebrated a bday and ordered a special cupcake tray which came with 3 different dipping toppings,very cool!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enigma00225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to us. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to celebrate a birthday here with us! We are also pleased to hear that you and your family were able to take full advantage of our amazing location within Walt Disney World as well as taking the transportation from our resort to the parks. We do apologize about the inconveniences about certain pricing throughout our resort. We do monitor current pricing and practices in the marketplace to ensure we are in line with other comparable resorts. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We love staying at the Swan/Dolphin when visiting Disney World. The resort puts you in walking distance to EPCOT, Hollywood Studios, the Boardwalk, and Disney's Yacht & Beach clubs, and boat transportation is also available.Bus transportation to Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom is frequent and quick. In addition, the resort itself offers so much--excellent restaurants, fun pools, relaxing pools, 24 hours grab and go mart, 24 hour room service. We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We typically do not opt for a resort view room as we spend so much time at the parks and only use th...
See more room tips
Green Features: We love the "green choice" option which gives you SPG points or a resort credit for declining daily housekeeping. Also, the hotel has numerous recycling centers prominently and conveniently located throughout the resort.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay here with us. We are thrilled to hear that we are the place that you stay when it comes to your Disney World family trip! We agree with you, our location is absolutely perfect within Walt Disney World. Thank you for your lovely words about our resort. Thank you for being our guest. We are looking forward to your next Disney vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,115 reviews
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort

Property: Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830-8428 (Formerly Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#117 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing