We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #127 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel has a small but artsy feel in the lobby area. Loved the pool area and the room we had, a king, was well furnished and the bed very comfortable. The bathrooms were perfect and everything was very clean. The staff were very friendly and the Cafe Toto Tango is right behind. It's location is near many attractions, dinner theaters, and restaurants. Very romantic place Would have given a 5 star rating except I did not care for the $15.00 self parking fee and even though it had a small coffee pot in the room I would have liked some free coffee, muffins or croissants that would have been a nice touch.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and I’ve taken note of your concerns. We hope to have you back as our guest. Thanks for capturing our BOHEMIAN Art!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel in the middle of everything off International Drive. We selected the Castle hotel and glad we did. It was really cool. The decorations are modern and crisp with a fun theme. The service was outstanding, especially the bar tenders. Really friendly and suggested an awesome restaurant.

The rooms were clean and comfortable too! Great place, great value, will be back for a longer stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Good day jasonf1975,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted that you had a great stay and our bartenders were memorable. I warmly welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I will have to say that this is a lovely hotel. It is very cozy. I spend so much of my time in hotels and to get a nice place to lay my head is comforting. The hotel seems to be ungoing transformation still and some things are not up to par which would normally make me think twice about staying there. But the staff is absolutely wonderful which completely changed my outlook on the hotel. If you have the opportunity it is a great place to stay, close to everything but if nothing else you need to experiece the EXCEPTIONAL service that the hotel has to offer. One in particular is Carol who everyday brightened my day. She remembered my name and made sure each day she asked how I was doing, or ask me how my day was. She called Vitos for me and asked them if they had Snow crabs because in talking with her I told her that this was my favorite. I could not believe she took the time to remember and went above and beyond just from a simple conversation with her. I have never received such supurb service and I stay at a lot of hotels. For once my business trip was not just me as a number, I was a person. I felt so important. For this reason I would recommend the hotel because we as business or families like to feel like individuals and feel special so thank you to Carol and the Castle Hotel for making my business trip not so ho hum this time. Sincerly, Jessica 80942

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Jessica R,
Thank you for writing your outstanding review highlighting Carole, I have shared your review with the team. Our staff prides themselves on providing stellar customer service. I hope your travels bring you to the Orlando area in the future. Take care, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here shortly after they opened after a large remodel in October 2013. While billed as a boutique hotel, I would not classify it as such. We confirmed our need for a crib a few days prior to arrival. At check-in, they noted the same on our account and stated that a crib would be ready in our room. (We knew we would have a tired baby due to late check-in.) Our 3rd floor room had a musty smell to start. No crib had been set up. We spoke with the manager who told us she would have go buy a Pack N Play. Yikes! They managed to dig out an ancient crib out of storage after a couple hours. The managers did work to accommodate us and upgraded us to a higher floor suite. Other issues included a dirty pool/hot tub area and lack of access to bottled water (outside of the very pricey bottle in the room.) The decor is very modern, but overall, you can still tell that this is an old hotel that they tried to shine up. We would not stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank jbtraveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Jbtraveler_1,
I want to thank you for your review. And I sincerely apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. Please know that your comments have been shared with the staff. I have addressed the shortcomings that you experienced and hope to gain your patronage in the future. Please contact the hotel if you plan on traveling back to Orlando. Sincerely, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked this hotel last minute to enjoy Universal the next day, we were blown away by the character of this hotel upon check in, my 2 preteens went wild declaring it an excellent place for selfies. It was a very enjoyable, amazing lobby that did involve lots of picture taking. The pool was well maintained and while the front desk mentioned it was heated it felt very cold. I wish we could have gotten food at the pool, but it was after 8pm on a Saturday night, no luck. The bar provided an excellent salad and wine and a Shirley temple for my daughter after our swim. The only ding would be the rooms which seem a little more bland than the rest of the zing of the hotel and this isn't a place for kids, we were the only ones there. Fine by me, I would think kids would like other hotels in the area. The front desk staff was excellent, as were all we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello JudiH,
Thank you for your review. I’m so glad your daughters loved the décor, we hope they “checked-in” so we can give it a “like”. I've addressed your concerns about the pool temperature and food hours. I warmly welcome you back anytime. Thank you, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are frequent travelers and found this hotel by chance - it became a Marriott property around mid-October and doesn't seem to be advertised very well. Best kept secret on I-Drive!

It is lovely, quaint, comfortable. Rooms are very nice Marriott quality - it is actually their "Autograph Collection". You earn points and get upgrades if you are a rewards member, but the Marriott branding is very under-the-radar still.

IMPORTANT!
Do not pay attention to any reviews prior to October - this was apparently a Holiday Inn property (and I think something else as well). It has been renovated, redecorated, etc. and those reviews do not apply concerning quality. It went from average Holiday Inn to the fancy high-end Marriott brand so past reviews really don't apply.

The location is awesome - we were at a convention and elected to not rent a car - which was fine because everything you could need (besides theme parks) is at the corner or within a couple short blocks. Small market, large variety of restaurants and bars, all at or around the corner.

Staff was very friendly. Great ambience - very pretty lobby furniture and decor (girly!! Mirrors and pink/purple, silver sofas, cute!!) and even the insides of the elevators were pretty.

The elevators were key-controlled - as a woman, I like this feature. It stops anyone without a room key from getting in the elevator and randomly going upstairs.

The bathrooms are roomy and towels are super soft. Starbucks coffee makers are provided in rooms. Only 4 small pillows for 2 of us - I prefer more but not a big deal. Cozy robes. Windows do not open and there are no balconies - my only real disappointment as I love fresh air and balconies on my rooms when I travel. Also no fridge in the room - though they may offer of you ask - I didn't inquire. Toiletries are even high end and yummy smelling.

We only ate breakfast at the restaurant. Staff was superior as was food quality.

Small pool area but very pretty, even a couple "beds" with shade covers. Large hot tub.

If you are there for business, it's got great desk space, plenty of power outlets next to the bed for charging phones, laptops, etc. It doesn't seem like a great family hotel - more for convention travelers, business people, or couples-getaways - that's my impression.

We had a small issue with opening the safe, and engineering got to our room and fixed it literally within 5 minutes of my call - great customer service.

Overall, wonderful stay, and will certainly choose the Castle next time as well.


Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Lindsey514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Good day Lindsey514,
Thank you for noting that we are now a Marriott Autograph property and the caliber of service that is offered. Being so close to the convention center is a highlight of the hotel as are our security features. As a Marriott member, if you’ll contact the hotel we’ll update your profile with your preference of extra pillows. Again, thank you for your wonderful review. I hope you have you as our guests again soon. Warmly, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Castle Hotel has been newly renovated and is worth visiting. In Orlando particularly close to the convention center it is hard to find a personalized hotel experience. The décor is a bit avant garde but the staff is fantastic. Not a single staff person failed to go out of their way to cater to us and provide helpful information. Perhaps the best bellman I have ever run into is at this hotel. Although not small this hotel has the feel of a small boutique hotel. The restaurants on property are excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Carl J,
Thank you for recognizing our bellman, I've relayed your wonderful comments. We’re delighted you enjoyed Antlers Lounge. I hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#33 of 340 in Orlando
6,063 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott's Grande Vista
#68 of 340 in Orlando
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 8629 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9334
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#81 Business Hotel in Orlando
#120 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £115 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enriching experience awaits at the Castle Hotel, located in the heart of Orlando’s attractions. Leisure guests, business travelers, and those seeking a distinctive venue for a wedding or social event will find a sophisticated and contemporary retreat in the only Autograph Collection Hotel on International Drive. The Four-Diamond Castle Hotel immerses guests in art, music, cuisine and culture within its Bavarian-inspired walls, providing an oasis to travelers with uncommon taste. Evoking an air of creativity and artistry, the Castle Hotel offers elegant accommodations and amenities, inspired meeting space, gourmet cuisine and intuitive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando - The Castle Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing