We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but average motel (not a resort)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SUNSOL International Drive
Ranked #175 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I'm not sure why they call it a resort. There is a warm pool but many hotels have that. Rooms have outside entrances and no baths (stand up showers are standard at this property). This was discouraging to us since we have young kids. There is no exercise facility and no guest laundry. Power outlets in the room were out of reach below and behind furniture and most did not work. We were completely unable to connect to the "free" wi-fi with any of our several devices. It was a basic yet clean motel. This does not justify being named a resort or having to pay a "resort fee". I am glad that the hotel is new and VERY CLEAN. However the maids managed to skip our room even though we were out all day. The property blamed the fact that someone had placed a do not disturb sign on our door unfortunately. We could find no open tables to eat in the very crowded breakfast area. There is plenty of room to eat out by the pool but temps were in the 30s. I can't recommend this place unless prices are reduced and it's just a quick place to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your experience at SUNSOL Hotels with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you visit us again in the near future, so we can provide even better service. Here at SUNSOL we strive to offer the best accommodation along with the exceptional SUNSOL service and will take every suggestion you make into consideration for your benefit. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We checked in Thurs night and from the moment of arrival everything went great. We went to Disney and didn't mind the 20 minute drive. The hotel was clean and spacious. The breakfast was good but the small area felt crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your experience at SUNSOL Hotels with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you visit us again in the near future, so we can provide even better service. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with a contemporary look. Cleanliness is one of my pet peeves. The room was clean beyond my expectations! Nice showers, very comfy beds, clean carpet, flat screen, sophisticated look but simple. Nice large pool and umbrellas to hide from the sun.

Stopped in for breakfast around 10:00 A.M. in the clubhouse and it was packed like sardines. I would suggest going as soon as it becomes available to beat the crowd.

My only complaint is that there needs to be weather stripping installed on the doors (can't speak for all but unit #124 didn't have any) Not only was the light coming through but I heard baggage rolling often, cars driving by, people shutting doors to their vehicle's, etc. Overall I would recommend it to friends and family. Got a great deal on Groupon btw! Safe travels

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your experience at SUNSOL Hotels with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you visit us again in the near future, so we can provide even better service. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Simple breakfast clean room very nice warm pool friendly helpful staff exceed my expectations great price this was truly a warm warm pool and we stayed at crowne plaza and I liked sunsol better nicer pool fig microwave crown looks fancy but sunsol is charming

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrskathyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at SUNSOL Hotels. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a satisfying one and hope to have you soon again to offer you the best service possible.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Me and two of my friends stayed in this hotel for one night while we visited halloween horror nights, the rooms are very pretty, no loud guest and great services !! I will highly recommend the stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at SUNSOL Hotels. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a satisfying one and hope to have you soon again to offer you the best service possible.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our expectations were surpassed by our room, the grounds, pool area and the customer service at Sunsol Orlando. Our room was updated and very clean.
I would highly recommend Sunsol Orlando.
Thanks so much to Sunsol for making the short time I got to spend with my daughter even more special.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403 (pool side). It was newly renovated, updated and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodhumord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at SUNSOL Hotels. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a satisfying one and hope to have you soon again to offer you the best service possible.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and the name of it was hidden, so I was a little nervous because I couldn't check the reviews in advance, but it turned out to be a very nice place. If you are planning to visit universal studio I highly recommend this place, Sunsol is only 20-25 min walk or 5 min drive from universal, and only 10 min walk from water park. Complimentary shuttle to Universal and Disney is a nice addition to clean recently renovated rooms, heated pool and basic continental breakfast. We traveled without a car so shuttle and proximity to Universal was a a very nice bonus. There are plenty of dining options within a walking distance as well, the car rentals rates were insanely high for holiday period (around $150 per day) and all of there were no cars available anyway. This hotel was a money saver for us, we paid only around $50 per night (great value) saved on car, breakfast and by the way, if you don't want to spend the whole day in Universal (shuttle will take u there at 9am and brings u back at 8.30pm) u can always take a taxi and the ride will cost u $10 top.
P.S. A little advice for those who can't rent a car but planing to go to the south of Florida: there is a travel agency around the corner they can make a reservation for a bus to Miami, it makes stops in Pompano beach, West Palm beach, ft. lauderdale/Hollywood and Miami intl airport. The bus stop is within 5 min drive. Will recommend to all my friends if they will be looking for clean affordable place in Orlando

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at SUNSOL Hotels. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a satisfying one and hope to have you soon again to offer you the best service possible.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Rosen Inn
#104 of 340 in Orlando
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#149 of 340 in Orlando
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNSOL International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNSOL International Drive

Address: 5859 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819-8201 (Formerly Super 8 Orlando-International Drive)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#150 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SUNSOL International Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSOL International Drive is your ticket to all the Orlando fun. Located near the popular International Drive corridor, this hotel places you within 5 minutes of Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. Each morning we offer a delicious complimentary continental breakfast. The hotel also features free shuttles to Disney and Universal Studios, WI-FI in all rooms and common areas, a splash-park for kids, playground, heated pool and ticket-sale in reception 24 hours with bilingual service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SUNSOL International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge International Drive
Travelodge Hotel Orlando
Travelodge Orlando
Orlando Travel Lodge
Orlando Travelodge
Travel Lodge Orlando
SUNSOL International Drive Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing