We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SUNSOL International Drive
Ranked #169 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I needed a quick get away during the week. I decided to rent a room with a King bed since it was only me. There was construction International Drive right where the street to the hotel was on, the place was very easy to find. The hotel lobby was quite small when compared to other places, but it had a nice vibe to it. The lady at the front desk was very nice and pleasant to speak to. I stayed on the 4th floor and the view was quite nice. It overlooked the pool and you can see Fun Spot from where my room was. There was also elevators, which is very good being on the 4th floor and having to carry items. Now to the room, the room was nice, clean and cozy. AC worked rather well and there was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. The room had a LCD HDTV, number of channels were limited, I'd say about 35 channels at most. The bed was quite comfortable and so were the pillows. The bathroom had no tub, so if you have toddlers or little children, giving them a bath or shower would pose quite a challenge. The toilet for the room I was in was very weak and flushed very slowly, there were times when I had to triple flush just to get it to go down. Noise level was great, I did not hear my neighbors or cars on I4 behind the hotel. The hotel was in a great location, close to everything on International Drive, about 1 mile walk to Universal Studios, Gift shops up and down I Drive, Wet and Wild was close by and Fun Spot was within walking distance. I will definitely add SunSol to my list of Hotels to stay at in the Orlando area. For the price you pay and the location you get, this is a great bargain hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Public Relations Manager at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest, thanks for sharing with us your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please know we are already taking corrective measures regarding the state of the toilets. Thanks for helping us improve our services. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    592
    240
    71
    55
See reviews for
652
367
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 7/28/14 through 8/1/14. Fortunately we were at Disney world for the entire day one of the days. The pool is nice but much deeper then posted. The 3 feet end is closer to 4 ft so my 5 1/2 year old (who could touch at all the other pools that were posted at 3 ft) was unable to touch. If you have little ones make sure you bring a life jacket. Also the air conditioner was unable to keep the room cool enough and the refrigerator freezer did not free our ice packs. The rooms were clean although the beds weren't the most comfortable. The breakfast was good and the price was also very good. If you are going to be at the Disney Parks or out of the room a lot this place is fine. Or if you go in the fall or winter when it isn't 90 outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMATYAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amatyas, thanks a lot for sharing with us your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please know we are taking under serious consideration all your input and will do everything in our power to correct the flaws you point out. Our guests´ opinions are highly valuable to us for they help us improve the quality of our service. We hope you visit us again soon to check out all the changes made in your benefit. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights!! It was very close to Universal Studios and the bus service was brilliant! It was quiet far away from Disney and there bus times didn't suit us as we had a reservation made at the park! But the very kind receptionist Herman rang other hotels close by and found out there bus times which suited us better! He helped u a lot through our stay as we had many questions which he answered as best as he could to help us!! The hotel is very far away from the airport and getting to the airport was very expensive! When talking to people after our stay they were very surprised that there wasn't a bus service to the airport and told us a lot of other hotels offer this service? We were disappointed in this as we had to pay a taxi to get to the airport which was very expensive! But overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to people but would warn them about the distance from the airport!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mary, thanks for sharing with us your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please know that we are taking under consideration your airport-shuttle suggestion in order to improve the quality of our service. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It's perfect to visit Universal and close to a lot of restaurants. A little far from Disney and Downtown Disney. Service was very good. Breakfast not so good. The property has been recently renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diealealo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Diealealo, thanks for sharing with us your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive. We are happy to hear you had a good time. Please know we are doing everything in our power to improve our breakfast service. We strive to offer the best hotel service to our guests and your comments are highly valued. We hope you visit us again soon and check out all the improvements made in your benefit. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The good - location, location, location. Very, very close to Universal Studios. The general area will have more than their share of traffic, but there is plenty of parking at the hotel and it is no more than 1 mile on surface streets to get to Universal.

Downside - what they have done is taken a 2-star hotel and upgraded it with new paint, new beds and upgraded bathrooms. For this it does deserve a 3-star rating (out of 5). But keep in mind that it will still have some of the problems you might encounter with an older, dated facility. For example, there was a stream of tiny ants by our bathroom sink. They didn't get into anything - so no harm, but I ask - who wants ants in their room?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud_F_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Bud, thanks for sharing with us your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive. We are happy to hear you had a good time. Please know we are doing everything in our power to prevent issues like this from happening in the future. We strive to offer the best hotel service to our guests and your comments are highly valued. We hope you visit us again soon and check out all the improvements made in your benefit. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We got 2 rooms for 3 nights, one room had no TV remote, also 1 room had an ice bin but the other did not. The beds were extremely comfortable and the pool was very nice. The breakfast was average. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Silas, thanks a lot for sharing your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know we are taking under serious consideration all your comments regarding the breakfast quality and the room amenities. Here at SUNSOL we strive to provide our guests with the best hotel service possible. Thanks for helping us improve! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My mother and I stayed there last year, on thanksgiving.
It's a good hotel, great location, good room, nice stuff. They accept packages from internet with no charge. There is free continental breakfast, microwave and fridge in the room.
The room was clean, wifi was ok, breakfast is good but the space is kind of small, so you must to go early to get a table.
I recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the breakfast area. I got one really far and i was lazy to walk all way down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsol_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUNSOL International Drive, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Delaisa, thanks for sharing your experience at the SUNSOL International Drive with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at SUNSOL we greatly value our guests opinions for they help us improve our service. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#105 of 339 in Orlando
2,967 reviews
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#122 of 339 in Orlando
6,587 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Clarion Inn & Suites
#124 of 339 in Orlando
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNSOL International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNSOL International Drive

Property: SUNSOL International Drive
Address: 5859 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819-8201 (Formerly Super 8 Orlando-International Drive)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SUNSOL International Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSOL International Drive is your ticket to all the Orlando fun. Located near the popular International Drive corridor, this hotel places you within 5 minutes of Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. Each morning we offer a delicious complimentary continental breakfast. The hotel also features free shuttles to Disney and Universal Studios, WI-FI in all rooms and common areas, a splash-park for kids, playground, heated pool and ticket-sale in reception 24 hours with bilingual service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SUNSOL International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge International Drive
Travelodge Hotel Orlando
Travelodge Orlando
Orlando Travel Lodge
Orlando Travelodge
Travel Lodge Orlando
SUNSOL International Drive Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing