We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center
Ranked #120 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I've got to admit I like the Embassy suite franchise, normally. Unfortunately this particular hotel has a few comfort issues. Firstly the staff were great and when I requested a room move were very accommodating given that the hotel was full. The building is old and worn and once away from the lobby could be classed as worn out in places. The lifts are antiquated, slow small and noisy, I say noisy because they can be heard from the rooms at night when the ambient noise is at its lowest. The four lifts are located on the two sides of the atrium (not the front or back sides), oddly they make no noise descending on pneumatic jacks but are noisy on the ascent which is conventional (old) equipment. We got moved from a side room (lift noise) and sporadic a/c noise to a front (i drive) room which did not have the lift or sporadic a/c mutterings however, as the sun went down the Bahamas breeze and Howl at the Moon nightclubs kicked off. Great, thumping disco noise spilling through the single glazed windows until 0200. Add to that the fact that tourist groups arrived and discovered their balconys and decided to have drinks parties it was nigh on a sleep deprivation exercise for 6 nights. As I said the staff were great, the drinks were great, the pools were good and the breakfast was good, the business suite was good as was the parking. Just take your earplugs, I warned you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toussaint551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

On arrival the staff were very pleasant and gave us our suite number.
The room was large with 2 double beds in the main bedroom and a pull out double sofa bed in the lounge. There were 2 large flat screen TV's, a microwave, coffee maker, fridge, table and chairs and plently of storage space. The bathroom was fine with a powerful shower plus there was an extra vanity sink in the main bedroom.
Breakfast is plentiful with as much to eat as you want, either omlettes cooked to order, a full breakfast, cereal, fruit,yogurts, bagels, toast, buns and drinks. Breakfast does finish promptly at 9.30 so it was a challenge for my kids to make it everyday, however it is fine to take food back up to your suite.
5.30 - 7.30 is the managers cocktail party where you can drink just about anything for free within this time. They also lay on some snacks such as popcorn, tacos, pitta bread and dip etc. The outdoor pool is fairly small but usually quiet, there is also a kids pool, a hot tub, plenty of chairs / tables/parasols and sunbeds. Staff are happy to take food / drink orders around the pool and bring them out to you.Towels are also provided.
The indoor pool is relaxing and also boasts a hot tub. There is also a small gym. The hotel also has a shop which is handy but quite expensive. The restaurant is also nice and welcoming.
There are transfers to all parks morning and evening but a taxi to Universal is only $14 or you can catch the lynx bus (opp side of road to hotel).
To get to sea world and aquatica catch either Lynx or i ride (same side of road) the hotel are also happy to hand out daily i ride passes.
For good quality food and cheap drinks head across the road to the right approx. 100 yrds to Millars Ale House. It is a noisy sports bar but the food is good. Dennys is across the road, sizzlers to the right and friendlys to the left along tith a host of many extra bars / restaurants. We have been to Florida as a family 5 times over the past 9 years and we did notice quite significant price increases this year. However it is still one amazing holiday.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is quite noisy as its on international drive, so try ask for a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickylcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just what I expected and a great hotel, convenient location, free parking and a good restaurant for a business traveler. Staff was friendly. Outside pool was inviting. Free breakfast was very busy during this time of the year as there were lots of families doing the orlando scene. Easy to grab a muffin, banana and a cup of coffee. Lots of other restaurant choices in walking distance. Definitely would return on future business trips.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We usually use Embassy Suites because of the high quality. This hotel is the exception. Although the people were very nice at this hotel the building needs work. We had small roaches and other bugs in our room (7th floor), the towels were worn and stained and the toilet seat was broken. This place needs major work.

Room Tip: Maybe use the other Embassy Suites down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler699Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post this review! I appreciate your candid thoughts and will be sharing them with the team. I apologize we did not meet your expectations and I can assure you I take your comments with the highest urgency.

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
John.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Having been v.disappointed at another Hotel on a previous visit we booked the Embassy having read the good reviews on here. We were not disappointed and we would book again. The staff are really friendly, the free Breakfast is awesome and kept us going till evening and the Managers Evening reception looked really good fun and was always popular. We didn't get there because we were rushing around but maybe next year!
The suites are well maintained and comfortable and the Hotel threw in two free movies which was a nice touch. We had also emailed the hotel prior to arriving, requesting a specific floor, and the General Manager responded by return which was impressive.
The location of this hotel is also really handy and you avoid the I-Drive jams at week-ends/evenings when heading to the parks.
Having said all that I feel a bit guilty about being critical but there were two things that we feel could be improved. Firstly, there are no room safes and we think these would be a good edition. There are safety Deposit boxes at reception (which are free) and we did use these hwver a personal safe in the room would be better. Secondly, the curtains for the windows that face out on to the walkway don't fully close so you can be sitting in your room and people can see you sitting there. I kind of found that a bit off putting.

All in all however, I would have no hesitaion in recommendinh this hotel and will ceratinly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerryChristy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post this review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the highest compliment we can receive is your loyalty and recommendation. I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to the team!
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon… we will have a drink next time!

Have a “Suite” Day!

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
john.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Enjoyed the hotel in all , staff was helpful enough. I would suggest stating on the very top floor where they were nice enough to move me after I woke to the sound of someone using the bathroom above me. I guess that's just older pipes and walls.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

I guess if you have to be somewhere for work, Orlando is not a bad spot at all! Espicially on International Drive with all the choice to pass the time. We are excited you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back to see us again soon. We know you have a choice when visiting Orlando, and thank you for picking us!


John L. Parkinson
General Manager
John.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Perfect hotel location in the center of International drive. Rooms are great, but a little old and dark looking. 2 swimming pools (indoor and outdoor). Breakfast buffet with a limmited selection, but a made to order egg bar.

I will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your experience! The highest compliment is earning your loyalty and we appreciate the very nice comments! We are having a team building this week and building boats to race across the indoor pool, so I’m looking forward to a nice midday dip!

We know you have a choice when visiting Orlando and thank you for picking us!

Have a "Suite" day!

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
john.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center

Address: 8978 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £112 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe, all suite hotel located in the convenient, exciting International Drive area, surrounded by a variety of dining, entertainment and shopping venues. Accommodations are spacious one-bedroom suites with microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. All guests enjoy a Complimentary Breakfast and free evening beverages daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing