We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night only”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #293 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is suitable for one night only. I don't recommend staying here any longer than that. we spent the entire day at the Magic Kingdom and came here to sleep for the night. It was dirty and areas the carpet was gross the bathroom is in bad shape. the bathroom tiles on the floor are cracking and my child stubbed his toe. I would have been very disappointed if I had planned to stay here for more than just the night. but for the money it was a good value because we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Express. As part of the new management team that has recently came in, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The place is simple, but the location is great to go to orlando's parks and shops. The breakfest doesn't offers many options.. Remember to make reservations on-line, if you get directly to the lobby they always says it is book out, don't know why...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Armando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! We have recently taken over as new management of the hotel and look forward to hearing more comments such as yours, where our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Well, when i first got to the metropolitan express my service was delayed for 30 minutes because they had numerous issues at the front desk. Secondly, i noticed the stinch around the ENTIRE hotel...my room was very outdated, from the carpet to the tv...not to mention there was a musty smell that stuck to the room, even after spraying. The bedding stinks really bad as if they did not wash the sheets in a long time. Do not waste your money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Express. As part of the new management team that has recently came in, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments and we believe we have failed to meet your expectations. For failing you, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate comments and feedback from our valued guests, as it helps us work harder to improve and correct our failings. Hope you give us another opportunity soon to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here feb last year for 3 weeks , it was basic but ok free breakfast which was good for children free tea and coffee all day everyday a launderette whitch was cheap to use also free shuttle bus to parks . My husband and our soon to be 3 children are planing to visit again and would stay here again as it was close to everything and value for money .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiesaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! We have recently taken over as new management of the hotel and look forward to hearing more comments such as yours, where our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was hesitant about booking this hotel after all of the reviews on here, but the price was right and we were only staying one night so I figured, why not? When my friend and I checked in yesterday, I was instantly glad I had decided to give it a try. Sara, the girl at the desk, checked us in and was very pleasant. She really made us feel welcome and "at home" after a long day of travel. The lobby was nice enough and Sara quickly gave us keys to our room, a room with two beds overlooking the pool. The easy access to the courtyard and the pool was great. I also really appreciated having a microwave and fridge and can imagine if I was staying for a longer how convenient that would be. Later in the evening we came down to the desk to ask some questions about the area and Sara again was there with a smile ready and willing to answer everything for us and even give us some extra pointers. I will be sure to come back again the next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_Management_Team, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! We have recently taken over as new management of the hotel and look forward to hearing more comments such as yours, where our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After booking I read some of these reviews and almost canceled but I'm glad I didn't. We went to the hotel in the morning because I was unable to print out my daughters ticket to the park. One of the staff gladly gave me an E-Mail to forward it to and printed it for me. We got back about 6:30 and had no wait for check-in. Our room was clean and had no bugs. ( I even checked the beds ) We had a ground floor pool side which was great because the slider gave you outside access. There was also a small patio with a table and chairs. I would also recommend eating at Black Angus right next door. We enjoyed dinner so much we went back in the morning for the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_Management_Team, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! We have recently taken over as new management of the hotel and look forward to hearing more comments such as yours, where our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This dump was old, rundown and FILTHY !! Very seedy people staying here. I was concerned for my safety. Outside doors kept open all night with rocks. Don't be fooled by the low price, this place is terrible !!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Met_Management_Team, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. As the new management that has recently taken over the hotel, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it does appear in some areas we failed to meet your expectations. For these items, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work hard to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Fortunately we have guests from all over the world and to some I guess it may seem "seedy". Hope you give us another opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#244 of 342 in Orlando
1,535 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#229 of 342 in Orlando
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn
#104 of 342 in Orlando
3,048 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#292 of 342 in Orlando
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Address: 6323 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8213 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: £45 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando
Floridian Express Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing