We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better”
Review of Floridian Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floridian Express
Ranked #300 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Getting better”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've just left this hotel when we got here I would have gave it 1/5 now 3/5 they are doing a lot of work around the hotel,but you get what u pay for looking at the work they are doing easy 5/5 soon well done to the staff there just TLC that's all it needed.
Location is spot on close to the parks,bars and food places are all within walking distance.
Poor internet needs updating very slow.
Breakfast ideal start to the day but I would say the lady that sets it all up could do with a little help there it's like a cattle market there some times she don't stop always keeping things topped up say that guest could clean up after they selfs aswel.
Tiki is great place to chill after 10hrs in the park.
Overall if you looking for up market hotel with all the extras this is not for you
If you looking to crash some where after a long day at the park with the family this is for you.
In the next week hotel should be in great form I will be back in October.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for noticing that we are trying to offer a better hotel for our guests. I look forward to seeing you on your return in October and I am hoping you will be even more impressed with our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    379
    399
    206
    350
See reviews for
611
386
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. Nothing much has changed but could see a lot of improvements taking shape. Glad to see the pool area being updated and those horrible sunbeds hopefully gone for good. We had a fab room overlooking the pool lovely. The staff I found were great. However, the house keeping needs to be looked at, sometimes our rooms not cleaned and sheets hardly changed and beds never made up. I could see the manager around the hotel, hands on could see him making improvements. I would stay here again, but also the international palms up the road looked nice too, but I expect would cost a lot more.

Room Tip: Email and request a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments and noticing the improvements we are trying to make at the hotel. I do hope to continue moving forward and make our hotel even better. I look forward to your return and you can personally let me know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

It's not particularly clean looking on the inside corridors. Rooms are old looking and the bath isn't clean.

It is however very cheap and we don't plan on spending a lot of time here. We do wish we'd paid a bit extra for something that's more comfortable and clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nj7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest, Thakn you for your comments and I do apologize you weren't happy with your stay. We are trying to improve out hotel and maybe the next time you are here you can see that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Horrible experience
Starting with the person who received us at the counter, pretty rude (kelum) or something like that name.
As we headed in search of the assigned room, we could not stop to amaze dirt in the hallways, no air conditioning works well so here had the doors open, even so the smell that was in them was unbearable.
The fourth HORRIBLE to say the sheets of soiled bedding honestly looked all wrong.

Immediately we decided to leave the hotel and get something decent for our family.
Arriving at the lobby and saw two men staying at the hotel, prostitutes entering the room.
When we questioned the person in the hall, not negotiated at any time nor surprised by what we told him.

The WORST experience we have had in Orlando.
If this criterion in itsHorrible experience
Starting with the person who received us at the counter, pretty rude (kelum) or something like that name.
As we headed in search of the assigned room, we could not stop to amaze dirt in the hallways, no air conditioning works well so here had the doors open, even so the smell that was in them was unbearable.
The fourth HORRIBLE to say the sheets of soiled bedding honestly looked all wrong.

Immediately we decided to leave the hotel and get something decent for our family.
Arriving at the lobby and saw two men staying at the hotel, prostitutes entering the room.
When we questioned the person in the hall, not negotiated at any time nor surprised by what we told him.

The WORST experience we have had in Orlando.
If this criterion in its HIGHLY INRECOMENDABLE
.
.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am not sure what a prostitute looks like but if you are referring to the ladies who wear skimpy clothing I do believe they would be offended as alot of people from outside the U.S do tend to wear rather skimpy things. I do apologize that you were not pleased with your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Supposedly a good basic two star hotel - we knew it wasn't going to be luxury but we are easy going and just wanted somewhere clean and a central location to rest at night...if you are even considering this hotel please look at spending an extra £50 and stay anywhere else on I-drive I promise it will be worth it!! Below is a snapshot of our stay from start to finish:

- Arrival: queued for thirty minutes with only 1 person on reception at check in time....then when checking in we we're told we had to pay an additional £60 tax! It's ok it's first day of the holidays so we will take up with our travel company so off we trot to the room...
- key number 1 doesn't work but number 2 does hooray!
- the lobby is packed with travellers, members of the public and all sorts of locals who have wandered off the streets - lets just say not a good environment for a family to be.
- the room is poor, paint flaking all over the place, mould on most parts of the bathroom, electrical wires and gashes in the carpet around the air conditioning unit, holes In the curtains from cigarette burns, the view is a brick wall and two out of three of the lamps don't work which is a problem when there are no ceiling lights to light the room.
- wifi doesn't cover the room but you can pay an extra five dollars a day to access a separate server. TV channels are limited to the news weather and Spanish channels so entertainment is limited.
- the pool? Disgusting is the only wording you could use...it's not ever been cleaned out as far as I could see with lumps of all sorts floating on the surface and in the bottom. Sun loungers are covered in old brown cushions which are covered in sweat, dirt and muck. Have these ever been cleaned? Very doubtful. The chairs have holes in and the whole area is just In real state of decay. I don't even need to mention the state of the toilets outside as they matched the level of the pool hygiene.
- tiki bar: refreshing service here by a lovely lady but this turns out to be a separate institution from the hotel itself. Prices are affordable and the staff do their best to be cheerful and entertaining.
- free buffet breakfast- surely this would be good? Well the Buffett turned out to be a choice of sliced bread or a bagel, cereal and fruit juice. Not exactly a huge choice or even a small range for hungry travellers.
- armed robbery: yes you read this right during our stay our hotel was attacked by an armed robber...not really surprising as unlike every other hotel on I drive there is NO GATE SECURITY which is designed to check who is entering the hotel grounds. To be honest if we'd have had a spare flow of cash we would have walked out that morning. Sure enough when walking through the lobby in the morning countless guests were leaving due to the proven lack of security. Obviously the metropolitan are not responsible for this robbers action but they do nothing to encourage the safety of the their guests.
- safe: yes the room has a safe thank goodness somewhere we at least know to be secure..but it is not attached to the wall and is balanced on a bucket so can just be lifted by any person.
-security: staff walk into your rooms at all hours of the day and night - completely shocking and honestly quite terrifying after our previous hotel incident. On day 2 a lady walked straight into the the room announcing that she had towels despite no knocking. Last night we had banging on the door at 1:30am...real panic to be honest as the banging was aggressive so I called reception to ask if it was someone they had sent. They advised that no one had been sent so security were on their way. Real panic set in then...however security arrived and banged on the door to tell us it was room service with fresh sheets!!! What on are earth?? I did not have the words...
- collapsed ceiling : half the ceiling in the hallway was on the floor on returning to our hotel from a hot day in the sun and water all overt he floor flooding numerous rooms. Again, not necessarily the hotels fault however they were not dealing with the issue particularly well...lumps of ceiling were hanging down all over the place and water covering the electrical wires in the ceiling and making the hallway very dangerous however there was no effort to direct customers elsewhere around the building to their rooms.
- on heading out for dinner we saw the huge queue of distraught customers trying to check in who we're being turned away and told to go to other hotels because of the crisis. Again a number of people were checking out because of the awful problems and accompanying service.
-Toilet: our toilet broke due to the mechanism simply rusting away and although we reported it at 3pm and chased it twice with reception, it took 6 hours before someone came and just replaced the part.

In summary...there are no redeeming features of this hotel. We've stayed in I drive at the Rosen inn previously which is the safe star rating and this was by no means perfect but it was the same price and ten times cleaner, better service and safer. I have never felt so unsafe in a hotel and would urge any travellers to book somewhere else.

All the problems the hotel experienced could have been avoided through better maintenance and minimal spending on basics like re painting, cleaning, maintenance and security. The customer service would also have made a massive different had staff been only too happy to help. They were way over stretched resulting in poor attitude and a bad environment. The location is always good on I drive but really spend the extra pounds and get a hotel with gate security.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitka-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and I apologize it was not to your standards. We are now in the process of new pool furniture and new furniture in the breakfast area. We are trying diligently to improve all aspects of our hotel. It is with comments like yours that is helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I'm usually not one to leave a bad review or be picky. We called and said we were driving and checking in later and they said it was okay, we got there at 12:00 am the location was fine but once we came to check in they charged us an extra fee when supposedly we had payed everything. We let it be, we were ok orlando for a family member's sweet 16 so we were with the family. As we were walking to our room there were literally men going in the hotel with prostitutes. The hotel hallways were dirty,moldy,stuffy and just horrible looked like an insane asylum. Went to the room, smelled like pure cigarettes, my son has allergies and honestly we had seen enough so we had to leave at 12 am to look for somewhere else to stay. Walking back to the lobby there were people smoking marihuana by the pool. The lobby guy understood and even admitted it wasn't right. PLEASE I'm trying to help families to not go through what we went through just don't stay here and pay a little more and know you're staying somewhere clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately I do not know what a prostitute looks like. People do wear rather revealing clothing, but hey, it's Florida. We do try to assure all of our rooms remain non smoking but at times guests do break the rules and it hurts others. My apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Everything said before by others is true and more so, it doesnt matter how much you pay for your holiday you expect resonable quality of rooms after all you wouldnt live this at home let alone pay for living in it here.Security at night is a worry because of unlocked doors.its such a shame the rooms are like this after all for some people this could be a once in a lifetime holiday spoilt by state off rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Floridian Express, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I do apologize you were not satisfied with your stay. As you mentioned about what others say being true then it is also a great hotel to holiday at. Again I apologize that it was not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#292 of 339 in Orlando
820 reviews
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#242 of 339 in Orlando
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn
#105 of 339 in Orlando
2,967 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#219 of 339 in Orlando
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express

Property: Floridian Express
Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. We provide a high-quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. We offer free daily Continental breakfast, free Internet and complimentary scheduled shuttle to Disney World and Universal Orlando Resort daily. We are within walking distance to an abundant number of shops, restaurants, and nighttime entertainment. Visit our heated pool and Tiki Bar! All guestrooms at the Floridian Express Orlando Hotel boast large windows, blond-wood furnishings and tropical-style décor in shades of teal and pink. Amenities include 25-inch televisions with premium cable channels and personal safes. Microwaves and mini fridges in all of the rooms. Your stay includes free deluxe continental breakfast, transportation to the parks, free safe box in rooms, free local phone calls, and wireless internet access in every room including the lobby and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Floridian Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando
Floridian Express Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing