We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Royal Palms
Ranked #154 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the Royal Palms. The exercise facilities, pools, activities were all top notch! Clean spacious room, we really enjoyed our stay, and can't wait till the next one! Utilized the kitchen daily. The laundry in the room really came in handy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timmyh60002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Royal Palms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review, Timmy! We are happy you loved your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    124
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
246
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and were greeted with smiles and a beautiful, CLEAN, room overlooking the golf course. Did I mention it was clean? The staff are welcoming and informative. The shuttle is very convenient and at your disposal to visit the amazing pool at Marriott World Center. However, we liked the quiet more private atmosphere of the Palms' pool even better. My family and I will definitely choose Marriott Royal Palms again for our next Orlando vacation!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This property is the perfect example of what happens when management believes it must do nothing to maintain a property because it flies a Marriott flag and happens to be in a vacation location with demand 365 days a year. Unfortunately, platinum elite and other Marriott loyalists know that Royal Palms is an aging property and a lawsuit waiting to happen. It is hopefully just a matter of time before corporate steps in.

The property is overrun by feral cats and a management staff that looks the other way when guests attract these cats by providing food and water in staircases and in front of exterior entrance doors. We watched as children cried - yes, cried - because these cats hissed at them while returning to their rooms after presumably a fun day at disney world. When questioned, management stated that it's working with a "rescue" group in Orlando to ensure the cats are well cared for, but admittedly says the property will do nothing to keep the cats away. The staff has no proof -- and will offer no guarantees -- that the cats are free of disease or otherwise safe.

If cats were wondering the halls of a JW Marriott, hissing at guests, they would likely find themselves relocated four counties away if they even survived capture. So why wild, feral cats are permitted by management to roam a Marriott vacation club near Disney World is beyond understanding.

It you have children or just don't like potentially disease-ridden wild cats hissing at you, blocking entranceways, stalking you at night and adding a smelly dirty element to your vacation, stay away from Marriott's Royal Palms.

Room Tip: Choose a tent somewhere in Frontier land. There will be fewer animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Royal Palms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Royal Palms. We apologize the feral cats impacted your stay and can understand your frustration. We would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to call our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback and for visiting us in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent a week here in June of 2014. Were very impressed with the size and location. Only minutes from the Disney Theme Parks. The condo was fully outfitted, including plenty of extra towels and a complete kitchen. (next time we will pack lighter as we had washer and dryer in our unit and there are incredible Premium Outlets within 10-15 minutes) The staff was extremely helpful and being able to access amenities at the Marriott World Center was a huge plus. Hated to leave. Would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: We chose a room on the top level. We had a beautiful view of the golf course. There is an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purebred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I got this room through a timeshare trade and was pleased! Gorgeous two-bedroom with beautiful decor. We chose to stay overlooking the golf course, away from the noisy pool, but if you have kids, you might like being closer to the pool. We were walking distance, or they will shuttle you, to the Marriott World Center for restaurants, bars, and huge pool if you like. My only complaint are the prices. One drink can cost 12-15 at the bar for a tiny drink of mostly ice. Excellent location for the parks but no shuttle to them so expect to pay for parking. We also enjoyed our spa visit...although pricey! Budget high when coming to this area because if you like good food and wine, you cannot get out of a restaurant for less than $100 for two.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to be away from the pool. Otherwise I think all the locations on the resort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Karrot719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Royal Palms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and are happy you had a great visit. A great tip to cut down on costs is to stock your villa kitchen with drinks and snacks. If you have a car, there is a Walmart within 2 miles of the resort which many of our owners frequent. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon in sunny Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We enjoyed staying at Marriott Royal Palms, conveniently located on the grounds of Marriott World Center, in Orlando, FL. The villas were fresh and new, the staff was very accommodating and the entire experience was great. We went up to the expansive hotel pool when we wanted the excitement and variety of the surroundings, and stayed by Royal Palms own pool when we wanted closeness and more intimacy. The restaurants at the World Center were great, offering good variety. The villas each have a very complete kitchen so many meals we just ate by ourselves. The proximity to the park was great, but the only transportation to and from Disney World was taxi or expensive van ($35 each way, per person), so better rent a car and provide your own transportation -- this is the only negative (not really a negative if you plan ahead) for spending many days in Orlando to take in all the attractions!

Room Tip: We like the units away from the club house -- less activity. Great views go the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My family and I had just arrived from the Waldorf Astoria. We were planning to use our Marriott Vacation Club free 2 nights we were offered. Let me just say, before beginning, that I have stayed at many Marriotts all over the world, and I have also stayed many times at other Vacation Clubs. When we checked in, without much of an issue. Then, we went all the way up to our villa, on these very steep stairs that are definitely an issue. We all nearly tripped and fell on multiple occasions. Anyway, when we entered our villa, we saw it was small, and completely dirty. The floor was super slippery and covered in pink and silver glitter. As was the sofa, the master bedroom, and all over the patio. There also was a white dripping stain on our mirror. There also was paint all over our villa. The apartment had obviously not been cleaned. We called room service and a lovely lady came, who did her very best to resolve the issue, it was difficult to see at night, because the property has literally no lighting, and the villas are very, very dark. The problem was not yet resolved. In reporting this to the management, they did absolutely nothing. Nor, was our appetite (haha). We got a list of recommendations for restaurants. We decided on Capital Grille, which was fabulous. When we went back into the villa, we immediately went to bed, but to wake up 2:00 AM by the lawn mower. Then, we woke up again at 5:00 AM, 5:20 AM, and 5:40 AM, by him. It was ridiculous. The property itself didn't have a restaurant right on sight, so you had to make a drive to the Marriott World, and choose from a restaurant there. The staff there was lovely, unlike at our hotel. We also asked about turndown, and housekeeping services, to hear that owners get absolutely none of it. Even though, it is one of our home resorts, and we are very, very loyal to Marriott. Only guests get turndown/housekeeping services? Who pay a fraction of the price that owners pay?? I don't think so... I'll just end this review by reiterating my point that this was the worst Marriott experience of my life and I will never be returning to any of the Vacation Clubs in Orlando, ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MattInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Royal Palms, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for providing your TripAdvisor review, Matt. Our team is disappointed to hear your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional housekeeping service and apologize your villa was not prepared for your arrival. Our Customer Care team would like to learn more about your experience and may be reached at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.8 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#57 of 337 in Orlando
3,969 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 337 in Orlando
1,749 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.4 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Sabal Palms
Marriott's Sabal Palms
#149 of 337 in Orlando
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Royal Palms

Property: Marriott's Royal Palms
Address: 8404 Vacation Way, Orlando, FL 32821-6377
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#93 Family Hotel in Orlando
#133 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Royal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Royal Palms Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Royal Palms
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott's Royal Palms Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing