We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold Your soul for the Convention centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive
Ranked #211 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sold Your soul for the Convention centre”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we stayed at this hotel in February on our annual holiday to Orlando, we originally discovered this then oasis of tranquility a few years earlier when we got engaged on the grounds.

We arrived on international drive to expect to see the iconic Wyndam signa nd the lobby building only to find a construction site and then to discover after we had checked in at the new recption half way roud sand lake road.

we checked in went to our room which was refurbished but not to the best of standards the closet doors were a bright red/orange colour and the carpet was black and white and the lamp was blue and the chair well if thats what you call it was a gaudy red colour also, we put our bags in and went for a walk and walked up passed the pool towards the old lobby to where we thuought we would find the bridge where we got engaged instead what we found was a parking lot, where guess of the hotel wehere parking to avoid paying parking charges which we had been ripped off for.

i was really sad as the wyndham of old was spectacular and might i add its misleading to people on the web site as it still shows all of the old pictures.

i will not be coming back to this hotel i have added pictures to this review so you can see what the grounds used to look like now its a parking lot didnt think i need to put pictures of that on

Room Tip: avoid hotel at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmackinnon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamOrlandoIDrive, General Manager at Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jmackinnon1,

Thank you for taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the renovation and re-positioning of the resort. Indeed we have completely upgraded and changed the layout of the resort after careful consideration of how we can better cater to today's business and leisure traveler. While the old resort offered several guest buildings, the new resort is consolidated for convenience and it offers a wide variety of upgraded meeting space, state of the art technology, lush landscaping, various dining options and a new, contemporary lobby built to serve business and leisure travelers alike. Additionally, our guestrooms have received a well needed face lift and we added a new fitness center and family-friendly coffee, ice cream and candy store. We understand that the new property varies from the old but we hope we have captured and constructed a resort and retail complex that caters to the majority of our travelers. Thank you again and we hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.

Thank you,

Rich Larkin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    851
    785
    467
    301
See reviews for
959
582
88
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort at least 15-20 times over the years.
The pool area is just perfect for a relaxing staycation day. The only thing we noticed on this stay was that most of the nice new red table umbrellas were gone and there were not many other options for some shade. When I asked the front desk where they all went, I wast told they just got rid of them. Very strange. The rooms are newly renovated and very comfortable, and the resort is conveniently located near many new restaurants on I-drive.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamOrlandoIDrive, General Manager at Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear John P,

We greatly appreciate your loyalty, and are happy to hear that you were pleased with our recent renovations. As you noted, our pool is one of our signature features, and is the perfect place to enjoy a summer afternoon in Orlando. We apologize for the lack of shade our umbrellas were taking out of order and will be replaced very soon. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Rich Larkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel has the most horrible staff I have ever encountered in my life! Very nasty to me and my friends! While sitting in the lobby on a bench and having a nice conversation we were told by a staff member to move on because there was another convention going on and people were coming. We were guest there. They monopolized the food industry there as well while allowing food delivery from the outside , they used scare tactics to a food truck delivery to stop them from handing out menu's. Now I must point out pizza delivery was going on at the same time time as well as their menu's being slipped under our room doors. So I ask this , how did they have access to our room halls without a room key? Plus they made , Pecko Pecko , buy the cupcakes they needed for their cafe experience, in order for them to entertain their customers there in a convention room rented by them. Also, a staff member walked up to a breastfeeding Mother and told her that what she was doing was disgusting, to either go to the bathroom to breast feed or go to her room. This is against a Florida law! I would not recommend this hotel to any one and I hope next year that the anime convention is held somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room , they are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamOrlandoIDrive, General Manager at Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Harold F,

I am terribly sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel for the anime convention. We take feedback like yours very seriously, and are looking into all of the service issues you’ve outlined here. Needless to say, your experience is not typical of a Wyndham Orlando stay, and we deeply apologize that you were subjected to such unfortunate, uncharacteristic behavior. You deserve much better treatment than what you received, and we would love a chance to make it up to you. Please contact us at 407-341-2420 or wyndhamorlandoresort@wyndham.com to further discuss the matter.

Sincerely,

Rich Larkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I recently attended a conference at the Wyndham Orlando Resort I-Drive. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was very nice and had a small balcony with a view of a water feature and lush tropical landscaping. The meeting facilities and the banquet food were great. I look forward to returing with my family in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenglfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamOrlandoIDrive, General Manager at Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear greenglfl,

Thanks for staying with us, and for writing such a great review! We love hearing from first-time guests, and are elated to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your guest room and its view, and were satisfied with the convention room and banquet food. We hope you’ll be back again to explore the rest of our hotel grounds. We’re positive that your family will love spending time at our resort—especially at the pool! Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Rich Larkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was my first trip to Orlando and I was very impressed! The renovated rooms were wonderful and I had a great night sleep. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel with my family. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There was a very kind and helpful young man in the gift shop named Samuel who gave us an overview of local attractions for my children. The grounds were beautiful...two pools and a nice breakfast buffet. I will come back again next summer

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Felicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamOrlandoIDrive, General Manager at Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Felicia J,

We are so happy you enjoyed our friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and delicious breakfast buffet. We are proud to provide exceptional service and amenities, and we’re always pleased to hear from satisfied guests. Thanks for your review—we look forward to welcoming back your family next summer.

Sincerely,

Rich Larkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Avanti International Resort
0.3 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando International Drive Jamaican Court
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive

Property: Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive
Address: 8001 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an idyllic tropical paradise in the heart of America's most popular vacation destination at the newly multi-million dollar renovated Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive, located at the epicenter of Orlando's ever-popular I-Drive. This Orlando resort hotel boasts an enviable location in the core of Orlando's premier tourist destination, with exciting changes currently underway, and features lush gardens and romantic lagoons, a delightfully restored and welcoming courtyard area, and a myriad of services and amenities. With Universal Studios Orlando and SeaWorld Orlando within easy reach of this pet-friendly Orlando resort - along with free shuttle service to both of these enchanting destinations - and the Orange County Convention Center just one mile away. From the moment one enters the sleek, inviting new lobby, the changes are at once noticeable and yet elegantly understated. Two heated swimming pools and whirlpools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and a sauna proffer ample opportunities for both relaxation and recreation. With 613 newly revitalized guest rooms and suites, guests will find beauty and serenity. Upscale touches like a pillow-top mattress, plush 100% BeWell bedding, fluffy feather pillows, shower massage and high-tech extras like a 40-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station and on-demand movies ensure maximum comfort. Families with children will delight in the suites which feature bunk beds and play areas, and for a true Floridian experience, the premium rooms offer sliding glass doors with poolside views or direct pool access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Orlando Hotel Orlando
Wyndham Orlando Resort International Drive Florida
Orlando Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing