We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous Service, Perfect for our Honeymoon doing the Parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Ranked #136 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel has had a recent rennovation, so all the negative reviews before 2009 can be pretty much disregarded. The room we stayed in was at the end furthest from International Drive, towards the Sea World entrance, and it looked exactly like the pictures - very modern and fresh looking. Clean too, which you have to expect. The only downside was a very light stain on the carpet at the door, which I guess you'd expect as the pool was maybe 50 feet away, and there's no door mat to stand on when you (or anyone else) comes in dripping wet.

There was a 28" or so LCD TV in our double room with about 30 channels, including HBO, a nice sofa and coffee table which we didn't expect. The bed was really comfy, shower was nice and big (no bath), and there was an iron, hair dryer, and free safe, where you punch in your own combination to lock and unlock it. Very handy.

We stayed there as part of our Honeymoon, which started in NYC, then went to Miami, and ended up in Orlando. We're big kids, so it suited us really well. We opted to pick nice hotels in NYC and Miami, and stay in a Motel/Hotel in Orlando, but pay a little extra for some comforts. The IPRAS really exceeded expectations; and that's coming from staying in a 4.5 star hotel in Times Square NYC. Okay it's not the Hilton, and they don't lay mints onto your pillow in gold oyster shells, but it's a cut above the standard Days Inn, Ramada and Best Western types.

We didn't really use that much of the hotel's facilities, just opting to purchase the $9.95 internet for 2 days so we could email home, and we never visited the bar and grill. We used the hotel as a base for doing all the parks and lots of shopping, but it was nice to come 'home' to the nicely landscaped gardens, and have a quick dip in the pool.

Seaworld is about a 10min walk away, and ditto aquatica. Perfect for saving the $12 on parking! Everywhere else is either a trolley ride on the "i-ride" bus service, or a car drive away. We had a car, so we were slightly more flexible, but it was by no means a necessity.

The only downside was on checking out, when we received a bill for breakfast and were charged twice for internet on the same day. We were left standing for 30mins while the girl at the desk went away to check the breakfast list to see if we were lying or not. When she came back, there was no apology and no level of service at all.

Having said that, every other member of staff apart from that one girl was very polite and pleasant, and made us very welcome.

Would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Hands down one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,647 - 6,653 of 7,261 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

I, like most of the recent reviewers, can't believe how great this place was. The location is great, the "new" bamboo grill was great, the pool bar was great (Rum Runners were amazing), service was great, the landscaping was great, and the rooms were spacious and great.

Travel Tip - If you are going to take the I-Ride trolley anywhere besides one of the theme parks, SAVE your money and drive. Most places offer free parking and the others are cheaper the than riding in most cases.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBravo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The updated rooms have a nice appearance. They look just like the pictures. The shower was not tip top clean, but everything else was pretty good. This place is just fine if you are going to Sea World. We walked to sea world pushing a stroller and it was no problem at all. The grounds are nicely landscaped, but thekids pool needed cleaning. It was pretty well packed with kids the whole time we were there. Can't comment on adult pool, didn't use it.
I'll save some time here: This place is good for families, it's inexpensive and close to parks. Village Inn is across the street for breakfast. If you are irritable, sensitive to noise, or don't like kids, you may want to look elsewhere. I felt safe and comfortable here. There were security patrols and staff everywhere.
The front desk was not actively helpful, and the Hotel restaurant took an hour to get our food (tasted ok, but had that themepark-quality-to-price ratio) out. I'm not too upset about it, but if this is the kind of thing that will ruin your trip, consider dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likesitlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

In summary we had a great stay here and in my opinion this is a good hotel which I would use again and recommend to others. If you want to know some more please read on.

Check In: The process itself was quick and efficient. As we had booked a basic room they offered an upgrade for $10 a night to a room with a microwave and fridge. We declined this and they said that if we did want an upgrade at any point in our stay to just contact reception. The check in staff then sent us to their 'entertainment co-ordinator'. We chatted with him and he said he could get us cheap tickets for theme parks and then quoted us a price (which was significantly cheaper than any other prices we had seen). We said "yes" and he then said we would have to go and see him the next day at a time-share resort and have a tour for the morning. I told him we were not interested in a time-share (we did not want to waste part of our holiday listening to a sales pitch). I would therefore recommend giving this a miss unless you are interested in a time-share or you are willing to go and spend a morning/day listening to a salesman to try and get cheap tickets. This soured our first impressions of the hotel and we could have done without it after a long flight (incidentally they do have a proper ticket seller at another desk).

Hotel Room: We were given a room in Block 5 which faced outwards looking over the car park. Parking during our stay was free and there were always spaces. However, the view of the car park was not great especially as they had large storage containers in it. The room itself was large with two double beds, there was also a desk and two chairs. The room was clean and well presented and overall very nice. The room also had a flat screen tv with about ten channels and pay per view movies. Strangely there were no ceiling lights in the room, just lamps, however when the lamps were on the light provided was sufficient. As others have said the bathrooms are on the small side.

Swimming Pools: There are three swimming pools and none of them are as large as the brochure pictures suggest. The pools and surrounding areas were clean and during our stay there were no life guards.

Location: It's a ten minute walk to SeaWorld and once there there is a free bus to Aquatica. We had a car and the hotel was a 10-15 minute drive to Universal and 20-25 minutes to the Disney parks. The area surrounding the hotel does not have many restaurants or shops within walking distance. Across the road there was a Chinese restaurant next to the Spa, a Village Inn, an Italian restaurant, a Subway and a petrol station with a couple of shops. We walked a bit futher afield and near the Convention Centre there were a few more restaurants and a shop (20 minute walk). We also walked to Pointe Orlando (complex of shops, restaurants and a cinema) which took a good 40 minutes each way. We therefore used the car to travel every day and did note there were always people waiting at the bus-stop outside the hotel for the i-ride.

We did not use any of the other hotel facilities. We used the hotel as a base for visiting the theme parks and we were very pleased we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kidmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Stayed 5 days with my spouse and 7yr daughter, the hotel itself was pretty nice and the staff not perfect but was friendly. The location was great to get to SeaWorld and Aquatica(save money park the car and walk).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I wasn't going to write a review but when I checked the most recent reviews and read the negativity I felt I had to stand up for the Hotel. We stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks from 14th to 28th June. We were offered an upgrade for $140 (1/2 normal price) which meant we had a fridge and microwave and coffee making facilities in the room. We were happy to pay this. I loved the hotel. The staff were really lovely. No matter who you met - they always said hallo or have a nice day etc. The room was lovely and spacious. We bought our own cereals and plastic cutlery and plastic plates and had breakfast in our room. The bathroom was very small - but it didn't ruin our holiday!!! The restaurant was nice but a bit pricey but when you are in Florida you explore different restaurants or eat at theme parks so again it didn't take from our holiday. They had laundry facilities which I was so delighted with. It meant I didn't have to go looking for a launderette. I didn't mind paying the $2.25 for a wash and $2.50 for dryer. It was the convenience of it that was great plus a good way to use up all your quarters!!!! I would definitely consider coming back to the hotel again without hesitation.
Our room was facing the main pool in the hotel. Late at night (11:30pm etc) it was quite noisy as lots of parents had their children in swimming as it is just too hot during the day to have little ones out. So I would maybe choose a building that was a little off the pool but still nearby as it's more central. If anyone has any questions I am happy to answer them. I loved the hotel and don't understand the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaHIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 17th June until 1st of July... From the moment we walked into the reception I just knew we had chosen the right place!!! The staff were very friendly checking us in and we were located in the tower room..

The room was lovely and the beds very comfortable..

The main pool area was really nice with towels provided and a very nice pool bar with friendly staff and reasonably priced drinks..

I used one of other areas on the east side and this was great too..

The wireless internet was charged at 9.99 per 24hrs which we did know before we travelled, internet usage in general is both more expensive and less widely available in Orlando than here in Dublin so this did not seem too bad..

There is also a business area where you can spend $5 and use the internet & printing services..

There are regular shuttles to parks and the hotel is in a perfect location for Lynx buses to the parks as the bus to disney ONLY stops outside and at Seaworld and no where elso on international drive before heading towards Disney..

The restaurant was the only thing we had a problem with as we went in one evening and explained that we were not very hungry but would like some chips and pasta.. The waitress came over about 6times to say sorry about the delay for our food but also asked each time if she could order anything extra for us!! When we paid the bill it took about 10mins to get change!! However I do think we were just unlucky as many other guests loved the restaurant.. We did complain to the manager and were given 2 free breakfast buffets!! This was great!! The buffet is charged at $16 each which is very expensive but for those who have it included it was very nice indeed! There is a huge selection to choose from and you can order the likes of Ommlettes as well!!

Overall we loved the hotel the grounds are very very beautiful and the staff were great..

We will be coming back and staying here

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancinggirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,311 reviews
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 341 in Orlando
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld

Address: 10100 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-8019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Business Hotel in Orlando
#95 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £75 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld. Conveniently located adjacent to SeaWorld and its water park Aquatica and just minutes away from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World and the Orange County Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando At Seaworld Hotel Orlando
International Plaza Orlando
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando At SeaWorld Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing