We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villas of Grand Cypress
Ranked #1 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a perfect resort for people that want golf to be the focus of their trip. If you book early and get your tee times set well in advance, you will have a great time. We booked abour 2 months in advance and could not get a tee time on a Saturday, on any of the 3 courses due to an outing. But, with 2 of the 3 days set, we figured that we could still get out if someone cancelled. Turned out to be a moot point due to weather, but this course is a draw so I recommend booking early. The courses are really taken care of, the staff is great, the clubhouse has everything you would want. Everyone goes out of their way to try and make you happy with the resort and allow you to relax and enjoy a private club experience. My wife and I love golf, but with 3 little kids have not played much at all over the past few years, and we are not members of a club at home. Naturally,we were a bit nervous about being paired up with avid golfers all weekend, some of which may not appreciate our level of play. Ideally we would have travelled with another couple to be even more relaxed, but I can honestly say that people we played with (resort guests and local members) could not have been nicer and made us feel comfortable as we knocked off some of the rust. The North course was perfect for us. The double fairways and lack of any real penal rough was ideal as we played our first round together in over 2 yrs. We managed to stay on pace despite initially spraying it left and right, and got to experience an amazing layout. It helped that I somehow played the round of my life to move things along. The East and North are a bit tighter, but still offered a nice balance of forgiveness and challenging holes. There were ample practice greens and ranges everywhere. Great facility. We still managed to finish in 4hrs or so, so the pace of play was fine.

The villas were recently renovated and they are spectacular. We stayed on a villa right near the clubhouse and pool with the putting green right outside our back patio. The bathroom has an excellent shower with multiple jets and a large tub that was perfect to relax in after playing golf. The room definitely felt high-end and very tech-friendly with multiple outlets, wifi, and even a flat screen embedded in the bathroom mirror. The bathroom is very impressive.

Our stay was 3 days/3 nights. The weather threw us a big curveball. Other than the front 9 right after we arrived, and the few hrs we spent before check out, it rained. The pool area at the Villas looked small, but private. There is a bar area that is hard to judge since we never saw it in action, but I could picture it being a nice place to unwind without a ton of kids around. We did manage to enjoy some hot tub time at night during breaks in the rain. Apparently the shared amenities available across the street at the Hyatt include a much larger pool area, but is more of a "family" environment. If we had better weather, I'm sure we would have gone over there to check that out along with the other restaurants. We were excited to relax poolside and enjoy some drinks after golf but we never had the chance due to weather. In retrospect, we probably should have taken the free shuttles to the Hyatt side to try their restaurants, but since we were only in town a few nights we mostly ate at the Clubhouse. Menu was pretty basic but good, and the drinks were made very well. We didn't try the 918 restaurant, just weren't in the mood to go for a full multi course dinner but it looked very nice. With the bad weather, we were surprised at how few people were hanging out in the clubhouse bar after dinner. We went down for some drinks and to watch a game and we were the only ones in there from 8-10pm. In general, being in our early 30's, we felt that most of the villa guests were 10-20 yrs older. We saw plenty of younger men playing golf at an outing, but I don't think they were staying in the Villas. Obviously if it hadn't rained we would have had a better time playing more golf and enjoying the pool. Our last full day it rained from sunrise till about 3pm, so we went to Epcot and did a little partying, which was a nice change of pace from the quiet Villas. If we go next time, I think we'd consider trying the Hyatt since it may be more our speed, but would still give us access to the golf at Grand Cypress. But, if we could convince another couple to come along on the trip and got better luck on the weather, I think I'd prefer the Villas since there were very few little kids and it is more convenient if you want golf to be the focal point of your trip. I am giving the resport high marks because I can picture what it would have been like with better weather.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise close to the clubhouse. It was fine, and very convenient to walk there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ssrey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Way to “knock off some of the rust” like a champion! You might even consider a couple’s golf lesson with the Grand Cypress Academy of Golf next time you’re with us to really amp up your level of play together. You and whatever friends or kids you want to bring with you next trip are welcome any time at the Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    135
    34
    21
    13
See reviews for
573
363
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was my 3rd visit and as was the case on our prior visits, every aspect was EXCELLENT! The facilty, golf courses, restaurant & all service was exemplary. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at the Villas of Grand Cypress and play some wonderful golf courses. For certain, I'll be back in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
How awesome that you did not “miss the opportunity” to pass a third visit with us at the Villas! See you in the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great experience all round. Villas have been redone with class, much better than being cooped up in a hotel room. Staff is superb, very friendly and professional. Great golf getaway, but Disney is close by as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
There’s something for everyone when you’ve got golf, relaxation, and theme park proximity all in one! We’ll keep your “home away from home” primed and ready for your next trip to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morin Heights, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was invited as a group of 6 from Canada for a 3 day Golf Academy and Golf vacation. 'Outstanding' is the best description. The welcome, the service, the accomodations and the golf were all fantastic. The characters at the Academy made golf a pleasure, very informative and entertaining. The golf wonderful, the 'New Course" is of course the favourite, but we played the East nine just before leaving, it is a gem...Many many thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miket332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
The “characters” at the Grand Cypress Academy of Golf are always a good time (with lots of learning, for sure). After having enjoyed the New and East courses so much, make sure and visit the gems of the North and South courses when we see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In early April, I was part of a group of Canadians making our annual golf trip to Florida staying at Grand Cypress for five days. If i could sum up in one word to describe our trip it would be "Outstanding". Led by the New Course (our favourite), all the golf courses were in excellent shape. The golf concierge team made sure all of our golf requests were taken care of. The staff in the pro shop, bag room and starters were all very friendly and helpful. In fact, all the staff at the resort always had a smile on their faces. The accommodations at the Villas were top notch. The cleaning staff did a great job making up our rooms each day. The food and service in the restaurants in the main building was excellent (the free breakfast each morning was a nice way to start the day). Check in and check out was very efficient. Apres golf, the pool complex was a great place to hang out and relax. Special thanks to Sonia and John for the attentive service at the pool bar Saturday evening. We fully expect to return to Grand Cypress in the spring of 2015!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Well that sounds like an OUSTANDING annual golf trip! I’m glad you had a fun Saturday night at the Pool Bar with Sonia and John. Spring of 2015 can’t come soon enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great property with excellent rooms , food , and service by all staff. Golf course was fun and fair. Rooms are way above average and very comfortable. Food is good and prices are good as well. Will return for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Great rooms, food, and service paired with a fun and fair time on the golf course is what the Villas are all about! I’m excited for those future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I went here with my girlfriend for the 2nd time (our last trip was 5 years ago) and we went to Orlando for a 4 night trip (just to get away from work). We went this past week, which was April 17th to April 21st.

To start off, our plane was delayed about an hour, so by the time we finally arrived to check in, it was past midnight. At least no traffic from the airport to the hotel. Once we arrived, check in was relatively pain-less. A bellman then took our bags and drove us to our room, which was located in Court 4. FYI, there are 5 courts at the villas. Once we got to our room, the bellman explained a few things to us, since there were renovations made since the last time we visited. One of which, a great idea, was to have color coded buttons by the front door. Red means privacy and green means you want service ie towels, the bed made, etc.

We are not golfers but you have access to use the golf course at the villas or the one by the Hyatt (you are given access to all the amenities at both the Villas and the Hyatt). The greens looks nicely taken care off. I believe there are some more activities at the Hyatt, like a rock-climbing wall and some pinball, but if you want peace and relaxing times, the Villas are perfect.

At the Villas, you have access to use the golf-carts, although for the 2nd time, we did not get a chance to do so. My girlfriend really wants to just drive around in the golf-cart so maybe a 3rd trip will be in our future. Everyone on the staff is friendly, greets you, and no one bothers you. If you need to go to the clubhouse (maybe to see the concierge or eat at the restaurant) or visit the Hyatt or visit the avenue (where there are several restaurants to visit), they have shuttle service which picks you up and drops you off where you need to go. If visiting the avenue, they drop you off by the front gate of the Hyatt, where you can walk the rest. They have Chili's, Chevy's, Pizza Hut, Qdoba, Burger King, McDonald's, IHOP, Denny's, Sizzler, Red Lobster, Romano's Macaroni Grill, Olive Garden, and some other restaurants, so you can really pick what you want to eat.

In terms of the room, in addition to the red/green buttons by the door, it seems like the bathroom was redone. It not has a small TV in the middle of the mirror. This was pretty cool. We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa. Our bathroom had a white bathtub, in addition to his/hers sinks and a shower, which 3 types of showerheads. The normal one at the top, a thin handheld sprayer and a 3rd one, which shoots water at about your chest and thigh levels. The room has a pretty comfy king-sized bed, with endtables on both sides and a lot of jacks to plug in your electronics, ie iphones or chargers. Opposite the bed is a cabinet for clothes (we didnt use) and some dresser drawers (we also didnt use). Then a fridge underneath and a nice-sized television over this. You can then take 2 steps down and there is a sofa and 2 chairs with a glass table. This leads to the patio, which you can unlock the doors and sit outside. Our view wasn't that great and the weather wasn't that great, so we never sat outside. Plus there are a lot of mosquitos and lizards, especially being surrounded by all the greenery.

In terms of service, they were also great. If we needed anything, we would just leave a note and when we got back to the room, we got what we had asked for. Most hotels we have stayed at before, if we needed turndown service, we usually had to ask more than once. With the Villas, we hit the service button, went out, and when we got back, everything was done. We also called the concierge a lot and although I do not recall their names, everyone we dealt with was very nice and accommodating. If we needed shuttle service, they set it up. If we had questions, they answered them. The shuttles to and fro were a nice touch. Every driver we met was personable and it made for a nice little ride, before we got to our destination.

There are 2 pools, one by the Villas and one by the Hyatt. We never went to the Hyatt one. The Villas pool is not the biggest, but is also not the smallest. We did not have great weather during this trip so we did not get any suntans. The pool has a volleyball net and a mini-basketball hoop. We enjoyed shooting mini-basketballs and the water was never really too cold. There are also 2 hottubs outside the pool. One right by the middle of the pool and another towards the side. This one have a small cave behind it and also had jets. We quite enjoyed this as it was very relaxing after a long day of walking. Note, this cave seems to be a lizard hangout. We once counted at least 6 lizards peaking out at us. Supposedly they are not harmful to humans, but if you are squirmish, then go to the other hottub. My girlfriend twice saw, probably the Mama Lizard and she said this was a bigger lizard, but I only saw the small onces, which are about 2to3 inches long.

One thing that was a little odd, I am pretty sure we left the privacy light on on Saturday as we went to the pool, and we came back and there were new towels, old ones were taken away and we had jelly beans on the bed. My girlfriend says she is not sure if she hit the service button by accident, but I thought we left privacy on. Nothing was ever missing from our things, any day, but it just seems odd that they would go into the room, even if it said privacy. But I am not 100% sure.

So if you are a golfing fan or just want a little R&R, the Villas are a great place to visit. The room is clean and comfy. Everyone is friendly, the service is great, and the shuttles come in handy. Maybe a 3rd visit is in our future, but we are definitely driving the golf carts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngryBirdRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYost_DOR, Manager at Villas of Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I’m elated that our concierge and other team members were so helpful to you during your weekend away from work. You are correct! Our housekeeping team will not enter a room whose privacy light is on. Our new in-room technology makes it easier than ever for guests to have the level of privacy they want at all times. I hope that third visit comes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,270 reviews
Floridays Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
7,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Grand Cypress

Property: Villas of Grand Cypress
Address: One North Jacaranda, Orlando, FL 32836-6699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#1 Family Hotel in Orlando
#5 Business Hotel in Orlando
#31 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villas of Grand Cypress 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its appealing atmosphere of seclusion and easy proximity to entertainment attractions across central Florida, the Villas of Grand Cypress is the go-to destination for business and leisure travelers in Orlando. Located adjacent to Walt Disney World yet seemingly a world away, the 1,500-acre resort features 146 luxury villas, world-class amenities, ample meeting space, and engaging activities including 45 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature-designed golf, the renowned Grand Cypress Academy of Golf, and complimentary bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villas of Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Of Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hotel Of Grand Cypress
Of Grand Cypress Orlando
Villas Grand Cypress
Villas Of Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing